1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ-specific titles

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Tigernose, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. Tigernose

    Tigernose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is regarding the title that each civilization in Civilization IV had, which was empire. I think it's just stupid to call each civilization an empire. I mean American Empire? Really? When did America have an empire?

    And honestly, Gandhi ruled the Indian Empire? Right...

    It's completely innacurate, especially in the context of some civilizations, where their title was emphasised as a significant part of their history, for example India becoming an independent nation and not a colony of an empire.

    It may seem small, but when the name is used so much in cross-civ dialogues and such, it kind of puts me off. In fact, it could go as far as being specific for every leader - especially in the context of India, for Gandhi being the leader of the newly formed independent nation, and Asoka being an emperor of the whole Indian subcontinent. I realise that there is only one leader per civ in CiV though, but could be useful if new leaders are found in expansions.

    It's a small change and it's nothing that's too much to ask Firaxis to implement is it? It may seem like it's a petty thing, but when you consider titles being a crucial part of some civilizations then it really adds up to the authenticy.
     
  2. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    The United States had a brief Imperial spurt in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Hawaii, Alaska, Cuba, Phillippines, Puerto Rico, Midway/Guam/Marianas/Marshalls/Palau, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Virgin Islands all are or were territorial possessions of the United States.

    ...and I don't believe Gandhi ever held official office of any kind, so complaining that his title is technically incorrect is of questionable merit.

    Back on point, I seem to recall in either CivII or CivIII one of the text-entry boxes allowed the player to customize his or her leader's title. Whether this is appropriate for CivV I guess depends on how the political/government element works, and we don't currently have very much information about that.
     
  3. Tigernose

    Tigernose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I was trying to use them as vague examples, I know that Gandhi was no leader (he did get India independent) but he didn't rule an Indian empire did he?
     
  4. Souron

    Souron The Dark Lord

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,947
    Location:
    (GMT-5)
    I don't recall what civ 3 had, but civ 2 had exactly the feature described in the OP: every government form had a pair of titles (male and female). There were default titles like "king", that each civ could override with it's own title like "pharaoh".

    With 21 civs, 2 genders, and 7 governments (including anarchy), making 294 possible labels, this worked well. With 17 civs, one leader per civ, and a government tree that does not lend itself to a simple breakup by titles, this may not be worth it. Still, it's a good idea.
     
  5. Provost Martin

    Provost Martin Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Historically an empire was a territory containing numerous nations, tribes or peoples. See the Roman Empire, or the British. Compared to a kingdom where you at least culturally had a fairly homogeneous population. It seems like Firaxis have dropped empire and are now just calling the nations Arabia, England, etc. I like that.
     
  6. GigaNerd

    GigaNerd His Nerdiness

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Violet City, Johto
    I hope we'll see something like the "Dynamic Civ-Names" mod for Civ4: your nation's title changed depending on your government system and/or other factors.

    With the new Social Policies system, we could have some awesome possibilities here! For example...
    • A Facist Dictatorship - Führer (e.g. Hitler, Führer of Germany)
    • A European Confederacy - Chancellor (e.g. Chancellor Otto von Bismarck)
    • Middle-Eastern w/ Deitification of Ruler - Pharoah (e.g. Pharoah Ramesses II)
    • A Direct Democracy - President (e.g. President Washington)
    • An Indigenous-American City State - Tlatoani (e.g. Montezuma, Tlatoani of Tenochtitlan)
     
  7. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    He was murdered.
     
  8. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    29,836
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Maybe someone here should take a look at the dynamic civ names in Rhyse & Fall or in RevDCM.
    They do exactly this, IIRC, with some variations.
     
  9. Centurio

    Centurio Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    The Roman Heartlands
    I was just about to XML edit civ-specific names to all the 'empires' in Civ IV...

    But yes, I agree with you completely on that. Mods like Rhye's and Fall also made those sorts of changes.
     
  10. Tigernose

    Tigernose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need to re-educate me, I'm trying to use him as an example, it's the best I can think of. Him being murdered after independence doesn't have anything to do with what I'm saying.
     
  11. Tigernose

    Tigernose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Dynamic Civ-titles would be exactly what I wanted, but I thought it'd be too much of an ask for Firaxis. However, this should be implemented as well!
     
  12. GigaNerd

    GigaNerd His Nerdiness

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Violet City, Johto
    Then ask the modders! They've been known to do tremendously amazing and revolutionary things that Firaxis is just too lazy to attempt. Seriously, Fall from Heaven?!? :lol:
     
  13. fdgsgds

    fdgsgds Mustard Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    The Empire State
    Yea, really. Why don't they have dynamic civ names (Republic of whatever; the blah blah blah Tribe; The Empire of ...) RFC has it, and it shouldn't really be hard to make for Firaxis. Slapping the title of empire onto every single civ is wrong.
     

Share This Page