• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

2 Minute Silence Across Europe Today 12:00 BST

JoeM

Imperator
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
2,612
Location
Centre of the maritime world
That is:

11:00 GMT

12:00 CET

13:00 EET

In memory of those who died, were injured or bereaved last Thursday.


This is more a notice than a discussion thread, but didn't know what else to do...
 
Very good of you to inform everyone Joe. There are also a number of vigils taking place, starting at 6pm.
 
Do minutes of silence actually do anything?
 
What does BST stand for?
 
Biatch slappin' time? Sorry Im channel surfing and momentarily had a rap video on.
 
Bartleby said:
They stop noise, to an extent, for a short period of time.
What would happen if live on TV, somebody passed wind loudly during one of these much hyped moments of silence?
 
EET probably is Eastern European Time.
 
Eran of Arcadia said:
And more importantly for us American-centric yahoos, what is that EST?

Doing GMT - (5CDT,4EDT,6MDT,7PDT) really isn’t that hard to do.

BST is British Summer time.
 
We observed it in Canada too, though the times ranged from 3:00 - 8:00, so most of us were sleeping.
 
h4ppy said:
Do minutes of silence actually do anything?

It allows us to remember the victims, be thankful for our own lives and think towards the future. Stuff like that. It's a mark of respect, really.

I was asleep at the time, didn't know there was a silence until after. I suppose technically I was silent.

What would happen if live on TV, somebody passed wind loudly during one of these much hyped moments of silence?

Everyone would laugh, ignore it, or cast evil glares towards the offender :p
 
alphanav1 said:
BST is British Summer time.
It might have made sense to mention the CEST instead of CET then.

Well, at least I was silent since I slept until 13:15 CEST. :mischief:
 
Top Bottom