1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Converted Civilization 2 WWII scenario

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by MiChello, Mar 29, 2004.

  1. MiChello

    MiChello De la Boucle

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    @Serutan

    I'm glad you like the scenario, and I especialy like the fact you tried to improve it. If only more people would tweak scenario's, better scenario's would evolve. :thumbsup:

    The number of turns in my version was exactly the same as in the original scenario. But since civilization II had a 2 month turn system, the final year of the scenario differs.
     
  2. Serutan

    Serutan Eatibus Anythingibus

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,542
    Location:
    Baja Arizona
    Ah, OK. I had forgotton about that; I was going by the
    end date.
     
  3. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,332
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Impressive! :crazyeye: There's nothing like getting back to basics after a hard day's slack :p EXTRA SPECIAL thanks for converting this particular artifact.

    Certainly is different from Civ2 in playability, but that's something I can mend myself.

    Great job :goodjob:
     
  4. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,332
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    With the permission of MiChello, I have been working on another update to the WWII conversion. Version 2.1 reworks units and technologies to parallel those of Civ2 (with some Civ3 features left in, of course) and gives the user some eyecandy. It does NOT, however, feature a pleasant advisor tech tree or a solution to the Germans razing France.

    You will need Conquests v1.22 and World War II extras for PTW to use this update.

    Link to Version 2.1 everything.

    Link to Version 2.11 biq; corrects the helicopter so it will attack ground units.
     
  5. TheLoneMan

    TheLoneMan The Original Reindeer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Seattle
    Fantasticality.

    It is a word.
     
  6. Lapoleon

    Lapoleon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    In other WW2 scenarios they solved the razing of cities by placing a "Paris wonder" in Paris, a "Berlin wonder" in Berlin and so on for every city, this way, the AI tends to spare the cities.
     
  7. Bluewolf

    Bluewolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    So you put all files in the scenarios folder?
     
  8. Ack!

    Ack! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    I'm getting an error message when I try to run v2.0. It says something is missing from a .txt file -- something to do with the Alpine Soldier unit, apparently. It exits following the message. Any help?:confused:
     
  9. ftsmith0

    ftsmith0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    ftsmith ar
    when I tried to try it out I received this message: missing entry in "text\pedial cons.txt" animname-prto-alpine-troops. can someone help with this? I would love to try it out.
     
  10. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,332
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Sorry to have left people in the dark. The simple answer would be to ask if you had downloaded the main files, however the link appears to be broken.

    MiChello does not log on frequently, but I'll see if I can re-package the core files from what I have.
     
  11. KleineHenkie

    KleineHenkie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The link to the 'main files' doesnt work anymore, now I can't play this scenario, does anybody have the 'main files' ?

    The main files link is placed at the first page, 7th post. The other files do work, but the 'main files' don't. The link was http://www.civfanatics.net/uploads9/MiChello::s_WWII.zip
     
  12. Light-Giver

    Light-Giver Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    nice map but wasn't the Maginot Line bigger than that?
     
  13. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,332
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Yes it was. Blame Micropr- er, Firaxis.
     
  14. Johnobrow

    Johnobrow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Now that is annoying! I loved this scenario on Civ II but I fear I shan't be able to play this - The link to main files does not work! NOOOOOO!

    Anyone offer me any help?
     
  15. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    I have been trying to download your main file and keep getting the file not found error message. Has something happened to the link?
     
  16. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,332
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Yep.

    MiChello visits sparingly. I'll try re-packaging the original files this week.
     
  17. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    Looks awsome!!!:goodjob:
     
  18. Maximilian

    Maximilian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    I downloaded the 2.11 and it keeps crashing after saying it can't find the file churchill all.pcx

    Is your dl missing a file?
     
  19. Maximilian

    Maximilian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    And when I make my own fake copy of Churchill all.pcx it STILL crashes at random spots when i look at civpedia or tech tree due to random missing pictures... sorry but so far due to this the older version is better.
     
  20. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,332
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Yeah, I took a look and the files must've been corrupted.
    Looks like I have some repairwork to do... :badcomp:
     

Share This Page