1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Caveman 2 Cosmos

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by strategyonly, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,499
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Depends on how much you want to take out or keep in. You can remove all alternate timeline stuff by editing MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.XML in the Assets/Modules folder and changing a 1 to a zero ie
    Code:
                    <Module>
                        <Directory>Alt_Timelines</Directory>
                        <bLoad>1</bLoad>
                    </Module>
    
    Change it from <bLoad>1</bLoad> to <bLoad>0</bLoad>

    If you want to keep some bits go into Assets/Modules/Alt_Timelines and edit its MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.XML to affect the changes you want. Be Warned we have made efforts to ensure it works but some things may have slipped through the cracks.
     
  2. Verdolaga

    Verdolaga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thank you for your answer, what about the other questions?

    Wanted to download the new version (v.37) but when unziping it I get A LOT of mistakes, and files corrupted. Is there another place from where to download it? Or which is the repository to use svn?
     
  3. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    SVN instructions here
     
  4. rwglaub

    rwglaub Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    I am being overrun with Assassins. How do I stop them? I have spies, dogs and rangers out looking for them and they still keep killing my units. Is there an option so that they don't appear?
     
  5. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,925
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Nope.
    Do you have assassins too?

    Rangers were never meant to find and kill an assassin, they are a Hunting unit not a Hidden Unit killer. And Spies don't do anything against assassins either.

    Dogs reveal then you need a fast moving strong Mil unit to hit the assassin.
     
  6. rwglaub

    rwglaub Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    It seems then that all you are doing is playing 'screw the player'.
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  8. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,925
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    No rwglaub it's just that you have not picked up and learned the way to handle these situations.

    Please take Thunderbrd's advice.
     
  9. Taxman66

    Taxman66 King

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    If the assassins are camping across a culture border where you cant reach them you can use your own (with well chosen promos) or bandit units or the 10 strength bandit commander to kill them before they strike your lands. If they hiding in an enemy city you may have to build some escort specialists to guard civilian uniys near said city.
     
  10. rwglaub

    rwglaub Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Horse manure. I should NOT have to escort my worker units. You've taken a wonderful game and ruined it. At least give people an option not to play with this crap. It wasn't needed.
     
  11. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,407
    Location:
    UK
    Please try to be a little realistic.

    A worker, who can not fight - but just works the land. It must need some sort of protection.
     
  12. rwglaub

    rwglaub Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Not every single worker. And that's what it would take.
     
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Sounds like the AI has learned how to effectively go on the offensive with strike teams finally. As intended...

    @rwglaub: are you playing on v37 stock or the latest SVN?
     
  14. rwglaub

    rwglaub Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Latest SVN. I looked at the Player's Guide for V34 and didn't find anything on how to handle criminals. There should be a way to opt out. I should not have to have escort units for every worker, physician, vet, etc...
     
  15. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,925
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    You went to this thread? https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/caveman2cosmos-v37-player-guide.607564/ And you found nothing? Really?

    And you found no link for this thread either? https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/criminal-spawns-investigation-and-arrest-in-v37.608212/ Again really?
     
  16. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    If you have known problems with strike teams coming and harassing you then, yeah, you really should escort your units. The AI is aware of this danger and has been taught to escort when they start having trouble as well.

    There's even a promotionline specifically to help your escorts to be very skilled against these kinds of attacks.

    For the last 5 versions or so, only clever players had figured out how to use these stealth units to harass their enemies this effectively. Now that the AI knows how, you feel it's too hard?

    Too easy, too hard... players can't make up their minds apparently.

    As for a No Black Ops game option... I'll take this as one opinion asking for such an option but I think StrategyOnly may get deeply upset if such an option were implemented.

    From another angle... YES!!!! The AI I programmed recently is working! Woohoo! I can't WAIT to play the next game!
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2017
  17. TheNaughtyOtsel

    TheNaughtyOtsel Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey, New to the forums, but Ive been playing Civ IV ever since it released way back in 2005 and I gotta say I love this mod and how it expands on the original game, so much that I enjoy it more then I did Civ V. Anyways I recently installed V37 and everything's fine except for a couple things I've been trying to figure out.

    Civ names don't change according to their civics as they did in V36 (i.e. Peoples republic of Australia, Rebels of Rome) Was this feature removed? Or is this an error on my end? also every time I try to use recon mode with aircraft the game immediately crashes regardless of where I use it, even on empty space.

    Non of this game breaking for me though, You guys did great work and I shall play this till the day I die.
     
  18. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,499
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Dynamic Civ names was not working as intended and we tried to fix it but just broke it further. The problem is that the implementation was split across Python and C++. If it was just one then it would have been easier for it to be changed.

    There are some graphics bugs that are still causing problems.
     
  19. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,925
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    This has been fixed. But to get it you will need to set up an account on sourceforge to get our latest SVN versions. Instructions on How To are in the 1st Post of the SVN Changelog Thread.

    There is also a link for an Updated V37 Full Mod "patched" version in this thread. https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/update-patches-for-v37.613571/#post-14713414

    Please be sure to fully read the post when you D/L the Updated V37 Patch.

    And Welcome to the C2C Forum. :D
     
  20. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas

Share This Page