1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5 available for preload on Steam - NOW (September, 13th)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by mjs0, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    As mentioned in a previous post in this thread, I put in a ticket with D2d about Steam's preload occurring right after it started happening. All I said was that Steam users are preloading NOW and would D2D be offering preload.

    ...is from the email I got in response to the support ticket I submitted to D2D about the Steam preload.

    I'll fully believe it when I'm dowloading, but hey, there's hope!
     
  2. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thanks Zhahz, and everyone who sent a ticket! I sent one also, but enough of us did, or they were planning on doing it all along!
     
  3. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    Thanks for letting us know about the D2D response, sounds like they're letting the steam uses pre-load before others get a chance to.
     
  4. JasX

    JasX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    yup, all the detractors insisting preloading was definitely a 'steam customer exclusive' feature nobody else would be be allowed or should even think about complaining about seem to have gone suspiciously quiet.... ;P

    good stuff D2D for starting to move in a positive direction on pre-loading.

    Thanks everyone who chased D2D towards some action too.... if nobody asks these things don't happen :)
     
  5. kaltorak

    kaltorak Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,522
    Location:
    Madrid
    I preordered from steam instead any other without even checking the bonuses just because of this. I knew other companies may have a predownload, or maybe not. But I was pretty sure steam would have one.
     
  6. Szpilman

    Szpilman Void Co. Chairman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Cola
    Dinosaur = Super Secret Unit
    It can be upgraded to Godzilla to fight the Megaz.. er.. GDR.
     
  7. paragonae

    paragonae Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Got my D2D activation code, preloading... :goodjob: (deluxe edition)
     
  8. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    And there was much rejoicing. Same.
     
  9. bhavv

    bhavv Glorious World Dictator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,358
    Meh, I'm thinking of canceling my order for the boxed CE at £49.99 and getting the steam digital deluxe instead.

    £10 less, babylon, and pre load, plus the boxed CE will likely end up going really cheap later on if I really want it.
     
  10. Trine

    Trine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    So out of curiosity... Will the game be unlocked on monday at midnight? (Technically the start of tuesday.) And if so, what time zone is Steam basing this on?
     
  11. gstommylee

    gstommylee Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    no midnight launch. Civ 5 will unlock 10am Eastern time or 7am pacific.
     
  12. Dark_Jedi06

    Dark_Jedi06 "Deus ex Machina."

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,399
    Gender:
    Male
    So much for my all-nighter...:p
     
  13. bernlin2000

    bernlin2000 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    Florida
    If you looked at the d2d site for pre-order (not sure if it still says so) it said 10AM PST, so I've gotten a full 3 hours extra play time now :D. DL'ing at 150 kB/s (my crappy dsl's limit pretty much) so I should have the game downloaded by....monday :p
     
  14. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm glad the times changed also, if I had to wait until 1pm est I would have been pissed! 10 is a good time for me to wake up, have coffee, and then stare at the screen as the minutes tick by ;)
     
  15. Dasphios

    Dasphios Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    I'd point out that none of the times given should be in Standard time; the entirety of both the eastern and pacific zones are on Daylight time, and will be until November. Anyway, D2D now has it at 10 am EDT on Tuesday (for those in North America).
     
  16. JasX

    JasX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    woot.... :)

    ...now the only thing that sucks is I live in europe and will have to amuse myself with the demo for the first 3 days :/
     
  17. Shafi-is-back

    Shafi-is-back Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Been downloading for 13 hours.

    81% done ... 839Mb to go .... :crazyeye:

    downloading at some real crappy speeds ... man do i have to be living in Bangladesh right now ... couldnt i be in singapore or HK or someplace ... bah :cry:
     
  18. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    hi, please help me with Steam, I am new to it...

    I made my pre-download. OK.
    It is on drive C.

    I may have a new windows installation on drive C next week.
    What is best to do after it?

    Can I before it do a copy of the civ5 folder to drive D,

    and when done with the new windows,
    and installed steam again to drive C,
    then copy back the downloaded civ5 folder back to its exact place (Steam.../Common)...?

    Is it OK?
    Or should I download again the whole stuff?
     
  19. gstommylee

    gstommylee Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    I recommend having steam itself be on another drive other than the C: if possible.

    But yes you can copy it to another folder then recopy it back.
     
  20. Dark_Jedi06

    Dark_Jedi06 "Deus ex Machina."

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,399
    Gender:
    Male
    After a very long and very slow download process, Civ V is officially on my hard-drive.

    Hoorah. :goodjob:
     

Share This Page