1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[CIV 5 Issues] - The complete list

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by poncratias, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yeah, this one particularly annoys me. You can't tell how much gold, research and culture they're contributing at any given time. You can't even tell if they're worth annexing before you make the decision. What's up with that?

    Yeah, this doesn't seem to make sense to me either. Defence bonuses for forest and hill tiles are fine, but having a defence penalty for plains (especially such an extreme one) is silly. Previous versions of civ realised this, why not Civ5?

    Civ3: +10% defence on plains
    Civ4: 0% defence on plains
    Civ5: -33% defence on plains

    What's up with that?

    Hmm, I didn't realise these applied, but that would explain why I'm able to 3-shot cities after a few promotions with my Horsemen... thought something was a bit off about that. This should definitely be fixed.

    Totally agree. I mentioned the exact same thing earlier.

    Now that you mention it, I don't think I've seen the AI build mounted units (aside from Egyptian Chariots) either. Kind of odd especially since Horsemen are so overpowered as they currently are in Civ5.

    This has been bugging me too. If puppets are intended to never build units, then at least disable them from wasting their time building the unit-boosting buildings.

    I disagree in this case. The amount of influence you get with city states per gold seems about right (and decreases over time, by the way). It's the bonuses that city states provide which need to be nerfed. (And possibly the AI needs to make more of an effort to maintain its city state allies.)

    Absolutely agree here. It's stupid that you pay 200 gold for a technology worth roughly that amount early on, then pay 300-350 gold for a technology worth ten times that in the later game. Makes it far too easy to jump right to the end of the tech tree very quickly when you have a big map with a lot of civs.

    Absolutely. Workers/Settlers/Great Generals really shouldn't block each other from tiles. Or at the very least, friendly military units should not block your Workers from improving tiles (because your own military units don't).

    This has actually been the same in every initial version of Civ so far. The standard in the past has been to start with 16-18 civs in the first version of the game, then add 6-10 more civs with each expansion (and a few extra leaders in some cases). I'm sure this is what will happen with Civ5, so I wouldn't worry about never having any more leaders to choose from. :)
     
  2. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    I was just going to post this myself. I am playing Haiwatha and I have a UB Longhouse that gives a bonus to every forest tile.

    Well I just took Athens from Alexander as a puppet until I finish conquering him. It is located in the middle of a desert and it starts building the Longhouse with no forest in sight for a dozen or more tile.

    Just silly.
     
  3. nascarfan999

    nascarfan999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    I understand the idea behind behind doing this, but I also agree that the penalty is too steep. In previous games, it was easy to amass a very large army, which encouraged the game to favor defenders in battle. With the new mechanics and balance, you have to have a small army (comparatively speaking) and can no longer throw 30-50 units at a city or opposing army at the same time. This makes you value each unit much more and more cautious in your attacks. The -33% defense works to counter-balance that change. Again, I see what they tried doing and like the concept, but -10% would have been more realistic.

    I am currently playing a Large Earth King Epic game and Ghandi had a good mix of "foot" units and knights during our recent war. It didn't help him win any more, but he still had them.

    I don't think what was being argued is that it should be easier to get the bonuses. What I think he means is that more often than not, when you give money (especially when the relationship was at 0 influence to begin with), the amount is just barely enough to become a friend or ally. Then, if you don't give another bunch of gold almost immediately you will lose that status within a couple of turns. Maybe instead of 250, 500, and 1000 gold, make the amount 100, 400, 700, and 1000 gold with the influence given. Whereas 250 right now tends to give you just enough to be friends, you could then give 400 and know you would be friends for several turns. Same goes with giving 700 instead of 500. Even "better" would be if they let you pick the amount of gold you give, but I don't like making that the case because it becomes too easy then.
     
  4. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Bare minimum fix to make AI defence slightly better:

    Force the AI to keep a ranged unit in every city.

    Also, perhaps Walls and Castles should give HP bonuses to cities. That would at least make them worth considering building (right now most players never bother).
     
  5. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    This thread has many excellent posts about things to fix. Especially the stuff like "per turn" deal abuse for instant free stuff before war... we're supposed to be moving on from Civ4, not going back to Civ3!

    Perhaps someone (a mod?) can link this thread to the first post, so it doesn't get lost? Thanks. :)
     
  6. guspasho

    guspasho Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Maybe they needed the engineer specialist.
     
  7. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    I didn't know that it provided a specialist. It doesn't say anywhere it supports a specialist, but neither do any of the other specialist buildings.




    Yield icons don't disappear when you turn them off except for the screen you are on. as soon as you scroll they are all still in the surrounding areas.

    as you can see in the picture, the far left have no yield icons, but the right side does.

    also, the print screen still isn't copying/pasting properly. The first one gets the intro movie, while the next few get a blank screen. This time I got 6 blank screens in a row before giving up. I went looking for the tga files the game makes and they saved them properly. just the copy/paste doesn't work properly.

    I download irfanview, but they don't show the preview of the pics in windows explorer, they only show the irfanview logo.

    Does anyone know of a .tga pic viewer that works with windows explorer preview?
     
  8. Mr.Vassal

    Mr.Vassal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Yeah, that makes sense. Still, if we can't raze them at least let us grant a captured city-state its independence after 10 turns or so, especially if it's in a bad spot resource-wise.

    Awesome! Thank you, sir!

    Here's something, but not the random resource thing. Three screenshots showing that production focus doesn't optimize for production. First shot is food focus. Second is production focus. Third is science focus. Both food and science focus have higher production (hammers) than production focus. For some reason production focus is filling all specialist slots in the city. Food and science don't.

    Food Focus
    Production Focus
    Science Focus

    I couldn't get the inconsistent resource shots. I know I wasn't imagining things, and all I was doing was clicking from one focus to the other. Maybe that only crops up after playing for a few hours. I'll post screenshots when/if I see them again.


    Mr.Vassal
     
  9. newt111

    newt111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Greece lost it's capital and was left with one city, a puppet it took from someone else. It could not annex it so couldn't train units or build buildings.
     
  10. jmjames707

    jmjames707 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I only read the first three pages... outta 20. LOL, but it confuses me that people would actually call this game legitimate.. when a new game comes out you should never consider playing the old one to satisfy your own hype/expectation...i have only owned the game for about a week... but it took alot for me to play it seeing as the only computer i have access to is a MAC... in any case long story short... I like this thread, DRASTIC changes should be made and i appreciate the attempt. Sadly i think im going to go back to playing CIV4
     
  11. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    In addition to the F12 being right next to the quick save F11, giving a risk of accidentally hitting the wrong button, even worse is that F12 used to be Civilopedia in the previous installments of Civilization.

    So, uhm, what's a Mint do again .... Civilopedia ... F12 .... !$&#*@% ... Quickload
     
  12. Enshara

    Enshara Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I have noticed that in C4 the borders expand rapidly which is great but not in C5, it takes ages and the ai also takes ages to expand and settle new cities and when they do its in the most arb places.
    Id really like to have an World War 2 Mod, with the entire planet, an extra extra huge map that would be awesome :D
    Also the time is really annoying, when i play i want to play for months on end, why, cause i want to, but the build times on marathon are way too epic, speeding up the building like it was possible in C3 would be nice and lengthening the turns like 5000bc to 4995bc to 4990bc ..... would lengthen the game, this means the research would be needed to adjusted to compensate for it, but id really like to play a game like that tbh
     
  13. Maxor127

    Maxor127 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    229
    A penalty for defending in open ground makes sense to me. You're open and exposed. Think of it as being ambushed. How are you going to defend yourself out in the open?

    I do think different units should have different advantages and disadvantages depending on the terrain though. For example, horsemen should have a penalty in forests and bonus in open tiles.
     
  14. Phorever Phalanx

    Phorever Phalanx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    IL, USA
    When you get an AI civ to essentially capitulate (give you all their gold, maybe a city), on the very next turn they often somehow have enough gold to sign a research treaty with another AI civ.
     
  15. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I think the problem may be that you have a Worker selected, which will automatically display tile yields in the area nearby regardless of whether you have them turned on or not. If you deselect the Worker (or select a military unit), the tile yields should disappear.
     
  16. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    It does it with any unit, and the worker has never displayed yield tiles previously when selected so that is another bug it seems. It is very random when they are displayed. I'll scroll across the map and it will be blocks of tiles being displayed/not displayed.

    I thought it was my computer, so I loaded my save to my other computer and it got worse.
     
  17. Ribusprissin

    Ribusprissin Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Minutemen don't travel faster on roads.
     
  18. Ktulu

    Ktulu Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    For no apparent reason two civs declare war on me. Centuries go by with no combat between any units at all. Then out of the blue Darius asks for peace gives me all his gold (about 100) and 5g per turn for 45 turns. WTF?

    Why declare war in the first place if you have no intention of attacking and then why give anything for peace when not a single unit has been in combat against each other?
     
  19. Jediron

    Jediron Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    That's CIV 5 complexity, some people talk about. It's fun :rolleyes:
     
  20. chaunceymo

    chaunceymo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    The AI controlling puppet cities should never, ever, EVER build the Apollo Program. I don't think they ever build other wonders, but that wouldn't be the end of the world. I just got the tech to build the AP in a game that I intended to win via spaceship, and one of my moron puppet cities that was surrounded by nothing but trading posts immediately started building the AP, with an estimated build time of 49 turns in a golden age (versus 16 turns in a nearby production city)! My only option was to annex the city to change its production, causing a happiness and civic cost hit.

    In a related note, it's inexcusable that the puppet city AI isn't smart enough to build a market and the other +gold buildings when it has been surrounded by trading posts for centuries.
     

Share This Page