Adding new thing, using same ingame art like sth that already exists

Discussion in 'Mod Creation Help' started by Serp, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. Serp

    Serp King

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    How can I e.g add a new improvement and simply give it the same art like an already existing improvement?
    I hoped there would be one simple xml entry, like it works for the icon, but I fear it is not.

    I already figured out that it works to edit the improvements.artdef and simply copy paste the one I would like to copy and type my new improvement name in it.
    But how does it work without editing game files?
     
  2. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portugal
  3. Serp

    Serp King

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    thank you very much, the post below your linked one is about artdef.
    Ok, so I can not use "Replace" tag or stuff I normally use in xml files to make the artdef change. Instead I have to copy the whole relevant part, put into my new thing at the bottom, and make a new artdef with this, including the version part and template+collection name. okay, i will try.

    But it seems I also need a .dep file. I can see in other mods how this should look like. But how to find out what to enter where ?!
    Eg. I want my new improvement to have the art of the australian outback-station. I can make the artdef file without problems now.
    But how to find out all the stuff requested in the .dep file?!
    Ok I found out the game also uses .dep files and I found the outback station in the DLC3.dep. Now I can copy paste this dep file and remove everything that is not related to outback station (which seems to be hard to find out...)...

    Wow... such a big hassle just to give sth exactly the same art like sth that already exists?! This is ridiculous... is there really no one-line thing to simply say the game "just use artdef and dep from the game, it is already there!" ???
     
  4. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portugal
    The Dep file only contains info relative to what you are customizing, meaning, for example, if you build a new improvement put improvements.artdef in right places of dep file => Just look at dep file of my portugal mod, I also add new improvements, and you see right away the right places to put it. Don´t forget that you have to alter the ID of dep file to match your modinfo file ID (you also need a modinfo file).
     
    Serp likes this.
  5. Serp

    Serp King

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    Ok, so I downloaded your portugal mod and I now hav your .dep file. But how should I know what from this I need for my artdef file? You called your artdef files in your mod all the same like the game artdefs are called. So I see no way to find out what "Improvements.artdef" in your dep file I should replace with my "MyImprovements.artdef" (simply all of them? Or are some entries reffering to game files?). And also what about all the other things, like districts.artdef and so on. I think I should delete those, since my mod has no disctrict. But how to know if this is reffering to your mod files or to any game files?
     
  6. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portugal
    yes delete districts.artdef (and others) from dep file, you only need improvements.artdef. I dont know if has to have same name for compatibility issues, but no harm to do it equal, and also use same folder artdefs.

    The file knows to reference your files because you must use same ID in modinfo file. Open my modinfo, theres an ID at start of the file, that is equal do my dep file, when you open same ID there.
     
    Serp likes this.
  7. Serp

    Serp King

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    thanks, I finally managed it and it is indeed important to use the ArtDefs folder.
     
    raen likes this.
  8. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10,021
    Location:
    France
    AFAIK, the .dep ID can be different from the .modinfo ID (your .dep file is referenced in the <Files> section of your .modinfo file), what's important is to refer to the correct ID type when you want to set dependency (other mod ID in the <Dependencies> section of .modinfo files, Arts IDs in the <RequiredGameArtIDs> section of .dep files)
     

Share This Page