1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[NFP] [1.0.4.8] Shuffle Mode: Overlapping Civics in Civics Tree (Visual Bug)

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Bug Reports' started by oedali, Aug 28, 2020.

  1. oedali

    oedali King

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I am playing with shuffle mode and even though I am researching Drama & Poetry (which correctly shows in first image), in the civics tree it is hidden BEHIND military training. I figured it out because if I actually research military training it leads to the middle unrevealed civic, and if I research drama it leads to the 3rd unrevealed civic (which is when I took the screenshot) There should have been 4 rows in the first column of the tree with drama & poetry and military training having their own boxes but they ended up spawning in the same middle row.

    This visual bug could have more negative consequences in this scenario: if I got the inspiration for a civic, what if it got hidden behind another civic due to this bug? Then I wouldn't be able to even see what I just unrevealed through a boost. Hope this can be fixed soon. A couple other players have also posted about this already.


    upload_2020-8-28_20-36-9.png

    upload_2020-8-28_20-36-50.png
     
  2. oedali

    oedali King

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    OK so things got even weirder. Now after playing a few more turns, now there are not only two but **3*** overlapping civics. In screenshot it shows as Drama & Poetry. Military Training is hidden behind it, AND on top of that I am currently researching Recorded History which is also behind this. I found this by manually searching the tree for these techs and they all point to the same box.

    Moreover, in previous screenshot, the unrevealed middle row civic was supposed to be in Classical era but now it got bumped to Medieval era (edit: or now thinking more about it, it might be that the second column Civic is the third overlapping one)

    Will attach a save game once I remember how to do that


    upload_2020-8-28_20-51-49.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2020
    Pfeffersack likes this.
  3. oedali

    oedali King

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Save game
     

    Attached Files:

    MrRadar and Pfeffersack like this.
  4. MrRadar

    MrRadar Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,528
    I've also got the overlapping display glitch, no mods, all expansions and dlc:

    Spoiler :

    The prerequisite civic is hidden under the unrevealed one:

    It is Exploration:


    However, when I later loaded further save for another gaming session, that part of tree was displayed correctly:



    I'm also attaching the t144 save from which are the first two screenshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Civ6 addict

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you very much for reporting this bug which I also noticed in my first game with the random tech/civic trees. I hope the developers read this and offer us a hotfix.
     
  6. footballciv

    footballciv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Noticed the same thing in my game. I’ll save the screenshot, as they are very similar to what’s posted above.
     
  7. crewealex

    crewealex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Just come across this problem. Also with Military Training/Drama and Poetry.
    Definately no mods as I'm playing on console
     
  8. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Civ6 addict

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    Does anyone already know if this has been fixed in today's patch?
     
  9. JerseyTed

    JerseyTed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ran into this today so it definitely has not been fixed.
     

Share This Page