1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Crashes, Crashes and More Crashes

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Technical Support' started by ThunderLizard2, Apr 24, 2021.

  1. Chefofrats

    Chefofrats Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    The Cardboard Country
    Well, Civ is the only game I play on my computer, everything else is on PS5. Anyway, I'm not saying I love this solution, but it works, so I'm sharing it.
     
  2. Apaco

    Apaco Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Only thing that works for me is to do a manually save before each turn. If I dont do it it freezes after everything from 2-10 turns. Extremely frustrating
     
  3. Clubber Lang

    Clubber Lang Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    236
    Gender:
    Male
    Civ 6 (with mods) is the most crashiest game i have ever played.
     
  4. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    962
    Gender:
    Male
    It’s bizarre how stable it is, comparatively speaking on console

    Of course compared to other console games it is by far the crashiest game I own, and I got the MCC and every Bethesda title at launch

    That is quite the achievement

    *mic drop*
     
  5. Clubber Lang

    Clubber Lang Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    236
    Gender:
    Male
  6. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Civ6 addict

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Gender:
    Male
    "Crashes, Crashes and More Crashes"
    ...and I must add: ...and even more crashes
    I have a good computer and every other software runs fine. But no Civ6 game without several crashes since about last September.
    And this is the FINAL state of the game, after years of development. Quite sad.
     
  7. Leucarum

    Leucarum Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    1,299
    Gender:
    Male
    I've been having tonnes of crashes with the huge TSL map. Pretty much unable.to go past 50 turns. Other huge maps are fine and I have disabled all mods... Still happening...
     
  8. King Rad

    King Rad Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Has anyone noticed a change in launch time lately? Until a few days ago, when I would start the game, the 'loading' indicator across the bottom of the 2K launcher screen would make several 'trips' across the screen before the game really appeared to start loading. Then it changed. Now it doesn't even make one sweep and the game starts loading. I can't tell if it's any quicker after that point, but I never really had a problem before with actual load time anyway. However, I have had crashes, like several have mentioned, but only since the April update, and my experience is the opposite of @Alaindor's . I never had the game crash or hang up before the last patch, but when it does, it generally is just an endless turn, not an outright crash. Right now I'm playtesting, and I'm into some 200 turns with no problem [knock on wood], although I never tended to generally have problems at the beginning of the game anyway. Before the change, I've had a couple of times where the game stopped and indicated a graphics problem, sometimes failing to open; but that also has not happened since the change in launch time. Before, I tried to remember to do a quick save at the end of each turn, but it seems that the only time it crashed was when I would forget to do so. Anyway, I hope the issue has been resolved. One time this week, I thought it was going to freeze [black screen was showing] but after hitting 'escape' a time or two, it continued with no problem. So right now, I'm not trying to do quick saves at the end of every turn, and I will see if there appears to be any more problems.
     
    Builderphile likes this.
  9. ThunderLizard2

    ThunderLizard2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Still no word from devs about fixing these constant crashes. Maybe they've moved onto Civ VII?
     
  10. Dedrytus

    Dedrytus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    I have no crashes at all after disabling launcher and switching to win 11. Propably it is just coincidence or dev version of windows is without crashes at this moment. They will add them to final relase ;-)
     
  11. Warmoonger

    Warmoonger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Messages:
    44
    I have tried bypassing launcher, dx 11 and dx12, no mods, no auto saves, updated graphics drivers, fullscreen and borderless windows. It still crashes randomly on next turn.

    Is there anyone who can honestly say they don't have ANY crashes between turns? ...because I would really like to know your set up.

    Thanks.
     
  12. DizzKneeLand33

    DizzKneeLand33 Fall from Heaven 2 still rocks

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Kansas City
    The issues I had for this were solved once I went to Microsoft Support and followed killing all startup programs (besides Microsoft). Apparently the launcher took over my computer. After that, it's been fine ever since.

    Don't know if this will help, but I bet it has to do with the start-up program spam.

    EDIT: Sorry, to directly answer your question, not a *single* crash between turns ever since, even with a good number of mods.
     
  13. Warmoonger

    Warmoonger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks, but launcher is already bypassed :rolleyes:

    Killing startup programs is not a good solution - does that include antivirus? No other game I have played in the last 10 years has required me to do such a thing - it is not a reasonable expectation.
     
  14. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
  15. Warmoonger

    Warmoonger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Messages:
    44
    Aristos, do you not experience ANY next turn crashes?

    I only ask because I have seen a lot of players posting in steam forums saying crashing is not a problem because it only happens rarely, and they are happy to reload. Stability of a program is important, and nobody should be enabling bad practice - they need to be called out for it. It is not acceptable .
     
  16. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    To be honest, and as much as I criticize Civ 6, I have rarely seen a crash, not lately anyways. Of course, I did not run the stupid launcher even once, as soon as I knew they released such monstrosity, I immediately researched how to get rid of it before launching the game.
     
    Elhoim likes this.
  17. Warmoonger

    Warmoonger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Messages:
    44
    So 'rarely' - ie you do have crashes. Bypassing the launcher does not stop crashes. It might be the cause of some crashes, but the game still crashes on next turn. Just go and look at the steam forum page and see how many people are experiencing crashes. It can't be explained by people having something wrong with their pc.

    The game never once crashed for me in four years before the April patch. And now I get the same crash as everyone else. Sure, I could ignore it because it is rare and I can reload and continue but I expect better. There is absolutely no excuse for not prioritizing crash issues in popular software. I am angry at firaxis, and I am also angry at the apologists who enable them.
     
  18. DizzKneeLand33

    DizzKneeLand33 Fall from Heaven 2 still rocks

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Kansas City
    @Aristos after some patch in June I can't get that process to work anymore (bypassing the launcher) -- it still launches with the launcher. That's why I suggested the other method (the game went to a place where it was literally hard crashing my entire Win 10 system until eliminating the startup bloat -- and I agree, it's irresponsible for any game to do this).

    If there is a way to newly bypass the launcher let me know, I'm game.
     
  19. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,417
    I very rarely suffer crashes with Civ 6. This has actually been true through the entire lifetime of the game, on my PC - which is not even super high end, I would say - it's been remarkably stable right from vanilla launch. It's not like I never have crashes, but they are very rare, and during the last 6 months, they almost exclusively seem to happen right after starting the game and loading a saved game and hitting next turn too quickly. And this in spite of the fact that I play with a plethora of mods activated at the same time. I have disabled the launcher, however.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2021
  20. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Oh brother, I get you, and if you know me a little, you would know that the last thing you can think about me is that I am a FXS apologist... :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

    There is absolutely no excuse for the mediocre software they released and basically "abandoned" in a less than optimal state... I agree with you completely. That's why I looked for a way to bypass one of their "stupidities" and found it, to help others at least alleviate the effect of such less-than-optimal decision. It worked for many, but that does not mean it becomes an excuse in their favor. Quite the contrary.
     
    Warmoonger and Elhoim like this.

Share This Page