1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

(3UC) 3rd Unique Component Project

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by mikeburnfire, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Hello,

    I'm using 3UC and 4UC in a modpack with R.E.D., and while everything is working great, the new UUs are not resized.
    Any ideas what I could do to let R.E.D. resize them as well?
    Thanks! :)
     
  2. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    I will try to make this mod RED compatible in the future. For now, I would recommend using Ethnic Diversity instead.
     
  3. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Oh, that sounds good! I'll just wait then!
    Thank you! :thumbsup:
     
  4. Nikk_

    Nikk_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Hi guys. I'm having some issues with the 4th UC of Venice and another mod - Events and Decisions. I'll just copy-paste it from the other thread:
    "I started a game with Venice on Italy map (so cool), using the 3rd and 4th unique modifier. Everything looks fine and I read that the mods are compatible.
    However the 4th modifier for Venice is a replacement for palace called Doge's palace and as you might guessed I ended up with no magistrates whatsoever which kind of ruined my game and I abandoned it. Is there any way I can fix that - edit the code, some files or whatever."

    Basically the problem is that Events and decisions adds a new "resource" called magistrate which is provided by the palace. And Venice's' palace is kind of messed up I guess, so I end up with no magistrates thus not being able to use the mod.
    The author of the Events and Decisions said that it something that should be fixed on 3/4th component's end. Is there any way to make this work? Like editing the files or just updating the mod. Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  5. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Okay, finally uploaded the newest version today and it changes a lot of things. I have updated the first post to have all the information.

    Lynnes, all the new units should be resizing correctly. I tested it myself and didn't see any problems.

    Nikk, I found the problem and added Events and Decisions support for replacement Palaces. Thank you for letting me know.
     
  6. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Great update, thanks a lot, can't wait to try it out!

    Btw I have to say that this mod is one of the most essential mods for me!
    I really wouldn't play without it anymore! I love UUs and UBs and all the diversity they add, and this mod adds everything in great quality and well balanced!

    The only change I did was to replace the UI of the Iroquois (reforestation) with a unique replacement for the granary, to make it compatible with the reforestation-mod.

    The support for modded Civs (Palace Enhancements) is a very good idea, and now that everything is compatible with R.E.D. makes it even better! :goodjob:

    Thanks for this fantastic mod!
     
  7. Skaz881

    Skaz881 History Major

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,349
    Location:
    Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA.
    I assume for the palace enhancements we replace the vanilla civs names with modded civs since it's supposed to be for modded civs?
     
  8. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    I'm not sure what you're asking. Are you talking about Civ-splits? If so, then yes.
     
  9. Senteliks

    Senteliks Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Serbia
    Hi,

    I am here to ask you, If you are willing to make this mod comp with CBP. I know you already once said that you are willing but not sure if you should proceed with it, however given how guy who worked on compatibility is for quite some time on hiatus and that no one picked up where he left, I would say, it's safe to assume that no one will complain if you do it.

    Best Regards,
    S
     
  10. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    All units are resized nicely so far, with the exception of the Teutonic Knight. :)

     
  11. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,140
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Apparently you enjoy sending your children off to war riding Shetland Ponies, you evil person, you.
     
  12. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    :lol::lol:
     
  13. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Oh nevermind, none of the new units were resized in this playthrough, because the load order is important here: R.E.D. needs to be loaded first.
    So could you please add R.E.D. as a reference to 3. & 4.UC? :)

    Until the next update, this is what everyone who wants the units to be resized can do:

    -open the modinfo-files of 3UC and 4UC

    -search this entry: <References />

    -replace this line with the following:

    <References>
    <Mod id="8670da15-d435-44ea-9758-7438cb321411" minversion="0" maxversion="999" title="R.E.D. Modpack" />
    </References>


    -now you can activate your mods in any order
     
  14. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Updated both mods today to include the following changes:

    Arabian Ghazi (Lancer) replaced. Nobody wants to waste time on Lancers when Camel Archers are available, so now Arabia has a UU Swordsman instead that gets better defensive terrain bonuses.

    England Redcoat (Rifleman) replaced. As good as they were, I wanted to avoid a 3rd UU. Instead, they now have the Textile Mill (Factory) that requires no coal and immediately grants an Ideology, reflecting how they Industrial Revolution first began in England.

    American Saloon (Windmill) replaced with Ranch (Stable). Allows for faster border expansion earlier in the game, which is much more fun, since the other components aren't available until the Industrial Era.

    Danish Longboat (Trireme) can no longer enter deep waters (they had short drafts that allowed it to sail even in shallow waters, but would be unsuited for rough oceans). Still the strongest Trireme in the game, though.

    Byzantine Hippodrome (Circus) available early, at The Wheel instead of Horseback Riding, as they raced chariots.

    Aztec Eagle (Spearman) able to use Great General AI, since it behaves similarly.

    Carthaginian Numidian no longer able to move after attacking (as is typical of ranged units)

    Added references to R.E.D., as per Lynnes' advice.

    ------

    This means that only the following civs currently have 3 UUs: Greece, Germany, Carthage, Denmark, Spain, Japan, and the Huns. All of these civs have a heavy emphasis on Domination, so I find this acceptable.

    Unfortunately, I am very busy and will probably not have time to do this, especially given how I always had trouble getting the CPB to work.
     
  15. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Good update, as usual! :thumbsup:

    Well I gonna miss the Redcoats, but I will just add them to the Mercenary Army Expanded between the Swiss Guard and the Foreign Legion to the Industrial Era / Rifling. Just like it was made to go there!

    Btw if I may add two requests, please?

    1) Is there another UC you could add to the Iroquois instead of Reforestation? So it would be compatible to this mod again? (I currently use an alternative I created as an additional mod to 4UC, but maybe you can find something better ^^)

    2) Could you please add ModBuddy's version enumeration (under mod info) to your mod? This would help a lot with keeping an overview! :)
     
  16. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    1) The thing about that is, Reforestation is practically essential to make the Iroquois not terrible, given how the UA, UB, and UU all use it. Anything I replace it with will be drastically inferior. I wouldn't even know what to replace it with.

    2) I'm not sure what you're talking about. I don't see such a field in the Mod Info section.
     
  17. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    I think that Aztec UUs should start with extra levels, to reflect the way the Aztec military works.
    (By extra levels, I mean start with extra XP)
     
  18. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Reforestation: Oh I see, doesn't matter then. :)

    version number:
    When you go to Properties -> Mod Info it's in the second line, right under the Mod ID.
    The very first field where you can enter something.
    I'll make a screenshot if you can't find it.


    Btw you not only referenced R.E.D. in the 4UC now, you also blocked it. ;)
    So it won't work with R.E.D. without manually editing the modinfo file atm.
     
  19. mikeburnfire

    mikeburnfire Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks for the heads-up. I have unblocked R.E.D. in the 4UC. It's version 2. ;)
     
  20. Lynnes

    Lynnes King

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    886
    Thanks for the hotfix. :)

    I've already looked through the new content, and it's very nicely done, as usual.
     

Share This Page