1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Exploration Continued Expanded (Obsolete)

Exploration Continued Expanded (Obsolete)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,112
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Well, Health is easily translatable into Food when CID is inactive. Loyalty doesn't have the same benefit.

    By new art I mean new models and icons. But like I said, I had used the Kampung model before and I didn't care for it. A water-based Tribe would be a good idea, but I'd be very particular about what it looks like.
     
  2. Reedstilt

    Reedstilt Prince

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    438
    Ah, I misunderstood. I thought the you had used the potential Moriori improvement I linked to, not the kampung.
     
  3. DarthStarkiller

    DarthStarkiller King

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Santos, Brazil
    If you're interested in a water-based tribe, I think the Uru would be a good idea.
     
  4. Stangle Khan

    Stangle Khan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Texas
    Hey just a note. CBP compatibility needs to also turn off adding the CBP ruin bonuses, it causes them not to work. Disabling them in the config makes them work.
     
  5. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,112
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  6. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,072
    I'm having an issue where the Exploration_Units.sql file fails because of a missing column: Class error. I saw a similar error when I was coding the RER triggers, and I found that it had something to do with triggers. I might be able to provide more details in the next few days, but I'm currently typing this bug report from memory :/

    Also, settlers spawning in Tribe land is really annoying, because the AI doesn't know to move the settler out of the land.
     
  7. Grishnikov_007

    Grishnikov_007 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Just throwing ideas out there. Are antiquity sites also hardcoded? A cool implementation of shipwrecks could be as a water version of antiquity sites. It could even have its own unit to extract it?
     
  8. hokath

    hokath King

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Location:
    London
    Shipwrecks were really cool for flavour. Would love to see them return.
     
  9. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,112
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Yeah, triggers are a pain - problems don't show up unless I remember to find and enable a mod to add the thing that the trigger is, well, being triggered by *trigger warning*. Will look into though - thanks.

    I think they are - I know one of CL's civs had to jump through hoops just to make their civ see Antiquity Sites from game start. A new unit would be quite a challenge, too, because it'd need the animations of the Archaeologist, not to mention new art, model, etc.

    Hm, yeah. Nice to see support for them, but I'm not sure I can make them useful given the age in which they appear. Maybe I can artificially create ancient ruin effects which trigger instead of the standard - will see.
     
  10. Reedstilt

    Reedstilt Prince

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    438
    The Calusa demand shipwrecks! Those Europeans aren't going to salvage themselves.
     
  11. Kesler

    Kesler Master Kekkler

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    The Imperial Puppet of Canada
    Use an animation from one of the fishing boats, if possible. When people go trawling for treasure (so to speak) they typically use ships with specialized equipment. Treat sunken ships and looted trade routes like defeated units, in terms of how they generate Antiquity Sites.

    (I say this not knowing how unusable the hard code is)
     
  12. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,072
    I found that SQLSpy was a big help for triggers.
     
  13. Zares

    Zares Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    CBP adds now some movement bonuses promotions. Trailblazer II gives double movement on Desert and Snow. Any idea how to give extra bonus to movement on Ice as well to this promotion?
     
  14. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,072
    Point about ice exploration: I'm fine with units having Scurvy on ice, but the wind effects are kinda annoying. "Low winds slow your scout as he crosses some barren ice"
     
  15. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,112
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    That sounds more like a CBP question?

    What? Your Scouts don't ice skate everywhere? :p I'll add a check to make sure the unit is actually a ship.
     
  16. Reedstilt

    Reedstilt Prince

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    438
    Or embarked. It makes sense pre-Steam Power Naval Units and Embarked Units would be affected by winds.
     
  17. Buildkirbyus

    Buildkirbyus Trainee Modder

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    University Wi-Fi
    I don't know if this has been brought up before-
    AI units don't know about attrition, they'll get damage and then fortify to heal- when they cannot, so the unit just slowly dies.
    I think this may be a hard-coding problem or was fixed in the latest version (i was using v12 for this bug report)
    Once i get the chance i'll obverse the AI in v13 and see if they do the same thing.
     
  18. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,112
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  19. mslogie

    mslogie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    So it says to copy and replace highlights.xml but when I go to the folder, there isn't an existing copy. do I just throw it in there anyways?
     
  20. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,112
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page