1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

(3UC) 3rd Unique Component Project

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by mikeburnfire, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Found the problem. I will fix this with the next update, and probably give back Carthage's old Ability, as requested. Free Cothons!
     
  2. M1cha84

    M1cha84 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I also get a "Texture Load Error" when setting up a new game. "Unable to load texture [UnitPortraits64_DLC_WonderPack.dds].
    The Assyrien Charioteer is a red square in the civ selection.
     
  3. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    That is due to you not having the Seven Wonders DLC. I've gotten this complaint a lot from people, so I may end up replacing the Assyrian Chrarioteer, either the model or replacing the component outright.

    A bigger problem is the Zulu Kraal UI. I've received a number of reports that say the Kraal doesn't render properly, instead having a red/white checkerboard pattern. I don't see that problem on my end. Does anybody else have that problem or not?
     
  4. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,140
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Assuming I have the most up-to-date version of the mod:
    Code:
      <Properties>
        <Name>(3UC) - 3rd Unique Component</Name>
        <Stability>Alpha</Stability>
        <Teaser>Gives every civ a 3rd UC</Teaser>
        <Description>Gives every civ a 3rd UC</Description>
        <Authors>Mike-Awesome</Authors>
        <HideSetupGame>0</HideSetupGame>
        <AffectsSavedGames>1</AffectsSavedGames>
        <MinCompatibleSaveVersion>0</MinCompatibleSaveVersion>
        <SupportsSinglePlayer>1</SupportsSinglePlayer>
        <SupportsMultiplayer>1</SupportsMultiplayer>
        <SupportsHotSeat>1</SupportsHotSeat>
        <SupportsMac>1</SupportsMac>
        <ReloadAudioSystem>0</ReloadAudioSystem>
        [COLOR="Red"]<ReloadLandmarkSystem>0</ReloadLandmarkSystem>[/COLOR]
        <ReloadStrategicViewSystem>1</ReloadStrategicViewSystem>
        <ReloadUnitSystem>1</ReloadUnitSystem>
     
    • I *think* this will cause Improvements to not render properly.
    • I've noticed if you are running some other mod that has one of these boxes checked, that other mod can cure your mistake with not checking the box in your mod.
      • I ran into this with my Scipio Mod and the "ReloadUnitSystem".
      • I was using the no-no test method of running the Scipio Mod at the same time as I was also running my Knights Templar mod.
      • The Knights Templar mod had the "ReloadUnitSystem" checked but the Scipio mod did not.
      • Everything was fine until I published the Scipio Mod and it had to stand and operate correctly on its own -- cue the comments about the Great Generals not being rendered as Great Generals, but as Spearmen.
     
  5. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Something like that would definitely cause problems, but I do have the box checked in ModBuddy. If the ReloadLandmarkSystem is still set to "0" in the mod files, then I can only guess it didn't export properly.

    This is very likely to be the issue, so thanks for figuring it out, Lee.
     
  6. zwei833

    zwei833 HRE Mercenary

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Guangzhou
    Hello, Mikeburnfire!
    could you please give me a credit too? As I made the Gallowglass unit model. :p:p
     
  7. Qwynn

    Qwynn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    How compatible would this be with something like the CBP?

    I'd love to have more neat, new stuff, but I'm worried some of the changes between the both of them won't play nicely.
     
  8. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    zwei, I've properly credited you now. Sorry I missed you earlier, and thanks for making that model.

    Qwynn, not very. Somebody offered to make a compatible version, and I told them to go for it. I don't know if they've made any progress. Check the CBP forum.

    -------------------------------

    Hefty update tonight. Lots of little tweaks to both files.

    - Biggest change is the removal of the Assyrian Charioteer, which caused error messages for players who were missing additional DLC. Replaced with a unique Shrine: Lamassu, which also gives 2.5 city defense and 5xp for newly trained units. If I get enough requests, I'll make the Charioteer available as a separate mod.

    - Zulu Kraal should render properly now (I hope. Let me know if this is incorrect)

    - Buffed a few buildings, like the Spanish Bullring (now spawns an additional Cow resource), Songhai Treasury (now yields a Gold Luxury), Moroccan Zellije Mosque (now yields flat faith/culture), and Egyptian Flax (immediately yields gold, culture, and faith from a single tile).
     
  9. Skaz881

    Skaz881 History Major

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,349
    Location:
    Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA.
    I've had success using 3rd UC and CBP together by swapping the parts that clashed with CBP with 4th UC parts.
     
  10. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Updated again! I was informed that the Kraal UI was still glitching so I just replaced it with a UB for now. I was also informed of an issue that caused Bullrings to hugely nerf Spain, so I fixed that too. A few more minor tweaks as well.
     
  11. monju125

    monju125 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Do you have anywhere I can download the previous version, Mike? I updated without thinking and now my last game won't load.
     
  12. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Regrettably, no. All my files are updated and overwritten.
     
  13. Ubermensch

    Ubermensch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California (U.S.A)
    Hey Mikeburnfire, first off amazing job with this mod! This is by far (personally) one the most impressive I have had the pleasure of playing with :D Anyhow, the only minor issue I have is that is seems that the mod is incompatible with the mod City State Diplomacy BNW {DLL Edition - v.25}. By incompatible, I mean that in in-game, your units appear to be able to be produced fine, however the new building of the C.S.D mod is now where to be seen. I double checked using In Game Editor, and the only thing I could find being implemented into the game session by C.S.D mod where the units: The Great Diplomat, Emissary, etc. In the end, would you happen to have at least some knowledge what might cause this issue? Thanks again for the stuff you do for the mod community and hope to hear from you soon.
     
  14. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Are you saying that you aren't able to make any new buildings, or a few specific ones? My first thought is that there may be two buildings sharing the same code name, like the Roman Forum or Venetian Canal.
     
  15. Ubermensch

    Ubermensch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California (U.S.A)
    Hey, first off, thanks for the speedy reply. Anyhow, what I originally meant was all the new content from your mod was able to be implemented, however only all the buildings from the C.S.D mod was not being implemented in. Anyhow, fortunately, I seem to have found a solution by first configuring my game session with your mod, then going back to the mod menu, selecting then C.S.D mod, and then re-configuring the game session.
     
  16. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,140
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    ?? are you sure this is actually working? It is contradictory to how the game's Database system works. Also, this should be causing a literal hash of the game's ID# assignment system for Buildings, Policies, etc. Plus CSD is a dll mod, and thus makes even more fundamental changes to at least one of the game's basic systems.

    Nailed that in one. Two different versions of
    CSD:
    Code:
    	<Buildings>
    		<Row>
    			<Type>BUILDING_FORUM</Type>
    			<BuildingClass>BUILDINGCLASS_FORUM</BuildingClass>
    
    3UC:
    Code:
    	<Buildings>
    		<Row>
    			<Type>BUILDING_FORUM</Type>
    			<BuildingClass>BUILDINGCLASS_MARKET</BuildingClass>
    
    Second one to load (along with its entire file) will be discarded by the game. If CSD loads into the game second, this means its entire set of added buildings goes 'poof'.
     
  17. Ubermensch

    Ubermensch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California (U.S.A)
    Your completely right LeeS, after personally also reviewing the mod files of both, it seems that the culprit for the clash has been found. Anyhow, in such a case as this (and me being admittedly quite a novice in modding), what suggestion do you think could be made in regards to fixing this error? Maybe changing the names of one of the buildings? What do you think?
     
  18. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,140
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    This problem is why JFD always names things as "BUILDING_JFD_FORUM" or some such. I've been using his example, and in my mods have been slowly changing things to insert my initials into xml names of buildings, policies, etc., where I had not used them before.

    The simplest solution while waiting for Mike and Gedemo to work through compatibility issues would be to edit the name of one of the buildings in one of the mods. For example, open with Notepad or some other text editor program the file for the Roman forum in the 3UC mod and change all occurances of BUILDING_FORUM to, say, BUILDING_FORUM_3UC. Then simply save the file.

    Obviously you would have to start a new game afterwards. And if there are more name-clashes, you might have to hunt them down and repeat the process of making a slight rename.

    And for this sort of thing:
    Code:
    		<Row Tag="TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC">
    			<Text>[COLOR="Blue"]Forum[/COLOR]</Text>
    		</Row>
    
    The game does not care how many different times Forum is specified within <Text> -- </Text> wraps.

    Like I did here for the Forum in Mike's mod:
    Spoiler :
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <!-- Created by ModBuddy on 7/29/2013 10:37:06 PM -->
    <GameData>
    	<Buildings>
    		<Row>
    			<Type>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</Type>
    			<BuildingClass>BUILDINGCLASS_MARKET</BuildingClass>
    			<FreeStartEra>ERA_INDUSTRIAL</FreeStartEra>
    			<Cost>100</Cost>
    			<PrereqTech>TECH_CURRENCY</PrereqTech>
    			<Help>TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC_STRATEGY</Help>
    			<Description>TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</Description>
    			<Civilopedia>TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC_TEXT</Civilopedia>
    			<Strategy>TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC_STRATEGY</Strategy>
    			<ArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_BUILDING_MARKET</ArtDefineTag>
    			<SpecialistType>SPECIALIST_MERCHANT</SpecialistType>
    			<SpecialistCount>2</SpecialistCount>
    			<MinAreaSize>-1</MinAreaSize>
    			<ConquestProb>66</ConquestProb>
    			<TradeRouteRecipientBonus>1</TradeRouteRecipientBonus>
    			<TradeRouteTargetBonus>1</TradeRouteTargetBonus>
    			<GreatPeopleRateModifier>15</GreatPeopleRateModifier>
    			<HurryCostModifier>25</HurryCostModifier>
    			<IconAtlas>ICON_ATLAS</IconAtlas>
    			<PortraitIndex>31</PortraitIndex>
    		</Row>
    	</Buildings>
    
    	<Building_Flavors>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<FlavorType>FLAVOR_GOLD</FlavorType>
    			<Flavor>25</Flavor>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<FlavorType>FLAVOR_I_TRADE_ORIGIN</FlavorType>
    			<Flavor>25</Flavor>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<FlavorType>FLAVOR_I_TRADE_DESTINATION</FlavorType>
    			<Flavor>25</Flavor>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<FlavorType>FLAVOR_GREAT_PEOPLE</FlavorType>
    			<Flavor>15</Flavor>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<FlavorType>FLAVOR_RELIGION</FlavorType>
    			<Flavor>10</Flavor>
    		</Row>
    	</Building_Flavors>
    	<Building_YieldChanges>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<YieldType>YIELD_GOLD</YieldType>
    			<Yield>1</Yield>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<YieldType>YIELD_FAITH</YieldType>
    			<Yield>2</Yield>
    		</Row>
    
    	</Building_YieldChanges>
    	<Building_YieldModifiers>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    			<YieldType>YIELD_GOLD</YieldType>
    			<Yield>25</Yield>
    		</Row>
    	</Building_YieldModifiers>
    	
    	<Language_en_US>
    		<Row Tag="TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC">
    			<Text>Forum</Text>
    		</Row>
    		<Row Tag="TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC_HELP">
    			<Text>+15% [ICON_GREAT_PEOPLE] Great People generation in this City.</Text>
    		</Row>
    		<Row Tag="TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC_STRATEGY">
    			<Text>The Forum is a Roman unique building that increases the amount of [ICON_GOLD] Gold a city generates. Trade routes other players make to a city with a Forum will generate an extra 1 [ICON_GOLD] Gold for the city owner and the trade route owner gains an additional 1 [ICON_GOLD] Gold for the trade route. Unlike the Market it replaces, the Forum increases the speed at which [ICON_GREAT_PEOPLE] Great People are generated in the city by 15% and yields [ICON_PEACE] Faith.</Text>
    		</Row>
    		<Row Tag="TXT_KEY_BUILDING_FORUM_3UC_TEXT">
    			<Text>Roman civic and commercial life was largely centered upon the "forum," an open space surrounded by markets, temples, government buildings, and the "rostra," a platform where Romans made political speeches to their fellows. The Roman forums may have been modeled upon the "agoras," which served much the same purposes in earlier Greek cities. The most famous forum is the "Roman Forum," located at the center of the Imperial City, but most other Roman cities had them as well.[NEWLINE][NEWLINE]The Roman Forum contained a number of very important and beautiful buildings, including temples devoted to Romulus, Saturn and Vesta, several basilicas, and the "Curia Hostilia," which housed the Roman Senate.</Text>
    		</Row>
    	</Language_en_US>
    
    	<Civilization_BuildingClassOverrides>
    		<Row>
    			<CivilizationType>CIVILIZATION_ROME</CivilizationType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_MARKET</BuildingClassType>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_FORUM_3UC</BuildingType>
    		</Row>
    	</Civilization_BuildingClassOverrides>
    </GameData>
     
  19. Ubermensch

    Ubermensch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California (U.S.A)
    @LeeS
    Understood. Sincerely, thanks for the helpful tips in regards to this issue. Take care and hopefully see you around.
     
  20. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks for sifting through the code, Lee. This should be a very simple fix. I have a few other changes to upload soon, so I'll try to have a fixed version by the end of the week.
     

Share This Page