1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI reputation hit: non existant

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Elponitnatsnoc, Sep 4, 2005.

  1. Elponitnatsnoc

    Elponitnatsnoc Master Debater

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Boston Area, Massachusetts
    I just had a game with Sumeria. I was beating up on Russia in order to get Iron so i make a ROP with Mayans to get to Russia's land. I also has a luxury GPT deal with the Mayans..

    Anyway, Mayans sneak attack me so i make peace with Russia and sign them up in a military alliance vs. Maya. Soon, i see 10 Russian archers coming toward my iron city. Of course, the declare war but what is most infuriating is that the very next turn i see "Russia and Babylon have signed a military alliance against us!" Gah.

    I hope Civ 4 fixes the backstabbing AI's and i dont think its fair that AI's dont seem to get a reputation hit.
     
  2. Ansar

    Ansar Détente avec l'été

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,555
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY (soon)
    The AI doesent care about each others rep, they can do w/e they want to you and they wont care.
     
  3. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,400
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Actually, the code that checks for repurtation doesn't check for whether it is you or another AI, so they suffer the same as you do from rep hits.
     
  4. Elponitnatsnoc

    Elponitnatsnoc Master Debater

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Boston Area, Massachusetts
    how come russia was able to sign up Babylon even though they broke their MA with me vs. Maya.
     
  5. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,400
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    At thatpoint the Maya didn't *care* about Russia's Rep hit. I've had similar things happen to me, on *both ends* of the deal. I have made deals with Civs when my reputation is bad - it just costs me a lot more, but if I (or the AI Civ) want the deal badly enough, we can make it happen. ;)
     
  6. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    The program isn't consistent.
    In my AWE + 20k Dutch game,the Mongols declared on their neighbours
    the Russians.Turns later I invaded their continent and noticed the
    Russian infantry wasn't able to use the Mongol railroad network.
    (They were at peace.)But 20 or 40 turns later the RoP penalty was gone.
     
  7. Choffy

    Choffy One more turn

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Continents 80% water
    I have a related question.
    I am in war with an AI X. I make a military alliance with AI Y against AI X. 5 turns later, Y signed a peace treaty with X...
    My concern is : If I make peace now with X, will I get a reputation hit?
     
  8. Defiant

    Defiant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    no you dont get a rep hit for that becase there is no treaty to break.
     
  9. Ansar

    Ansar Détente avec l'été

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,555
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY (soon)
    You mean no alliance?
     

Share This Page