1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ3 PTW Patch v1.14f Released!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Thunderfall, Nov 26, 2002.

  1. Lt. 'Killer' M.

    Lt. 'Killer' M. Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    7,475
    your words in Gods bulla auditiva :lol:
     
  2. Paragon

    Paragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    11 seconds ;-)
     
  3. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Playing in the future era means that you start with ALL the techs already researched.
     
  4. Godinex

    Godinex Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    Somewhere in the World
    It would be very very nice to could add new eras, techs and units after the modern age.
     
  5. alamo

    alamo bang!

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Texas
    Looks like a fix on the group move bug I noticed.

    I might actually try MP now. How many chieftains are online?
    ;)

    I may just have to change the old sig line.
     
  6. Essex

    Essex Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Vancouver
    You were able to play MP on dialup? Wow!
     
  7. Santanz Child

    Santanz Child Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    yup i dled it last night and it
    me and the person i played with both pinged at 500 and it ran just about as fast as it does when i play in single player mode not quite but almost and that was on turnless mode

    I think firaxes has redemed its self a good bit with the size and quality of this patch though i will definatly wait a few days before buying any of there products again just to make sure
     
  8. -proletarian-

    -proletarian- Chairman and CEO

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    the land of milk and honey, Canada.

    :eek:


    Are you SERIOUS?

    Wow.....-can't wait to try it with his DSL line-

    I tried to play MP twice last night, both times it crashed before the game started. And this was with the new patch.

    :confused:

    Ah well, there's always tonight. I'll give it another shot. :goodjob:
     
  9. Suave

    Suave Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Can someone tell me exactly what steps to do to HOST a Direct IP game. I see how to join one, but how do you set it up to be the host of one. In Civ II it was one of your host options, and then told you what your IP was so you could pass it on to others. I can't figure it out on this one.
     
  10. Sultan Bhargash

    Sultan Bhargash Trickster Reincarnated

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    7,608
    Location:
    Missing The Harem
    Does anyone know whether installing the patch will in any way disturb an existing PBEM game? (of if one player doesn't have the patch does that effect how it impacts the other players who do?)

    I can't install till Saturday :(
     
  11. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,209
    Gender:
    Male
    If a player in your PBEM doesn't have the patch, just tell him to download it. There is no reason not to install the patch.

    1.14f internet play is at least 10x better than 1.04. (This is not to say it's perfect. There are still some bugs such as the chat text wrap bug.)
     
  12. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Future era: when you are researching future techs.
     
  13. Dan Magaha FIRAXIS

    Dan Magaha FIRAXIS Firaxian

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Hunt Valley MD
    Just start a local game. Anyone who enters your IP address will be able to connect. I do not think GameSpy games work as well for direct IP connections.

    If you don't know what your IP address is, try this:

    http://www.whatismyip.com/


    Dan
     
  14. wtiberon

    wtiberon One man who stands alone

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Pinehurst NC
    Could someone help a non tech PTW fan. I'm trying to play the multiplayer with the new patch but it tells me that either I'm behind a firewall or the host is. I'm guessing after a couple times its me. I read the Read me to see what ports I need open but I have no Idea how to do this. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  15. Fëanor

    Fëanor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,626
    Location:
    Nirvana
    After I install the patch I got an error box saying I have to insert the Civ3 PtW disc. But the disc is in the drive! i surfed to some other civilization forums and i noticed that the only ones with this problem are DUTCH people............. WHAT CAN I DO?
     
  16. cromagnon

    cromagnon Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    NY, NY
  17. flyingninja57

    flyingninja57 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    I downloaded the patch and now some of my scenarios won't work. I load them to play and Start screen become all jumbled with words switched around. For example when I pick a civ to play the cancle button now says "Rare". Furthermore, when I get back to the main screen all the choices have been changed. Hall of fame is replaced with Insert Play the World CD. Any one else have this trouble?

    Ninja
     
  18. joespaniel

    joespaniel Unescorted Settler

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,260
    Location:
    The Old Pueblo
    17 seconds... :mwaha:

    Now all I want to know is when do we get to play against Thunderfall in MP?

    :satan:
     
  19. cromagnon

    cromagnon Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    NY, NY
    Well, it's official: I will not get to try out the new patch until after Thanksgiving. I only discovered it this morning (don't ask me what I was doing last night - it's not appropriate for these fora:goodjob:), downloaded it (12 seconds, for you speed freaks:cool: ), and then had to go to work for the next 13 hours. And tonight is out because of travel plans.:cry:
     
  20. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    I've played TF in MP. :)
     

Share This Page