1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CCM2 Epic Mod

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    Welcome to CCM2 and thank you very much for your interest in this non-commercial mod!




    CCM stands for Civ Conquest Mod, is only playable with Civ 3 Conquests (C3C) and was constructed around Civ Complete. It is a modification of the Civ 3 epic game, starting at 4.000 BC and ending in the Atomic Age of mankind. CCM2 is the successor of CCM1. Most of my modification ideas (like strengthening the AI) are realised in CCM, but the mod would never have been what it is, without the help, feedback, work and great ideas of many civers all around the globe. Thank you all very, very much!

    A special big thank you very much to rhodie and Takeo, who edited the civilopedia, to Vuldacon who did a lot of graphical work, especially the main-terrain, used in CCM2, also to Wotan49 who masterly shrinked and repaired some units and of course to the many unit-creators whose great work keeps Civ 3 alive. Another big thank you very much to the betatesters PaGe, Takeo, rhodie, Antony Boscia (Bosch), jlvfr, JerseyJoe, elephantium, ThERat (Singaboy), lkendter, SvenBvBFan, tjs282, Node60, Nathiri (Natmeris), Ray2, Delta_strife and later Jarovid and Tigris of Gaul, who together ironed out hundreds of errors and gave precious input to the further development of CCM2. Even the prebetatesters of CCM1 (BadKharma, Recon1591, rhodie, MarineCorps, moosezilla and ThERat) are not forgotten - and of course a special thank you very much to Civforum.de, the site that hosts this mod. :)

    CCM was also helped by Soren Johnson´s skilful analysis of Civ III gaming elements at the end of the handbook for Civ IV. In that sense: The end of Civ IV is the start of Civ III CCM. :D

    CCM 2 is an expansion of C3C. It adds the following features to CCM1:

    1. CCM2 includes the exe 4 of Antal1987:
    Antal1987 achieved some fixes of C3C that Firaxis was not able to achieve : :thumbsup:
    a) Fix of the Scientific Golden Age
    b) Fix of the civilopedia graphics:
    No more magenta beams in the civilopedia (PaGe thank you very much for suggesting this to Antal1987).
    c) Cities now can be founded next to each other, allowing to build channels in C3C maps.
    d) The exe allows the direct starting of C3C, both epic game and scenarios.

    This function now becomes much more important, as Windows doesn´t support the SecuROM copy-protection any longer. CCM2 additionally needs the original files of Civ III Complete, that are not included in that mod. CCM2 can also be played without that exe - but why should this be wanted, if such a wonderful work is available. The exe,-as all files included in CCM2, was tested with Kaspersky anti-virus software.

    2. Smaller mapsizes now also provide a demanding gameplay, even on archipelango maps:
    The range of aircraft and ships was adapted to fit even to the smaller maps.

    3. The introduction of "superworkers":
    These superworkers are a kind of a "worker-army" in C3C and reduce the micromanaging in the late game massively. Old workers now can be upgraded directly to partisans.

    4. The Hyperlink-bug is eliminated.

    5. A massive boost in unit lines, units and extensive civilopedia work:

    CCM2 now holds thousands of units with massively improved civilopedia informations. A very interesting aspect of installing the CCM2.rar as an expansion of the mainfiles is to create a big database for modding C3C - a feature that becomes more and more valuable, as the collapse of some precious resources of modding Civ 3 did show. There mustn´t exist many big scenario folders any longer, mostly including the same units in each of these scenario folders. Now it is enough to include the unit in the scenario biq and if you want one of the graphics or sounds of that unit be changed, you only have to include the changed sound and/or graphics and the INI-file in the unit folder of the new scenario (the same methode Firaxis still did use with upgrading sound and graphics files of their units).

    6. Civspecific Great Wonders for nearly every civ:
    This option strenghtens AI civs, as now more AI civs can trigger their Golden Ages.

    7. Ancient Great Wonders spawn additional settlers:
    This very good idea by the CCM2 betatesters Jersey Joe and PaGe strengthens the AI, as in higher difficulty levels, these wonders are mostly been built by the AI.

    8. Improved City View in the epic game

    9. The new Ingame Help:
    The civilopedia concepts were greatly enlarged and received a new structure, working additionally as a kind of manual, that can be used during the game (this is a first step in modding this additional feature in Civ 3 and I know, that the Ingame Help can be even more improved). The old system of an alphabetic list of catchwords doesn´t work well any longer with such a mass of very specific catchwords.

    Additionally CCM2 has the Civ 3 concepts introduced with CCM1:
    1. ICS-tactic (Infinite City Sprawl) stopped.
    2. Religious implementation is improved.
    3. New Great Cultural Persons.
    4. Advanced Automatic Unit production.
    5. Waste and Corruption are considerably reduced.
    6. Pollution has been virtually eliminated.
    7. New Multiple Leaders.
    8. Short Bloody Revolution.
    9. New Government settings.
    10. CCM Movement Rules
    11. AI-Routine for Land Artillery improved
    12. New Trading Possibilities for Random Maps
    13. Improved Workers.
    14. Better use of Diplomats and Spies
    15. Enhanced Technical Trees.

    Requirements:
    - Civilization 3: Conquests version 1.22 (English) or Civilization 3 Complete
    - about 4,80 GB disk space

    Here is the link for the download of CCM2

    The new conquests biq (for the conquests mainfolder) and a CCM2 biq (if played as a scenario) are attached at the bottom of the linked post.



    How to install CCM2:

    Find the Conquests Mainfolder inside Civ III Complete. Don´t mix up the conquests mainfolder with the Civ 3 Complete mainfolder.





    Inside the Conquests Mainfolder do the following:



    1.Make backup copies of the folders Art, Text and sounds in your main conquests folder and rename them Art-orig, Text-orig, sounds-orig (or something like that)
    In the Installation Image these backup folders are marked in red.

    2. Make a backup copy of the Conquests.biq in your main Conquests folder and rename it conquests-orig (or something like that) - marked in red.

    3.Unzip the CCM2.rar file to the Civ III Complete Conquests mainfolder and set the zip to replace all files. The rar-file will add many new files to these folders and replace some of the old files, p.e. the ugly C3C cruiser (see the green arrows in the installation image). It will also add a new exe-file to the Conquests folder done by Antal1987 that can directly start the conquests games, both epic game and scenarios (more about that file later) and Sima Qian’s multiplayer tool , that also can be helpful in detecting and fixing 'house-boat'-bugs caused by other civs (both marked in lilac).

    4. Now add the new conquests.biq to the Conquests folder, assure that you have no old files in your Virtual Store, and you are ready to start the game.

    As the expanded C3C folder includes all files of standard C3C, you should be able to play all complete C3C scenarios (like RARR or Worldwide) without any problems. Additionally you can switch easily between the expanded C3C files and the original C3C files by renaming the folders Art, Text and sounds to Art-CCM, Text-CCM and sounds-CCM (or something like that) and deleting the suffixes -"orig" in your backup folders inside the C3C Mainfolder with a text editor. With that procedure in the other direction you can easily reactivate your expanded C3C folders again.

    You can also install CCM2 completely as a scenario:

    1. Create a folder in the scenarios folder and name it CCM2
    2. Unzip the CCM2 rar-file into the new folder CCM2.
    3. Paste the CCM2 biq inside the scenarios folder

    If you have installed CCM2 in your C3C mainfile, it is enough, to place the CCM2 scenario biq inside the C3C scenarios folder. Other files in the C3C scenarios folder are no longer needed. When installing CCM2 only as a scenario by extracting the CCM2-rar-file into a CCM2 scenario folder, you lose the city view, the palace graphics and I think CCM2 runs somewhat more smoothly in the mainfiles than as a scenario. You also loose the function of CCM2 as a database.

    If you use the Steam version of Civ III Complete, you must additionally delete the labels file in the text-folder and rename the file labels-Steam CivComplete Patch to labels, otherwise the Steam version will play havoc with your C3C text.



    Credits

    Mod design:
    Blue Lion/Civinator
    Units:
    aaglo, Aluminium, AnthonyBoscia, Ares de Borg, Balam-Agab, Balou, BeBro, Bjornlo, Delta_Strife, Gary Childress, gwendoline, imperator1961, Kinboat, odintheking, Orthanc, Plotinus, Ripptide, Sandris, ShiroKobbure, TopGun, utahjazz7, vingrjoe, Vuldacon, W.i.n.t.e.r., Wotan49, Wyrmshadow, Yang Liu
    Leaderheads:
    ccm01, CivArmy s. 1994, embryodead, jorde, Piernik, Plotinus, R8XFT, Rita Poon, ShiroKobbure, Vuldacon, Blue Lion/Civinator
    Terrain:
    Sn00py, Ares de Borg, Balthasar, Goldfool, Pounder, Racc00n, Rick FGS, Vuldacon, Blue Lion/Civinator;
    Cities:
    Aion, Sn00py, RedAlert
    Improvements, Wonders, Wonder Splashes and Flags:
    aaglo, ArbitraryGuy, Ares de Borg, Bjornlo, georgestow, Harlan, Heretic_Cata, Kyriakos, Lusikka755, mrtn, Plotinus, R8XFT, ronning, Rufus T. Firefly, Spincrus, SWalker, Ukas, varwnos, NeoT, Blue Lion / Civinator
    Tech Icons:
    BeBro, embryodead, Kal-el, Keroro, mrtn, ronning, Rufus T. Firefly, Storm Grunt, utahjazz7, Yoda Power, Blue Lion/Civinator
    Interfaces(modified):
    Telgar, AnthonyBoscia, konradregula
    Civ 2 graphics (mainly used for resource-cities and unit32):
    BeBro, kobayashi, fairline, Curt Sibling and lots of unknown other artists
    If you find a piece of your work in the mod and you are not on the list, please let me know and I'll do my best to fix it.


    Much more will follow soon -but I think now some civers are waiting eagerly to download this mod.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
    Wolfshade, Nathiri and Sandris like this.
  2. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    Switching between different terrain graphic sets in CCM2:



    You can easily switch between the different Terrain sets in CCM2 by adding a suffix to the Terrain-folder with an text editor and activating the other terrain set by deleting the suffix from the name of that terrain set (p.e. adding the suffix -Vuldacon to the current terrain folder and deleting the suffix Ares in TerrainAres, so that this folder now is the new folder Terrain. You can change terrain sets even during a game. When starting the save file of the game, this game can be continued with the new terrain graphics. The same way you can switch back to the old terrain set or use another set of terrain.

    Please note, that to play a game, you always need a folder that is only named Terrain inside your Art folder.

    Here you can see 4 different complete terrain graphics sets inside CCM2. With terrain-Snoopy, CCM2 holds a fifth terrain graphics set, but here the graphics for C3C must be added (LM-terrain, volcano).



    The exe 4 of Antal1987:

    In the CCM2 betatest, the exe of Antal1987 worked without any problems. It is the work of a pure genius :thumbsup:, as Antal1987 achieved some fixes of C3C, that Firaxis was not able to achieve. The original thread can be found here: https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/useful-patches-for-civ-3-conquests-v1-22.526285/

    a) Fix of the Scientific Golden Age
    b) Fix of the civilopedia graphics
    c) Cities now can be founded next to each other, allowing to build channels in C3C maps.
    d) The exe allows the direct starting of C3C, both epic game and scenarios.

    Alone the fix of the civilopedia graphics in my eyes makes the use of this patched exe a "must". No more magenta beams in the civilopedia.



    Here are screenshots of building the 'Yokohama Canal' in one of the CCM2 betatest games, possible with Antal1987´s work:





    Sima Qian’s multiplayer tool:


    This is another work of a pure genius :thumbsup:, that can be found here. It allows to play C3C multiplayer games with up to 31 human players, instead of the normal 8 players in standard C3C (and of course all kinds of combinations between human and AI players).

    Sima Qian’s tool also helps to detect locations, where the so-called 'houseboat-bug' takes place. This is a crash when there is a settler of a civ on a boat, while the last city of that civ is captured. This is a very old bug, that was fixed in Civ 3 vanilla, but came to life again with C3C mods. Mostly it´s the human player, who triggers that bug and there is a simple remedy to help here in many cases: Autosave the game every turn and when the bug occurs after you have captured the last city of a civ and don´t receive a message that the civ is destroyed, load the game again and conquer the last city later, when you have sunk the boat that carries the settler.

    But there are also cases, when that bug is triggered by an AI civ. In these cases it helps to open the game with Sima Qian’s tool, find the civ who lost its last city, set this civ to a human player and sink the boat carrying the settler.

    Some steps how to handle Sima Qian’s multiplayer tool:



    Before starting C3C (with a save file) make sure you have the folder c3me with the file mp-gui on your screen.

    Than start C3C and CCM2 as normal. Load your save file you have done before the crash. Let the save load. When the announcement comes that the save is loaded, don´t start the game as you usually would do. Press the keys "Alt" and "Tab" (the one with the two arrows in different directions) at the same time. Now a window will open that allows you to trigger the mp-gui file and to start the multiplayer tool. When mp-gui is triggered, a box will open showing all civs in the game of the save file. The civ, that is currently played by the human player is marked with a hook in the box. The other 30 boxes when playing with 31 civs are empty. Now you can mark another civ that should be played by the human player by taking away the hook in the box of that civ by simply clicking on it and adding the hook into the box of another civ. You can also switch several civs to be played by a human player by clicking into the boxes of several civs. If you want to play all civs by the human player simply set hooks into the boxes of all 31 civs. When you have done the selections of civs that should be played by human players, save these settings with the save-function and lay the folders of the multiplayer tool (and the selection box of the civs) with the window function at the bottom of your screen.

    Than start the game with the save file that you have loaded like you normally would do it.
    Now the interface for multiplayer gaming appears and the game starts with the first player that was set to be played by a human player. When that player has finished his turn, the game activates the next civ that is marked as be played by humans (and so on). When you have set all 31 civs to be played by a human player, you see very quickly if there is a civ that is near to its defeat and has a settler on a boat - and especially you can see the location of that "houseboat"and can sink it by simply abandoning it.

    If you want to quit the game you can do this simply as you are used to it with Civ 3, but when Civ 3 has closed, please don´t forget to close the c3me folder with the windows task-manager.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
    Sandris likes this.
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    The new CCM2 Civilopedia:



    Arrows mark the new entries in the CCM2 Civilopedia.

    a) Resources: The hyperlink bug was solved in CCM2. On the other side now the player must receive the information for needed resources in the text boxes of units, buildings and worker jobs.
    b) The CCM Ingame Help: The concept of catchwords for game concepts was reformed. More about it in the next entry.


    The new Ingame Help:



    The civilopedia concepts were greatly enlarged and received a new structure, working additionally as a kind of manual, that can be used during the game. Bluemofia´s discovery, that pediaicon images even can be linked to 'concept entries' opened the way for this new form of helping Civ 3 players.



    The individual chapters of the 'Ingame Help' can be accessed easily by clicking the link in the 'Table of Contents'. Each chapter holds additional links concerning to that topic. Every chapter is also marked with different pediacons images in the game.

    This is a first step in modding this additional feature in Civ 3 and I know, that the Ingame Help can be improved even more. The old system of an alphabetic list of catchwords doesn´t work well any longer with such a mass of very specific catchwords. It is really nice to have a condensed list in the game instead of having to scroll for a long time.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  4. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    -reserved 3-
     
  5. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    -reserved 4-
     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    -reserved 5-
     
  7. Samez

    Samez ION GUNNER

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,515
    Location:
    center of nowhere
    Hey thanks for releasing - but there seem to be some issues with the civilopedia / pediaicons.txt file. When fixing the issue with the blacksmith (picture) I immediately run into the next missing icon_bldg_ error.
    Spoiler :

    error 1.jpg
     
  8. Lionic

    Lionic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Congratulations! Now it's time to play.
     
  9. Sandris

    Sandris Rise and Rule

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Rus
    Great !!!
    Glad Civ3 is still played and is getting better by modding. :thumbsup:
    Merry Christmas! :)
     
  10. Tigris of Gaul

    Tigris of Gaul Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Merry Christmas! :) I've been really enjoying the new mod and I thank you for getting it out before Christmas. I did however get an error: Missing entry in "text\PediaIcons.txt":ANIMNAME_PRTO_Training Launcher
     
  11. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    Thank you all for kind words about CCM2 :)

    Samez, it seems you are playing with the biq of another mod - not with CCM2. The CCM2 biq (and its version as Conquests biq) doesn´t hold a building blacksmith and all betastesters and me would have noticed, if the CCM2 biq wasn´t running. Indeed both biqs are running pretty well. Can it be that your virtual store holds a different biq named conquests, that overwrites the CCM2/conquest biq?

    Tigris of Gaul, thank you very much for reporting that error. :) That entry was indeed missing in the pediaicons file (again). Attached to this post is a pediaicons file, that adds that entry. All civers, who have still uploaded CCM2, please unzip that file into the textfolder holding the CCM2 text files and overwrite the old pediaicons text file. Edit: I will replace the CCM2 download files with that new version of the pediaicons file. First I thought to do this today, but may be there will come some more error reports, that can be fixed in a new download, too.

    Edit: There is a new pediaicons file zip with a fixed second missing entry that you can find here.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  12. Haddu

    Haddu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Settler Clan Egypt - no upgrades.
     
  13. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    Haddu, thank you very much for reporting that error. :)

    In the CCM2 testfiles, I had replaced the clan and its upgrade by the normal settler that is built by the palace, to look if this setting could fix the houseboat-bug. On the other side this left room for letting an Egyptian settler be autoproduced by the Pyramides. When seeing, that this setting didn´t fix the houseboat-bug, I switched back to the autoproduction of clans and forgot to readjust the settings of the Egyptian settler.

    I made a new Conquests and a new CCM2 biq, that fix the settings of the Egyptian settler and can be downloaded now.

    Please replace your old CCM2 and Conquests biqs with the new ones. These biqs will only fix the settings for the Egyptian settler in games that are started when using the new biqs. For old games the clan for Egypt will be a 'lame duck' - but this only matters for Egypt, not for the other 30 civs in the game.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  14. greekGod

    greekGod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you very much for this awesome present!
    I installed the mod and started playing it successfully, but after a few moves received the error:
    File not found: Art\Units\Enslaved Worker\Enslaved Worker.INI
     
  15. greekGod

    greekGod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    One more similar problem:
    File not found: Art\Units\Enkidu Warrior\Enkidu Warrior.INI

    EDIT: another one
    File not found: Art\Units\Chasquis Scout\Chasquis Scout.INI
    I fix them temporarily by copying and renaming e.g. Euro Scout -> Chasquis Scout
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  16. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    greekGod, thank you very much for your kind words about CCM2 :)
    and welcome to CFC. :band:[party]

    It seems you didn´t copy the CCM2 files into the normal C3C Art-, text- and sounds folders. All the files you have posted as missing, are the standard files of C3C. As said in the post about installing CCM2, you should create backup folders of the folders named above and than zip the CCM2 files into the original C3C folders -otherwise you will have the result as you have posted it - and this is intended.

    The procedure that needs the original C3C files is done to assure, that the player has the original Civ III Complete files.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  17. greekGod

    greekGod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Civinator, thanks for your quick help, indeed I was being careless with the instructions, now everything works fine!
     
  18. Tigris of Gaul

    Tigris of Gaul Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Hello Civinator, I found another one: Missing entry in "text\PediaIcons.txt":WON_SPLASH_BLDG_Integrated_Defense
     
  19. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    Tigris of Gaul, thank you very much for reporting a second missing entry in the pediaicons file. :)

    Attached is a new zip-file of the pediaicons file fixing both missing entries. Please replace the current pediaicons file with the new file.

    Edit: Pediaicons zip-file deleted as a new one exists.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
  20. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,584
    The description of the CCM Ingame Help was added to post 3.
     

Share This Page