1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 3 Complete on Windows 10 Error

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Technical Support' started by Ozymandias, Dec 9, 2019.

  1. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    Hi all - After an installation as described in the "Subject" line, when I try to run the game I receive a pop-up "Access Denied" error message: "Please login with admin privileges and try again" -
    1. I am the admin (home machine.)
    2. I changed the security settings for every file granting everyone and everything full permissions - and no change, then -
    3. I tried "Compatibility Modes (No-Go)
    4. Although, as a consolation prize, the editor will run ...
    -:undecide:z
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  2. tjs282

    tjs282 Disillusionist

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,666
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ...just here for the job/ handouts/ woman
  3. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    Many Thanks! I've not loaded up Civ 3 since before 2015, and never "Complete. I'll give the options you've pointed me to a shot.
     
  4. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,050
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    I probably should update that thread with any recent info, except I haven't really touched Civ III for a couple years now. @tjs282 or anyone else who has suggestions for updating that thread to be more helpful just drop me a pm.
     
  5. tjs282

    tjs282 Disillusionist

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,666
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ...just here for the job/ handouts/ woman
    If it is simply the disabled-secdrv problem, then a NoCD .exe (e.g. the one from the PCGames magazine website) should be all you'll need to fix it.
    Off the top of my head, the only thing I can think of to add might be a note that, along with Steam and GamersGate, GOG.com is also now a legit source of a NoCD installation.

    The last post in your thread (June 2016) was made about 6 months before GOG started selling C3C (in early 2017, IIRC), so that useful nugget hasn't been noted anywhere yet. But (unlike the GG version) the GOG-version doesn't require the user to install the Steam client -- and thus should be compatible with Civ3-mods made before Steam messed with (the .exe and) the 'standard' labels.txt file (which also screwed up most Civ3-mod text-labels).

    It might also be worth asking a friendly Mod to move/sticky your thread to this forum (Civ3 Technical Support), because at the moment it's buried several pages into the Civ3 GD forum. I found it again via a link from a similar thread in this forum.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  6. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    PS TO THE ABOVE! -The "Edit" function has gone FUBAR and my post edits keep reverting away. I've sorted out all the files and whatnot. - So, yet again,thank you both, oh so very, very much! :whew: :w00t:
     
    tjs282 likes this.

Share This Page