1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[CIV 5 Issues] - The complete list

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by poncratias, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. Bushface

    Bushface Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Torquay, England
    The "back" button in the 'pedia does not work. (Not that the 'pedia is much good anyway:for example, it tells you what city-states are but not how to interact with them)

    What's the point of Bronze Working when there is no copper ?

    Cotton is a new resource, but pigs, clams, crabs, corn, rice, stone (and copper) are absent. This despite many posters' hopes for more types of resource, not less.

    No World Builder in-game. Is there one elsewhere ?
     
  2. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    The AI in general is far too aggressive in Civ5.

    This makes them feel like generic warmongering idiots, and is especially a problem on the high difficulty levels in the very early game. I had one Emperor game recently where Napoleon met me on turn 7, and turned hostile immediately on the next turn because my army was “too weak”. Too weak! Well of course it’s weak relative to yours, you jerkwad, you got half a dozen free units!

    Worse though was a recent Immortal game where Elizabeth declared war on me with no warning at turn 20, without even going hostile beforehand. Turn 20! Of course you’re going to win by doing that, you dick, you started with a bloody swarm of free units while I only have a couple.

    And it’s a problem across the board with the leaders. It’s not just the folks like Monty, Odo and the ever-fickle Catherine – I even had Gandhi turn hostile on me extremely early in a game even on one of the lower levels. Gandhi! What the heck, isn’t he supposed to be the peaceful guy?

    So seriously, what’s up? Whatever happened to the grace period of several dozen turns in previous Civ games? Sure some of the AI’s should be aggressive later on, but letting them all turn hostile or declare war in the extremely early game just makes them all out to be total dickheads.

    Especially on the higher levels, you need at least a small grace period have a chance at catching up to the AI’s insane bonuses. It’s supposed to be a challenge, not half the time an automatic “immediately send all our free unit hoards to crush the human”. What kind of fun is that? You may as well just add in a piece of code on the high levels that randomly comes up with a “You Lose, Try Again!” screen half the time when you start a new game.

    Please, bring back the grace period to give some semblance of a fair game on the high levels, and make some of the AI’s less aggressive to stop them all seeming like generic warmongering morons.
     
  3. Mr.Vassal

    Mr.Vassal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I forgot one. :(

    • In the city screen, X focus (food, production, gold, etc.) doesn't seem to actually optimize your city's focus. I found that clicking production focus, then another focus, then production focus again usually resulted in different production amounts. Same for the other focuses. In larger cities it got so inconsistent I had to manually mark tiles to work. Oftentimes the default focus was better than any of the other focuses. Clicking a focus should optimize that city to produce the maximum amount of that commodity, including making citizens specialists if the city can support that.
      • On a related note, there doesn't seem to be a way to deselect a citizen from working a specific tile once you click it (and it get's the lock symbol). Anyone know a way?


    Mr.Vassal
     
  4. ClasuSiosa

    ClasuSiosa Thespian of the Sword

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Tol-in-Gaurhoth
    Definatly need to be able to manually control individual citizens.
     
  5. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I hit the "Reset Tiles" button which appears at the bottom of the citizen control box, which seems to work. Still a bit messy though, obviously a lot of work to be done there.

    Indeed. Fighting barbarians (outside of encampments) for them gives a rather useless boost too - only +5 influence. It should be at least 10, 5 is nothing. Also, the city states don't seem to care if you fight barbarians close to their territory, only within it - so you end up deliberately waiting for the barbarians to enter their territory before fighting them. A bit silly that they're completely ungrateful for you killing half a dozen barbarians before they can enter the city state's borders.
     
  6. jacyp

    jacyp Winter Lover

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Vitória (ES) - Brasil
    The worse part you didn't mention. It's the fact that STILL we can defeat them more than 50% of the times, even with their free units, when they do that.

    The AI is a warmonger and a very stupid one.
     
  7. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Indeed. That part had already been mentioned over and over again, so I didn't bother repeating it at the time. However, I agree it's certainly very stupid in its warmongering.

    Aggression needs turning down, and intelligence needs turning up.
     
  8. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Just another example of AI idiocy in my current Immortal game:

    Elizabeth asked me to join her war against Ramesses. I agreed, and helped her eliminate Ramesses.

    Immediately after Ramesses has been eliminated, Liz says that my troops are worryingly close to her borders. No duh, dumbass, I just helped you eliminate the enemy on your borders. Aren't you supposed to be a little more grateful towards me?

    The very next turn, Liz comes to speak again with the quip, "I just noticed how pathetic you are", and turns hostile. You stupid jackass, what kind of friend are you?

    I subsequently declared war on Liz and got rid of her pathetic empire in a few measly turns. But still, this highlights the incredibly broken AI diplomacy. Going in 2 turns from "thank you for helping in our war" to "get away from my borders" to "I hate you" is just dumb.

    Fix it, Firaxis.
     
  9. Arkymedes

    Arkymedes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    France
    I don't know if it was mentioned before, but what about a rally point for new units? Or maybe I don't know how to do it?
     
  10. beestar

    beestar subdeity

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    BUG: Tile buying has different costs depending on which city you start from.

    If the same hex is within the BFH of two different cities, it's cheap to buy if you do it from the city screen of the closer city, and expensive to buy if you do it from the farther city's city screen.

    This is a bit stupid.
     
  11. subanark

    subanark Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    WA
    1. I noticed that if I order a unit to move into fog of war over another unit which leads into enemy territory (that your not at war with or have open borders with), will cause your until to stack with that other unit that could be of a different civ.

    2. In order to get credit for killing bars near their city, you have to kill them within their territory. Which, if using a melee unit will result in possibly losing rep for trespassing.

    3. City states can capture another civ's city, which causes them to have more than one city (they should probably just ransack the city, like the barbs).

    4. City states are way too powerful, and the AI will often underestimate their power.

    5. A civ only considers if it is winning or losing a battle based on how big its army is compared to yours. I've taken 2 cities before, and the civ then wanted me to pay an arm and a leg for peace. Military power calculations should probably take promotions into account, as a well promoted until is quite powerful considering there is no stacking.

    6. Knights are far too effective in conquering cities.

    7. Puppet states are too powerful, to the point where many valid strategies include building very few of your own cities and simply waiting for your opponent to build one to conquer. I would think you should be able to make your own "colonies" that act like puppet cities.

    8. some unit abilities are represented as promotions and can be kept when the unit is upgraded (e.g. the Aztec UU warrior's cannibalism)

    9. As with the previous one, ruins can upgrade a scout to an archer who keeps the ignore terrain movement cost (this lets you kite a unit though rough terrain). However, if you didn't keep that promotion, it can be bad as a scout is potentially more valuable for scouting. I would recommend simply giving scouts a chunk of xp instead.
     
  12. Bernd-das-Brot

    Bernd-das-Brot Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    First thanks to the guy starting and maintaining this list. Good thing to have such a "centralized" issue list.

    Now here are the things I would like to see changed in the game (and which are not on the list now):

    UI:

    Option to just highlight one kind of ressources (strategic or luxury, the bonus ressources are only distracting from the important ones.)

    Explanation of unit maintenance in the unit/military advisor.

    Results of combat in AIs turns disappear way too fast (and can not be looked after later?)

    Possibility to look at the city screen of a conquered city before to decide what to do with it.

    Possibility to look(!) at the city screen of your own puppets.

    BUGS:
    Upgraded units still have promotions/abilities that are only meant to be on their former unit type, especially on upgraded special units. (War-chariot to knight, knight has malus for difficult terrain or chinese crossbowmen to riflemen who can attack two times in a row and so on.)

    Saw a destroyer in a landlocked city (without even a lake) one time.

    Sometimes the numbers how many planes are on a carrier stay on ocean tiles on which the carrier was some rounds before.

    Had never ending science agreement and ressource trading with England. (Foreign screen said it had ended in turn 150, but I never get a tech and couldn't make any new agreements because i still had one.)

    GAMEPLAY and AI:

    No 33% penalty for units defending open ground!
    It gives the attacker a huge advantage that leads to very strange results: An infantry (Strength 36) attacking a mechanized Infantry (Strength 50) on a plain tile (-33% for the defender) fights on nearly the same level. (Why?) If it was the other way round (the mech. inf. attacking) it would be a pushover (50 against 24). Makes absolutely no sense to me and it hits the AI especially hard because it doesnt place its units as good as human players.

    No terrain-boni (from shock and drill) when attacking cities. It makes city conquering too easy and nearly obselets the city attacker promotions.

    Remove instant-healing promotion.

    AI should concentrate its attacks on one/few units and try to destroy them in one turn and not deliever a bit damage to many units. As it is now a careful player loses way too few units.

    No suicid attacks of the AI. (Wounded spearman attacks fresh swordsman entrenched on a hill, loosing 10:1 and the like. Happens regularly.)

    AI builds too few mounted units, even if it has no iron! (In five games i have seen nearly no mounted units, except special units.)

    When razing a city...
    - no question what to build there.
    - no unhappiness for the city if i had annexed it.
    - no city growth for a burning city (yes, city gets food and can grow while it burns!)

    Better building AI for puppets. its okay that the puppets make no ideal decisions, but building barracks and armories (which can't be used) before monuments or libraries is plain stupid.

    AI should focus its city founding more on getting iron in the early phase of the game.

    AI should focus more in upgrading units. I have seen infantry fighting side by side with swordsmen and pikeniers (often) and even warriors. I think the AI would do better if it had a bit less units but only up to date ones, so shifting their boni from maintenance or production to cheap-nearly free upgrading would help.

    The peaceful AIs should focus more on building an army or founding cities. (I have seen Gandhi and Ramesses never founding a second city or building anything except the early wonders until the middle ages. And that was on immortal. Like now they are just a bonus for the human player or any normal ai and i have not seen that they survive the middle ages.)

    Remove the feature citystates waging an "endless war" (Stadtstaaten-Dauerkriege) against a civ. (Leads to the strange situation that you have to annihilate another civ if you want to protect one of your allied citystates because you cannot force them to make peace even if the attacking civ is losing the war.)

    The amount of popularity(?) you get when gifting gold to a city state should be changed. (If you gift 250 you often become a friend for one round. You gift 500 and become ally for one round. Same for the AI. I often see the message "civ is allied with x" and "civ no more allied with x" on the same turn.)

    The costs of science agreements (Forschungsabkommen) should change more. In the early phase you pay 250 gold for a technology worth 50-150 beakers. Later you pay 350 for technologies worth 3000+. Range of costs should be like 100-2000 gold.

    Ship to ship combat damage is too low. (I need 4 destroyers to sink a frigate in one round.)

    Ships (except battleship/cruiser) should have a range of one. They can fire too far in land for my taste.

    It sholuld be possibile to have units of non-enemy nations on the same tile, at least civil ones. So tiles could not be blocked except in war times. (Annoying example was a foreign settler standing on an oil tile in one of my allied city states preventing the building of a well for 30 rounds or so. And except war I would have no possibility to remove it.)
     
  13. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    I am pretty sure that is by design. I think probably it works better that way, even if it's a tad annoying.
    You can at least disable the automatic unit cycling. There's a small mod that does it here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=9736239&postcount=25

    Can you post any screenshots of this happening? I have not once seen the AI pick different tiles for the one type of emphasis, and I fiddle around with this part of the game alot. Heck I probably spend half of my time in the game in that screen. :eek:

    I suspect you were somehow accidentally removing citizens form tiles (making them unemployed) or locking citizens to tiles to get the undesired effect you were observing. It's a bit tedious when you accidentally lock a tile you didn't intend to because you have to reset and start over, but it should be possible to get consistent results from the governor and I can't help but think you're doing something slightly wrong here.
     
  14. Knorp

    Knorp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hi there, first post on a great thread :)

    Unit events (dammage/heal/xp) seem to pile up and display all at once when you're not looking at a particular unit for many turns.

    Example:
    I leave a scout fortified ("alert") on a tile next to ocean; an enemy trireme (not barb) begins range shooting it, so it "wakes up", i'm beeing notified and the camera focuses on it. I don't really care about this scout, as I got loads of gold and I'm at a late stage of a quick chieftain game with plenty of useful units : I leave it alert and taking damage (1 each turn).
    After a few turns I decide the scout will live (he's got eyes on a small strategic piece of ocean after all), and ask it to heal. Woohoo great, it stops notifying me every turn while still being shot at :) Then I just don't pay attention at all for many turns, nor do I look at that particular location of the map. When I finally have a look at the scout, all the +1 dmg / -1 dmg and a few +n xp notifications display all at once, which is kind of useless or at least hardly readable.

    Will try to get a screenshot of that.
     
  15. GKling

    GKling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    To the OP, thank you for maintaining this centralized and sane list of suggested improvements and fixes for the developers.

    I did not see in section 5 (Multiplayer) a feature I miss most of all: Bring back Hotseat play!

    Thanks.
     
  16. Kilmir

    Kilmir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Not sure if this is a bug or not:

    City states often ask the player to attack other city states as their "quest". When I did this 3 times on a huge map (24 city states) all City states which weren't my ally became permanent at war with me.


    Also, I've had a City State issue a quest to connect my Capital to theirs. Which would be reasonable if that City State wasn't on another continent.
     
  17. LegioCorvus

    LegioCorvus Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I can confirm this.

    Unfortunately, I do not have screens, as I'm giving myself a 3-month wait period to see if they game/bugs improve.

    But, yes, I've often found that with larger cities, changing from one type of production then another and back will usually yield different and often better results. He's also right in that switching to default focus after that, for whatever reason, will then offer the best results.

    Possible confounds are that I only usually switch production when I need gold or quickly build something, so it's not often. I imagine spending a lot of time in that screen will not produce the same results.
     
  18. JBConquests

    JBConquests Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    North Dakota, US
    How about moving at least a little of this agressiveness to the easier skill levels - I have played 4 games on Prince and never once been declared war on. I am getting tired of playing peaceful games and I don't like to initiate wars.

    I guess I should move up to a harder skill level.
     
  19. blackhawks2010

    blackhawks2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Darien
    I enjoy the game a lot but I am disappointed with the lack of choice in Civ leaders. They have the "Must Haves" like Washington and Montezuma, but I miss when you could choose others, like Peter or Stalin or whoever. I do not know why, aesthetics perhaps? One way or another, I enjoy it very much but I hope they patch the issues and add things. By the way, fantastic thread. Lots of good information I did not even notice.
     
  20. guspasho

    guspasho Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    It was a nice feature that offered more variety that I miss, that Stalin was Industrious when Peter was Creative, or whatever.
     

Share This Page