1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Decipher me or I’ll devour you[MODCOMP]

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by Edungeon, Mar 11, 2007.

  1. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    after you download all the files, how do u get it to work?:(
     
  2. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    Extract them to your Civ 4 > BTS > Mods > RFC folder. Easy enough.

    If you have other modcomps installed on RFC, be careful. You'll have to extract them one by one that way and modify the newly installed files a bit when needed.
     
  3. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    When you say RFC folder do you mean the 1181RFC folder becaues that's all I have I don't have just an RFC folder?
     
  4. Metal Alloy Man

    Metal Alloy Man Back in Black

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    :king:Yes, it's the 1181 folder, hope you like it.:king:
     
  5. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    ya, i put it their, but nothing happend again, in the civilopedia it still says stonehenge and no sphinx. Here's where I put it:

    My Documents
    My Games
    Beyond the Sword
    Mods
    RFCB1181
    Rhye's and Fall of Civilization

    And then all the documents are inside another folder called "Decipher me or I’ll devour youV1". Do I still need to put it in my assests folder?
     
  6. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    Oh, that's an easy mistake. Sorry, didn't make it clear enough.

    Copy all the files inside the "Decipher me" folder and extract them in the same folder "Decipher me" is currently at. Then you can delete the DMOIDY folder, but only after extracting the data.

    Hope it works now. ;) If you have any problems, just come by here.
     
  7. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm still having quite a bit of diffuclulty, after I extracted the decipher me now mod into my v1.185 RFC folder I started up my game execept this warning came up
     

    Attached Files:

  8. fireclaw722

    fireclaw722 Imperial Guard

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    The Americas
    The Shwaidon Paya(however it's spelled) wonder has the same affect
     
  9. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Is this version even updated to the latest version 1186?
     
  10. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    There's no need to update because it's all XML (which hasn't been fiddled around for a while now).
     
  11. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    but dosen't the shwegadon paya have the same unique gift, shoulden't it be all LABOUR civics available?
     
  12. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    What, it does that? Then it is easily fixed.

    Go to BuildingInfos.xml in Rhye's and Fall of Civilization > Assets > XML > Buildings and search 'BUILDINGCLASS_STONEHENGE'. Then search 'CIVICOPTION_RELIGION'. If it does enable all religious civics as you described, then you need to replace that with 'CIVICOPTION_LABOR'. And voila, the original Stonehenge effect is back here.

    I learned XML following easy steps such as this. Try it, it's fun if you're willing to dedicate yourself to a game that much. Of course I can't do a thing about DLL, SDK or Python yet (don't know if I ever will) but for a beginner grasping XML is good enough.
     
  13. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    After following you instructions, I started up the game, but then it said that I had all these errors, and when I went to the civilopedia to see if the Great Sphinx was working this is what came up for ALL of the wonders not only the sphinx
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    It looks like a simple XML error (some line was missing or looked odd). I suppose you had a backup of CIV4BuildingInfos.xml somewhere before the change? If not, re-extract the said file from the latest patch's the Decipher Me's RAR.

    The line I told you to change is supposed to look like this:
    Spoiler :
    <CivicOption>CIVICOPTION_LABOR</CivicOption>

    Make sure that line is on the same level with the other lines on the other rows. It shouldn't stand out by being one space stroke to the left or right.

    The entire XML file can't be that distorted just because you replaced some piece of information to say otherwise. You must have done a little mistake somewhere and not realized what's wrong. Can't say I haven't been there a dozen times already... Retry with the new instructions after replacing your current BuildingInfos file with the backup. I can't recall the Great Sphinx modmod doing anything else than replacing the graphics and Civilopedia entries, though.
     
  15. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, so I did what you said, but the say warning came up, here is a picture of it, but this predates me trying to fiddle around with the civic options, so I think something went wrong
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    What? That's in the art XML folder, unrelated to the earlier XML file we were talking about. It's without a doubt missing a line of text somewhere. I'll try to provide you with correct text. (I can't promise anything since I'm using a different Sphinx art and can't play Civ 4 at all currently)

    This is for BTS version of RFC:
    Spoiler :

    <BuildingArtInfo>
    <Type>ART_DEF_BUILDING_STONEHENGE</Type>
    <LSystem>LSYSTEM_2x2</LSystem>
    <bAnimated>0</bAnimated>
    <fScale>0.9</fScale>
    <fInterfaceScale>0.8</fInterfaceScale>
    <NIF>Art/Structures/Buildings/Sphinx/sphinx.nif</NIF>
    <KFM/>
    <Button>Art/Interface/Buttons/Buildings/sphinx.dds</Button>
    </BuildingArtInfo>
     
  17. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    After installing the new patch for RFC, I had to get rid of this modcomp, but now that I'm trying to reinstall it, the same thing is happening to me (look below at the picture I posted), does anybody know why this is happening?
     
  18. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,642
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    This modcomp isn't compatible with the new version. Someone needs to update this modcomp.
     
  19. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Since I have no modding skills at all, could someone please update this modcomp to the new RFC version. Thanks! :)
     
  20. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    It works perfectly fine with any version. Just copy-paste the Sphinx lines (4 or 5) from the old Civ4ArtDefines_Building.xml to the new file, assuming that it has changed but to my knowledge it has not so as usual I am puzzled about what you're messing with Turk :p
    Btw I posted the files for installing it together with Varietas Delectat in the VD thread.

    To make it work with any RFC/RAND/RFCMP/etc version do not extract the Civ4ArtDefines_Building.xml file, and instead edit the existing one in the XML/Art folder. Open the file with notepad, search for "Stonehenge" and replace the lines you find with these (obviously, after having installed the other files as well):

    Spoiler :

    <BuildingArtInfo>
    <Type>ART_DEF_BUILDING_STONEHENGE</Type>
    <LSystem>LSYSTEM_2x2</LSystem>
    <bAnimated>0</bAnimated>
    <fScale>1.1</fScale>
    <fInterfaceScale>0.8</fInterfaceScale>
    <NIF>Art/Structures/Buildings/Sphinx/sphinx.nif</NIF>
    <KFM/>
    <Button>Art/Interface/Buttons/Buildings/sphinx.dds</Button>
    </BuildingArtInfo>
     

Share This Page