1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

DIY - Change tech speed?!?

Discussion in 'Strategy Forum' started by SgtCiv, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. SgtCiv

    SgtCiv Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I was wondering if someone could tell me how to change research speed so I could play the game on standard, but have the research speed of epic.

    The reason for this is, I feel that I'm able to progress thru the tech tree too fast on standard and not able to enjoy units before they need to be upgraded. On epic though it takes so long to build anything and/or improve tiles that isn't as fun either. IMO - I think I would like to try this approach to see if this could be a nice balance between the two. Thanks!!
     
  2. Puer

    Puer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Estonia
    You could slow general science progress down, with a mod like "SloMo Science"

    You could make early science development slower yourself with mod like this:
    Code:
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.8 WHERE Era='ERA_ANCIENT';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.7 WHERE Era='ERA_CLASSICAL';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.6 WHERE Era='ERA_MEDIEVAL';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.5 WHERE Era='ERA_RENAISSANCE';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.4 WHERE Era='ERA_INDUSTRIAL';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.3 WHERE Era='ERA_POSTMODERN';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.2 WHERE Era='ERA_MODERN';
    UPDATE Technologies SET Cost = Cost*1.1 WHERE Era='ERA_FUTURE';
    
    Thalassicus, what do you think about adding tech (and/or building contruction, unit building) speed to Civup_Options.sql
     
  3. SgtCiv

    SgtCiv Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Thanks for the reply. I have tried modding myself before and I can't seem to figure it out. I have learned how to change xml and sql files some. I do have some questions about your post though.
    1. Will the SloMo science mod work with this mod?
    2. Do you know which SloMo mod I would need to make tech speed feel like Epic while playing on Standard?
     
  4. Puer

    Puer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Estonia
    1. yes
    2. Hard to tell exaclty. SloMo only changes ResearchPercent but Research speed depends also on difficulty level. You should try out yourself - download SloMo 200 (2x slower ResearchPercent) and edit (with notepad) ResearchPercent in gamespeed.xml at SloMo mod folder. (After change you must re-load mod, savegame or a start new game).

    For example 1.5x slower @ standard speed:
    Code:
    <Update>
    			<Set ResearchPercent="150"/>
    			<Where Type="GAMESPEED_STANDARD"/>
    </Update>
    
     
  5. SgtCiv

    SgtCiv Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Thanks for the reply. I will try that out.
     
  6. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    If you want to just change all tech speed, open the Research/GER_Data.xml file in the mod folder. Find the GameSpeeds section, copy-paste the Epic part, change it to Standard, and set the research speed to whatever you want like Puer described above. :)
     
  7. Slatdogg

    Slatdogg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    A quick follow up question to this: Is it possible to change the cost of individual technologies seperately?
     
  8. Delekhan

    Delekhan Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    No, costs are by column.

    For CEP you'll find the research costs in CER_Start.sql
     

Share This Page