1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone else notice this? Trading posts available with Guilds tech

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Sharku, May 30, 2012.

  1. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,479
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    <cough>Plantations</cough>
     
  2. bcaiko

    bcaiko Emperor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,412
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    That would be a godsend. I'm always in some money troubles by the time I'm researching Currency.
     
  3. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,479
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I would've assumed Trading Routes and Plantations were enough to satisfy economy? Maybe it's just easy on Warlord.
     
  4. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    As one who rarely does Trading Routes or Trading Posts on Immortal/Emperor (except for puppet spams), I won't miss them. That's quite a switch from the early release.
     
  5. AbbieRevo

    AbbieRevo Non-Voting Delegate

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    I love this honestly, In a lot of games the worker strategy was just TP > TP > TP > TP.

    I'm wondering if what the value will be for them now though, like if they'll just be +1GP from the start, or if they might have their old value of +2GP since they come later.
     
  6. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Deity

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,705
    ITs pretty simple if you have a city with a lot of extra resources like cheap ,cows , weat and on grasland you just wait to improve the grasland and go to guilds.. The other extra food can be used for production early on after that go focus on gold and start building trading posts
     
  7. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    You're right. I thought things had been rearranged more, but I was wrong.
     
  8. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,479
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    But Curreny is in Classical Era, and not in Medieval Era.
     
  9. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    But more importantly, you won't see Liberty->Rationalism/Freedom by turn 100 anymore either. Some other policies will need to be taken before that point, which ups the costs for a Rational/Freedom cheese tech build.

    heh.. who would have thought you might actually need to WORK those luxury tiles? :mischief:
     
  10. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,479
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Is that sarcasm... or am I just getting the wrong vibe :|
     
  11. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    being :mischief: and agreeing with you on the obvious gold locations.
     
  12. Ajuga

    Ajuga Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Isn't that silly? I usually net at about 150 gold for tall empires and maybe 400 gold for wide empires in the modern era.
     
  13. Bisqit

    Bisqit Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    U.S.
    I'm glad there doing this. It'll put more emphasis on rivers and strategy. It is currently pretty easy to get gold int he early game. It'll add more complexity and make more in depth decisions. It'll make city placement matter even more.
     
  14. Yaezakura

    Yaezakura Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Other Side of Sanity
    I'm admittedly not all that great a player, but it doesn't seem to me like it's a huge issue. As it stands, it just seems like trading posts came far earlier than you can realistically use them aside from puppet cities.

    That early in the game, my cities generally need mines, farms, or resource-specific improvements. Not to mention roads. While I certainly add some Trading Posts once a city is large enough to be viable as it stands, it just seems like that takes so long that pushing back unlocking the posts wouldn't actually affect me.
     
  15. Luckystrike77

    Luckystrike77 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    Are you guys seriously building trading posts before economics guys? What a waste of tiles.

    Oh yes! And making markedplaces a better choice before building universities. Now it's too good to go education before currency. Education is also further nerfed by needing one more prereq. and by losing it's two grand wonders.

    I love the developers, they know what they are doing for sure. Don't worry about that, lads and ladettes.
     
  16. Calouste

    Calouste Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,725
    We don't know everything yet, but Currency now seems to be a prereq for Civil Service, which probably still is a prereq for Education. Which leads, if I count it well, to 6 extra prereqs for Education.
     
  17. Luckystrike77

    Luckystrike77 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    Even better! :)
     
  18. Uberfrog

    Uberfrog Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,727
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Yeah. It seems like we're drawing a line between players who build loads of TPs and those who just don't.

    Myself, I play on King/Emperor and I almost never build trading posts in my own cities (the exceptions being jungle tiles, and puppet cities). I never have a problem with gold, and tend to rely on trade routes and luxuries (as well as selling stuff to AIs :p) for most of my income.
     
  19. Luckystrike77

    Luckystrike77 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    I never play single player, only multiplayer games in the No Quitter group, so selling luxuries to the AI isn't an option. Money can be harsh to come by since we often play without ruins as well. Even so, I don't build trading posts, just a few on spots where I will use them later... but I seldom work them before economics. I seem to be OK with the cashflow after marketplaces are built, and perhaps even the Wall Street, but it can be hard enough, since I prioritize production and growth 100%!
     
  20. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    I agree with Buccaneer and Luckystrike77. Although I play single player, my focus is on production and growth. As long as I have some river tiles, I am unconcerned with gold and don't lay down trading posts. If I happen to start in an area that is river free, I will usually pick one city to get my early economy up and runniing. In that case that one city will get trading posts. I will then shoot for some early gold producing buildings and wonders to compensate.

    BTW, without laying any trading posts in my empire, I can usually get the same gold count late in the game, and I get killer priduction.
     

Share This Page