1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Caveman 2 Cosmos

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by strategyonly, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. Daedwartin

    Daedwartin Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,782
    Location:
    Grand Daedwartian Union
    Yes... This mod is massive and understands only it's ambition to become effective a de facto expansion...with each 5 updates the equal of a expansion.
     
  2. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Seriously. How can one fix something if they are not aware of the issue? :crazyeye: The only way any of us can fix bugs is for people to report them. Likewise I think we do a damn fine job considering we all do this for free.

    So thank you everyone on the team and everyone who has reported bugs. With out you we could not make C2C the awesome mod it is today.
     
  3. Vaya

    Vaya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Slovakia, Central Europe
    The mod is awesome, but the more useless buildings you are adding to it (and there are plenty of them)the less funny it gets and less competent AI is to keep up with human players.. Endless and endless city management even with city queues and poor AI is what prevents this to become absolutely best mod ever made. I would really appreciate a possibility to somehow allow player to pick buildings which he simply doesn't want to be offered to build in city screen and perhaps even let him prohibit AI to build them the same way.

    I recently played Rhyes and Fall of Civilization - Europe and its way better in the matter of warfare and world is much more alive there. New Empires unexpectedly dawn from the ashes of former empires. Although its completely different mod and revolutions are kinda scripted there but they work well. You cannot expand more than stability of your empire allows you or cities will start declaring independence without warning and you will get to civil war. On the contrary its quite easy to handle your empire together in C2C. And Im not sure if its a good thing to be able to spread your culture this easily because AI doesnt use cultural units(except for great artists). I take a few units spreading culture with me on every city conquest and the same turn I take city the riot is gone. Then I quickly send there buttload of them until my culture is significant and in the meantime I move my stack to another city..

    Otherwise I really appreciate what you are doing here, you did great job with improving speed and stability and tech tree is just something that man will fall in love with as soon as future techs are done. Oh yea and I cant wait for multimaps..

    Btw will v27 be out this weekend?
     
  4. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    @all:

    I am currently in the process of uploading V27. Given that it clocks in at 950 MB, and needs approval, it should be available in 4 to 6 hours.
     
  5. Khadras

    Khadras Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    I'm happy waiting!
     
  6. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    *removed*
     
  7. SteelSterling

    SteelSterling Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Filefront states it's unavailable at the moment. Is it because so many are downloading it or is there some probem?
     
  8. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Probably because ModDB needs to send them the file. I suspect it will all be working very soon.
     
  9. SteelSterling

    SteelSterling Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Makes sense, guess I'll just have to wait! Hard to believe it's been 20 versions since I first stumbled upon C2C! You guys are great!
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
  11. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,539
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Now this is a very good idea that I have been wanting for while but did not quit know how to ask for. Basically it would be nice to a set of "Don't ever show buildings" by game and another one for cities. For example I only want to build barracks and military schools in my military cities so I would like to get them out of the build in every other city just to remove the clutter. Similarly the only reason I build traps is to get them out of the list - so being able to remove them from at least my side of the game would be nice.

    There is a mod we could include for doing exactly this, StrategyOnly asked me to do so a couple of times, but I did not understand the why behind it and just thought it was another version of something we already had. It would work well for scripted history, I am not so sure of its usefulness in a random history.

    This is an ongoing problem. We have tried a number of things but have not come to a satisfactory conclusion. Many people don't want this aspect at all.

    This is a known issue. The Story Teller line has been around since RoM but the AI doesn't know how to use it and it is OP anyway. We have tasks in to fix it, and we (not just me this time) will get to it.
     
  12. SteelSterling

    SteelSterling Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Still not available?
     
  13. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    See the pic. Click the first link to get the d/l to appear.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. MasterJoKeR

    MasterJoKeR Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Cant you upload somewhere else because Gamefront stinks and im banned from Desura.
     
  15. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    It's gone now from ModDB as well. :mad: Someone needs to work out these technical difficulties.
     
  16. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,794
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Sometimes someone comes along and creates a seed but I personally think its just easiest if you have difficulties like this to grab the SVN. Besides, once you've done so, you can EASILY update to the latest mod team copy if you have a bug problem and it gets fixed.

    To do this, just follow the instructions on the first page of the SVN thread in this forum.
     
  17. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Then dont dl from anyplace but Moddb, sometimes it takes about a minute for the save pop-up to show up.

    I just looked twice now and it been there both times???:confused:

    You need to d/l from CFC d/l area.
     
  18. Taxman66

    Taxman66 King

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    I had to click on the 'try another mirror' link to the right of the gamefront link. From there I chose the ModDB with the most available capacity and then I got the pop-up
     
  19. TheDisco

    TheDisco Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Download doesn't work for me. I click all the links and eventually get to a page that says: <snip>


    EDIT: Never mind, I registered for moddb and was able to get it from a moddb mirror. It did NOT work from gamefront though needed to use a moddb mirror...
     
  20. wolfensoul9

    wolfensoul9 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Okay, seriously, what's the joke? Contrary to what strategyonly keeps saying, I see no link to download it from modB, and that gamefront place keeps saying it isn't available.
     

Share This Page