1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] AI can purchase units in puppet states

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by subanark, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. subanark

    subanark Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    WA
    I noticed this when I was attacking a city. One turn after my units go into position, a cannon magically appeared in the city. Since the AI had a lot of money this happened a few times. On a side note, when I moved my troops back (not wanting to get destroyed by the cannon) it decided to move the cannon out of the city right next to my troops allowing me to easily destroy it. I think it was trying to move the cannon back to its main empire... by going though my recently aquired territory.

    As a side note, after I defeated the AIs army, it was willing to give me everything it had for peace, including the 15 or so cities it had.
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Do you maybe have a savegame from this situation?
     
  3. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    In a recent game I completed by UN, I pressed on with my invasion of France.

    I have cut through a beach head north of my CS ally. This cut off 2 French puppets that are former English cities. Warwick and Newcastle.

    Throughout the war, I kept noticing artillery popping out from that peninsula. Didn't think too much of it. Then I finally moved my destroyers to have a peep.

    On the first save, game8jend , you can move the destroyer to see that Newcastle has no units stationed inside. Warwick has an arty (note that I've killed about 5 arties from that direction already. How it still has an artillery is already suspect).

    next save game8jend2, you see that Warwick has moved an artillery into Poitier's range and Newcastle suddenly has an artillery stationed inside the city.

    :wallbash:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    Would be nice if someone could test the game :).
     
  5. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hehe was that comment meant for the devs or for someone to check my save.

    Edit: Since thread merge, I can also confirm AI is currently cash rich and buying units in puppet cities appear to be the Modus operandi.
     
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Essentially for both :D.
    But primary for everyone else who reads the thread.
     
  7. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
  8. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    I can confirm it. Loaded up the first save, and put the destroyers in visibility range of Newcastle. As pressed end turn, could see an artillery appear in the city.

    There's no way for the artillery to have come from somewhere else.

     
  9. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,561
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Share This Page