1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] 30-Day Patch for GS?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by greenblade, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    One of the 2kqa branches was updated yesterday. So all bets are off. It still could come out this week, but there's nothing special pointing to this week now.

    Edit: except that yesterday's update was in the evening Firaxis time, which is not typical. But it's not terribly unusual either, so who knows if it means anything.:dunno:
     
  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,381
    Location:
    France
    There was also an update yesterday to the proving_grounds branch of the SDK. That's the 4th since the GS patch, for reference there are not many in the history for that branch.

    Yes, I was still following that branch from time to time, wondering when the few 2018 updates were about to go public :o

    The corresponding branch of Assets was updated the 1st march BTW.
     
  3. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    DLL?
     
    Zenphys likes this.
  4. Zenphys

    Zenphys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    One can dream. However i feel that such a large modding release would be announced a bit ahead of time. Seeing as i'm sure Firaxis know how much we are desperate for it
     
  5. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13,821
    They've done "Proving Ground" qa updates in previous patches. So I doubt it is for the DLL. Probably more mundane modding tools.
     
    RohirrimElf likes this.
  6. Kruos

    Kruos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    I remember during a Firaxis stream pre-GS launch a dev spoke about 'big' change on modding were in preparation. The term "soon™" was used.
     
  7. Krajzen

    Krajzen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    Poland
    "Hey guys so we release .dll, as we ended development of civ6 and won't release any patch or add content to it ever again. Have a nice day, bye!"
     
  8. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,938
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    I think they were planning a big world builder update.
     
  9. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,381
    Location:
    France
    That would be a first for the serie as they have released two expansions and multiple patches after the civ4 DLL source and one expansion and multiple patches after the civ5 DLL source...
     
    Deliverator, glider1, Aristos and 2 others like this.
  10. Fampat

    Fampat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Since i havent modded on any other civ, what would change with the release of the "dll"?
    Will we get more possibilities? What iam miss the most right now is the ability to alter data at runtime (via lua), i have a lot of getters but only a handfull setters which are very limiting, would that change?

    What are the _main_ features/changes of having the dll available?
     
  11. Abaxial

    Abaxial Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    I hope!!
     
  12. Vandlys

    Vandlys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    New Atlantis
    Wasn't the same term used, to indicate a proper worldbuilder, just after launch of the vanilla game? So, soon in Firaxis lingo has taken more than two years already...

    I really want that world builder dammit. The backdoor method just isn't sufficient.
     
  13. Weraptor

    Weraptor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    AFAIK, modders will get access to hard-coded data.
     
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,381
    Location:
    France
    First let me say again that we can already do a lot in Lua, sometime using some "creative hacking" with the help of fake buildings and modifiers...

    But if we gain access to the gameplay DLL source code, then we could do anything in relation to gameplay, so yes, you could add any "setters" you want for your values.

    No more "creative hacking" needed.

    Full access to the AI coding, no more guess work on variables and decision trees....

    And real debuging !

    The only parts that would stay out of reach would be the main exe and the other DLLs content running the graphic, sound, network, etc...

    But it opens the door for total overhaul of combat, diplomacy, units stacking, AI, etc..
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  15. Fampat

    Fampat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks for the explanaition Gedemon!
    Makes sense to me now... we all want that :)
     
  16. Haig

    Haig Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,225
    Location:
    Finland
    What is a Worldbuilder ?
     
  17. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    And access to the spaghetti!!! :rolleyes:
     
    glider1 and Weraptor like this.
  18. Leathaface

    Leathaface Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,699
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    What are the chances Firaxis will give us access to the DLL? I've heard people say since Civ VI has been released for the Switch and iOS that Firaxis will want to keep all versions of Civ VI the same so they might be hesitant to release it for PC.
     
  19. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    259
    Why should they. Other pc games gets more stuff from modding so switch players know that pc is better anyway
     
    glider1 likes this.
  20. ghost88

    ghost88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Map editor/scenario creator. Allows you to place Terrain,cities/settlers, roads, units, ect. Does not allow rule/gameplay chances that's what the DLL would allow.
    I want the World Builder mainly to "fix" the map script( I despise inland lakes, too much Tundra/Snow/Deserts) and to put my opponents were I do not meet them till 1000ad, and certain City States (I'm looking at you Auckland) close to me.
     
    Haig likes this.

Share This Page