How should AI art (of any type) be tagged when "published"

• Assume it is AI generated unless "certified" that it is human created

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • AI generated designation should only be required on some art types and not others (which?)

• Other, please specify

• Total voters

Birdjaguar

Hanafubuki
Super Moderator
Supporter
Does It Matter to You if AI Makes a Work Of Art You Love?
WSJ Readers Are Divided

New tools amplify the efforts of artists and amateurs. Should this change how we feel about art?
BY DEMETRIA GALLEGOS

SOME ARTISTS, musicians and authors have dedicated themselves to years of grueling training. Some are intuitive, self-taught but with a vision they strive to express. And some simply enter keywords into a query field and click “Generate.”
Artificial intelligence has been used to write scripts, compose music, and create art for years, but lately, it has gotten much better, and user-friendly applications have helped more people experiment with it. The output is increasingly indistinguishable from works created by a human.
So how should we feel about such AI-assisted works? As part of a series of articles looking at ethical questions raised by AI, we posed this question to WSJ readers: If a painting, song, novel or movie that you love was generated by an AI, would you want to know? Would it change your reaction if you knew the creator was a machine? Should an AIgenerated piece of art be allowed to enter an art competition?

Here are some of their answers.

We deserve to know
We listen to music from an electronic guitar differently than from a wooden one. We value handmade furniture more than machine-made. We prefer natural pearls to cultured ones because of the imperfections.
Analogously, we should know whether a piece of art was handmade or AI-made, and failure to acknowledge it is as fraudulent as passing a reprint of a painting off as the original.
—Daniel Brand, Kailu, Hawaii It isn’t art