Do You Play An Instrument?

cgannon64

BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!
I will probably be taking up drums shortly. I'm in a band...er...sort of. :p (Well I am if you can call a guitarist, a drummer with a snare and no sticks, and a bassist with no bass or skills a band!) Anyway does anyone else here play an instrument? How good are you? What are some tips for someone learning an instrument (and possibly specific tips for drummers)?

It can't be that hard...can it? ;)

EDIT: Blah, forgot poll.

I used to play the piano a long time ago :)

I have a piano and a tenor saxophone. Don't play them too often though.

Im one of those "I want to play an instrument, but I cant find the time or patience" people.

I've been playing the Violin for 12 years, although not as seriously as I used to.

I used to be, but now I'll actually find the time, since I sort of have a reason.

Oh I played trumpet when I was little (like 4th grade) and played piano in about 6th, but quit.

Damn, I wish I'd kept up with that (and kept the actual piano). Being able to play piano could potentially help alot...

I wish I had too, but some things like hobbies got in the way as wargaming clubs fell on the same day as practice :p

I play the piano. Pretty seriously, too, although I don't practice nearly enough. I can spend more energy playing the piano then running a mile sometimes.

I also used to play the clarinet in band, but the band conductors were just too annoying that I stopped. I do occasionally play some Zelda music on it now and then...

I used to play the recorder (the early flute) which despite its abuse in schools is quite a challenging instrument and ideal for music of the renaissance and baroque. I try to play occasionally.

BTW there is evidence that playing an instrument is great for your brain - it postpones the mental deterioration that comes with age! So keep on playing!!

Originally posted by Achinz