1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

1205 AD on GEM

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Giant Earth Map Mod' started by Traiano, May 28, 2008.

  1. Halt

    Halt Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Great looking forward to the new version!
     
  2. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)
    Final Version uploaded, at last!
    No more civ in the dark during the first few turns after game start!
    So much better now!

    (Quick list of changes on the first entry post of this thread).
     
  3. Halt

    Halt Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Cant wait to play
     
  4. ACM

    ACM Civfanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    On the dark side of the moon
    This scenario is really cool and I loved it.

    However, the performance on this Huge map is terrible. My game with the french takes around 80 seconds to process each turn, and if I get the world map from someone, it will crash.

    Is this behaviour normal? Maybe I need a 64-bit OS and more RAM?

    I'm running a Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4 gigs of RAM, Geforce GTX 560 and Windows 7 32 bits.
     
  5. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)
    Yeah, 64 bit and more RAM might help but remember CIV 4 wont be able to use more than 4 GB total even if you have 8GB (with 4GB and 32 bit it will use 3.2 gigs). So the key component is a fast processor. That said, four things you can do to improve things a bit:

    - Start Task Manager once you have loaded civ 4 - right click on the main civ 4 process and upgrade the priority speed from LOW to HIGH.
    The boost is significant.

    - Plug in some external 1 Gb hard drive into your usb port(s). It will prompt a pop up asking how to use the hard drive (folders etc) - there is an option to use them to speed up the memory.
    Minor boost.

    - Lowering your graphic and renders to LOW.
    Solid boost.

    - Run a Defrag of your system.
    Minor boost.

    This is the best you can do, as this scenario is really heavy. But glad to hear you are enjoying it :)
     
  6. ACM

    ACM Civfanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    On the dark side of the moon
    Yeah, the dark/middle ages are my favorite, and I appreciate all the effort you put into this scenario. :goodjob:

    Thanks, I will try those tips.
     
  7. lowreyj

    lowreyj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    i never got it to work simply downloading, unzipping, and copying into the mods folder, either with or without gem mod - always got "failed to load map" error
    however, it can be made to work, if one has a few minutes, attention to detail, and some patience - if anybody wants to know how, holler, and i'll post instructions
     
  8. MatuX

    MatuX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Hey, thanks a lot for those tips. Great scenario, too!

    Does lowering the graphic settings really help boost turn speed?
     
  9. Master_calhau

    Master_calhau Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Portugal
    Cant download the scenario :(
     

Share This Page