1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

(3UC) 3rd Unique Component Project

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by mikeburnfire, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    Wouldn't it be Mod Components?
     
  2. jlim201

    jlim201 King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Somewhere North of the South Pole
    Maybe it should be per Great Work? Would go up over time as well.
     
  3. seamus2010

    seamus2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    The mod works, but in the Civ selection menu, I still get 2 UC icons, instead of 3, like this.

    Spoiler :


    As you can see the mod has loaded, from the Carthage text, but no 3rd UC icon.
     
  4. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,124
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    The file that controls the Selection Screen and the Dawn of Man screen are hardcoded to only show the 1st two icons from Units > Buildings > Improvements and in that order.

    There was a mod in whoward69's Pick'n'Mix webpage I think that modified the core game file in question to allow a 3rd unique icon (maybe even a fourth?) to show in the DOM screen but I don't remember if the extras would show in the civ selection screen. It has been literally a couple of years since I used the mod I am thinking of, and I am not even sure it was a mod offered on whoward's site.
     
  5. Makenshi

    Makenshi Ahoy, ye salty dogs!

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Brasil
    @mikeburnfire

    The japanese Sohei does not have the Bonus vs mounted [50] that all spear and pikeman do, is this intentional? Because this way, the Sohei is pretty much useless and will be wtfpwned by all other units. The description even says it is an anti-cavalry unit, but that bonus is what makes it so. Without it, the Sohei has no role in the game. Unique units should be equal or better than its base, not worse.

    BTW, congratulations on the Dojo [japanese unique barracks]! It is THE awesomesauce, built them asap in most of my cities.
     
  6. seamus2010

    seamus2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    On the download page for 3UC there's this screnshot



    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=23676
     
  7. Timmy563

    Timmy563 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Use it together with the EUI and you'll get the additional UCs at the Selection Screen.

    That being said, could the responsible files from the EUI be added to the 3UC mod?
     
  8. Versaguy

    Versaguy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    The 3rd and 4th units should be more fun. However it seems the mod producer add too many buildings instead of units, and most units are not interesting and useful. For example the Aztec Eagle Eyes: you almost never use this unit unless your warrior got upgraded from a Ruin. The unit is too early to be useful and obsolete after upgrade. The buildings are not interesting either, it's like you add a few food, faith or culture. What can be improve is the building characteristic should take into account into the civ strategy and the map feature such as building next to jungle, mountain or river etc.

    Many other units are upgrades for lancer or chariot archers which are not used quite often. If you are a warmonger you probably focus on building range units anyway.

    Anyway my point is the purpose of adding more units or buildings to civilizations is to create more distinction between them.
     
  9. i like turtles

    i like turtles Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    is this mod compatible with the community balance patch?seeing as how some of the uniques are from the cbp
     
  10. SnowyNix

    SnowyNix At Least I Can Talk

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    My Aircraft
  11. GKShaman

    GKShaman Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Hey mike!

    Awesome mod! Just used it yesterday. I like the idea a lot. Personally speaking I tried India. I do like the sepoy musketman! Very historic and accurate! I also like keeping the War Elephant! Personally I'd like if the ranged strength was 12 versus 11, but maybe that's not balanced.

    Only issue is with game mechanics vs. historical accuracy. With its UA India has a tough time with religion early. Historically India founded 3 religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism. So a shrine replacement makes sense to make it possible to found one.

    Basically India should get its current UA with a food/growth bonus, and a faith bonus. That'd make sense. Even though your current "Mandir" is accurate (its a Hindu Temple) it doesnt help India found a religion.

    Either attach a growth bonus to the Mandir like +1/2 food and/or 5-10 % growth in city.

    OR

    Make Mandir a Shrine replace and have it give 2 faith or +1 faith for every 4 citizens or gives an "instant faith bonus" of like 25 or 30.

    Let me know what you think.
     
  12. Zakuzelo

    Zakuzelo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    A lot of the fourth uniques are really lackluster or uninspired. Japan, France, England, Portugal, Aztecs, Sweden, etc. Needs work.

    Additionally, I'm baffled that the nerf to Carthage's UA is still there. Free lighthouses are completely incomparable to free harbors. It's not even close, and Carthage is weak enough already.
    Free Cothon's in every city wouldn't be overpowered considering how weak the civilization is overall, and if you really think it would be, return the UA to normal and stick the Cothon's bonuses on a unique lighthouse instead. Bam, problem solved.
     
  13. g0datwork2

    g0datwork2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    has anyone used this with the nq mod. Someone of them dont work but some do. Im confused as to why
     
  14. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    Isn't that a MP mod? (I mean the NQ mod)
     
  15. Zahn

    Zahn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Whenever I try to download the mod, I get a wordpad document and not a file, can anyone help me with this problem?
     
  16. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Hey! I updated the 4UC today based on user feedback.

    - Buffed Mayan Obsidian Warrior - doubled Science yield from kills (should be 50% of combat strength)

    - Buffed Japanese Warrior Monks - now has proper combat bonus against mounted units

    - Changed Austrian Orchestra - Removed extra Great Work slot (users reported that it caused problems. Added Tourism bonus instead.

    - Changed American Saloon - Removed from Ancient Era and placed into Renaissance Era to be more historically accurate. Replaces Windmill instead of Circus. Therefore, yields production instead of happiness. Maintains resource bonus. Increased border growth boost to compensate for appearing later.
     
  17. CyberGoblin

    CyberGoblin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Really nooby question sorry (never actually tried to download a mod for Civ5 from something other than steam), do I just drop the file into the mod folder as is?
     
  18. dilophosaur

    dilophosaur Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    It may work, but sometimes it doesn't. If not - just unzip the .mod file with 7zip/WinZip/WinRAR and place the folder into the mods folder of the game.
     
  19. Sathoson

    Sathoson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    I made a mod folder and put the mods in there, when I load the game nothing shows to indicate they are activated.
     
  20. M1cha84

    M1cha84 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Minor bug found: You can build the Carthagian Cothon in Cities without coast tiles.
     

Share This Page