1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ IV Live Streaming

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by TheMeInTeam, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,176
    Location:
    Orlando
    Hello forum!

    I'm testing out something a little less static (but nevertheless more blurry) than recorded let's plays:

    Live video. Per vicawoo's suggestion, I will be playing civ live for the most part when I play it (for a short while, and if it's liked longer), if anyone is interested.

    http://www.livestream.com/civiv

    My process for the time being will be to bump this thread when I'm playing a game.

    My machine can handle both just fine it seems so there's no reason to avoid doing in on the spec side. Maybe more popular/suggested videos can be split over to youtube also.

    This means you get to see some epic failures along with the good!
     
  2. Loki Strikes

    Loki Strikes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    510
    Interesting, will definitely watch, I learn a lot about warmongering from your games
     
  3. peapd

    peapd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Cool, watching now.

    Only thing is the audio is a tad, scratchy - missing half of some words, etc...

    This might be my internet, or it could mean a better mic?

    edit: can you turn off the game music?
     
  4. artificialj

    artificialj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    haha, this is hilarious
     
  5. vicawoo

    vicawoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,226
    Glad to see the software's working fine.
     
  6. mjg5591

    mjg5591 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Yes was really amazing watching. Shaka kept sending stack after stack.
     
  7. Zavior

    Zavior Trying to (b)eat deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Finland
    For those who dont know it yet, you CAN see these(at least some, if not all?) through the OnDemand button there. Just click on it, select the part you want to watch.. and there you go.
     
  8. BufordTJustice

    BufordTJustice Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Yes, I got the last three minutes, but it's a good idea! I also missed some words and half sentences. Maybe the micro, but his Youtube videos are fine. So, I guess it is the streaming...
     
  9. mjg5591

    mjg5591 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    I didn't know that. Thanks for the info.
     
  10. vicawoo

    vicawoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,226
    I'm sure you don't need to play faster, but you don't hotkey your early units?
     
  11. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,176
    Location:
    Orlando
    Is there a way to set hotkeys for them? I would certainly use hotkeys. I would be willing to memorize hotkeys for every building in the game and use them in tandem with alt, control, and shift to set up queues in 5 seconds.

    But if you mean assigning them to groups with control, I find that too much work for early units, and usually just alt-click some pattern.
     
  12. kossin

    kossin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    9,572
    Location:
    Canada
    To set it up: control+#(0-9), then just hit the number to bring it up.
    It also works in the city screen for a queued list and it is memorized from game to game from my experience.
     
  13. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,176
    Location:
    Orlando
    Yeah, I do do that but it's a bit of a pain for early units, I'll try it out.

    Speaking of which, BUMP for an hour or two of live streaming as of this post!
     
  14. Artichoker

    Artichoker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,711
    Better than reality TV!
     
  15. vicawoo

    vicawoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,226
    Episode 2: sneak attacks gone horribly wrong
     
  16. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,176
    Location:
    Orlando
    Starting IU Justinian now! No audio commentary at this time however...don't want to disturb things here too much at this time of day.
     
  17. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,176
    Location:
    Orlando
    Continuing on...now with audio commentary again :p.
     
  18. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,176
    Location:
    Orlando
    Now taking on noble's club victoria!
     
  19. DerBürokrat

    DerBürokrat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Europe
    Aaaah, missed it again.
    I really dislike the time difference between States/Europe... :wallbash:
     
  20. Bolddrengen

    Bolddrengen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Indeed those 6 hours hurt alot :)
     

Share This Page