1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beyond the Sword for Mac OS is Shipping!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Macintosh' started by dojoboy, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. NwabudikeMorgan

    NwabudikeMorgan CEO

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    Canada
    @Cmason:
    no sorry, i don't know of any online sources yet, as you said amazon has been less then helpful.
    I'm getting my copy from my local MyMacDealer store; if you live in an urban area i'd say calling stores and finding out about their stock shipments is your best bet to waiting for online notifications.
     
  2. Aldernablou

    Aldernablou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    France
    :) Youuuu Houuuuu !
    my BTS left Paris this morning in the train to arrive in my village at the other end of France tomorrow morning.
    that seems to Christmas in July :king:
     
  3. Hellfire

    Hellfire Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Near Philly, PA
    Anyone know the game requirements for Mac BTS yet? The press release didn't seem to have it or a link to it. I have the original Civ4, no warlords, and want to know if I also need to purchase warlords, or buy Civ4 gold, and then BTS.
     
  4. cmason

    cmason Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    On the Aspyr page it says "Requires the full version of Civilization IV for Mac OS X to play", no mention of Warlords, so stock Civ IV should be fine. I linked to a french site back a bit which said the same thing.

    Interestingly both vanilla Civ IV and Warlords run on Panther but Beyond the Sword needs Tiger for some reason.
     
  5. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    BtS was not tested on 10.3, so the minimum requirement was bumped up to a semi-modern OS X revision. ;-) Perhaps it works on 10.3; more likely it does not.
     
  6. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    From our website:

     
  7. cmason

    cmason Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    I'm running Leopard myself, so not a concern, but I can imagine people with older computers that are still running 10.3.9 since they never upgraded (my Dad was like this until recently.) I can easily see them buying it without double-checking the requirements, since they already know it works on their computer so they would likely assume an expansion would too. Hopefully it does, maybe someone here can test it out.

    Anyway, not likely to affect a lot of people since these are just the G5 guys (although there's a fair number of iMac G5s out there), just found it interesting. I think your explationation is probably right, it was just never tested cause everyone was already running Tiger or Leopard.
     
  8. Graven

    Graven Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    All right, thanks again.
     
  9. msteiner

    msteiner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Thanks again for the continued updates, Brad. Our mac community is very grateful for your work and dedication on this project. :D
     
  10. Blondel58

    Blondel58 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Klosterneuburg
    I got mine today (in Austria) :woohoo:
     
  11. scriblerus

    scriblerus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    No stock yet showing at Amazon UK

    Curses
     
  12. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    My copy has shipped @ 03:48:51 PM from Phoenix, AZ. :) I wonder if Brad is shipping me an autographed copy. ;)
     
  13. drudometkin

    drudometkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Mine shipped today from amazon. Sweet!
     
  14. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    LOL, no. I haven't seen a boxed copy yet, and probably won't until I either a) go to a store and snoop on the shelves or b) fly to Austin. ;-)
     
  15. mr.macman

    mr.macman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    USPS/Amazon says the package should be here by the end of the week, so there goes my weekend. And since this thread seems to be pretty well trafficked, is there a way I can send some feedback on gameplay and possible improvements for future editions?
     
  16. nauticus

    nauticus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Got mine today, a day early! In the end, Amazon wasn't completely crazy. Going to load it now. And I will report how it plays on my specs at some point. Happy CIVing to all!
     
  17. Macintosh

    Macintosh Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    near Mannheim in Germany
    mine arrived yesterday eve. :)

    So, next step is getting 319 ....
     
  18. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,184
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Game play is the responsibility of Firaxis, and I very much doubt if they will produce a new version now, but maybe you should wait to see what version 3.19 has fixed. That's out on Windows, but not yet for Mac. I also doubt if Aspyr would make unilateral changes in the way the game plays, as it has to be rules-compatible with the Windows releases for multi-player modes.

    There are discussions in the main Civ4 forum about wish lists for game play fixes and improvements. It's far more likely that Firaxis would look there than here if they do still want to see suggestions. I don't expect they ever visit this forum.

    If you have specific comments on the way the game works on Mac OS X - startup, graphics, file system operation, external user interface etc. - then by all means start a thread in this forum to discuss them. We do have Brad Oliver as a frequent visitor from Aspyr, and he may take note of valid requests that don't affect cross-platform compatibility. Whether he can get them included in new patches is anyone's guess.

    If you want new units, civs and parameters, then mods are the way to go. Check the mods threads here for information on mod packs that have been found to be compatible with the Mac versions. I'm sure the range will increase now that BtS is out.
     
  19. Hellfire

    Hellfire Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Near Philly, PA
    So does this mean that if I buy BTS, I get all the civs and changes that Warlords has? I want to be complete, but not buy two expansions when only one expansion was needed.
     
  20. Hellfire

    Hellfire Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Near Philly, PA
    Doh... sorry about the double post.
     

Share This Page