1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fixed borders mod for Rise of Mankind

Discussion in 'RoM Modmods' started by dexy, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. wrestler235

    wrestler235 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    For the civics, maybe the only ones that can affect it are power and government type. I think Democracy on in the government type should fix borders, and Senate, Parliament, and President in the power column. Just my opinion. I feel that those best define the "government" who defines the borders.
     
  2. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    :D
    OK, it'll be fixed in next version (as you suggested - hidden nationality = no claiming).

    Good job :goodjob:.
     
  3. genine

    genine Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Kortrijk
    Are you working on a RoM 2.5 version of your modmod and if so do you have a timeframe when it's going to be ready?your mod is a great thx
     
  4. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    Yes, it's almost finished. I'll put it through some testing this weekend and on Monday you can expect the release.
     
  5. Big Heb

    Big Heb Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    As one of the architects of the new civics, I'd suggest these civics to allow the fixed borders.

    Parliament
    President
    Liberal
    Nationalist
    Marxist
    Planned
    Corporatist
    Regulated
    Green

    The rationale is that political borders were arguably created around the Enlightenment when nationalism and imperialism were strong. So basically, the border rules change when the civilization becomes a nation.
     
  6. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    I agree for the most of this. But I must add Communist, Fascist, Federal in govt type (fascist is a must and the other 2 follow closely). On the other hand, I think Liberal society should not do it. Everything else seems fine.
     
  7. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    OK, so - there's the new 2.0b version, for RoM 2.5x. It's labeled 'b' because I haven't played it myself yet, I'm still using v1.0 and RoM 2.4. But it should be stable, AI auto play didn't show any problems in several games.
     
  8. solistus

    solistus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Wow, this looks really cool! I just finished a game where this would have been perfect; I was on the 23(28?) player standard Earth map as Inca, had all of South America and the CA and TX coast locked up, the Native Americans controlled the rest of North America... My one TX coastal city was getting culturally swamped by the Native American capital and a city in Florida. I ended up spending a ton on espionage to cause constant riots to keep my workable tiles, and eventually had to go to war and take the Florida city not because I wanted or needed it but for the culture, so I could work my tiles in TX. It would have been much easier (and more realistic) to be able to declare war, send my armies to the tiles I want and take them... Could've probably gotten the Natives to sign a peace treaty much quicker if I never took a city. That damn war ended up costing me the game; it gave England time to get its act together and fracture my budding religious victory.

    The installation instructions for the 2.5 version are the same, right? Unzip to the Assets folder inside the RoM mod folder, rewrite existing files? I'm gonna try it out tonight, I'll let you guys know how it goes.
     
  9. Danwood

    Danwood Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    I'm not able to download the version 2.0b

    it says "you do not have permission to access this page"

    help !!!!!
     
  10. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    "This file is in the moderation queue"

    Apparently - an admin must approve my file.... so wait a few minutes, hours...days...I don't know. It's not up to me :(
     
  11. Danwood

    Danwood Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    240

    Ah ok, i will wait so :D

    and i will give feedback ;)
     
  12. konradcabral

    konradcabral Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    I hope it doesn't take too long...:crazyeye:
     
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Ah time, the price we pay to ensure that no malicious code gets put on the forums :)
     
  14. Cpt.JackSparrow

    Cpt.JackSparrow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Well, in the real world this may be true, but in CivIV this leads to a big problem: how do i feed the population of a city without any workable tiles?

    In reality i would ship some food in, but in CivIV this is not possible. So the wish for realism colides with the games programming.

    And declaring war on 3 other nations just to get some food for the city, well... ;)
     
  15. konradcabral

    konradcabral Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    The file was already moderated! :)
     
  16. Rod

    Rod King

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    Munich / Germany
    Hello,

    can you alter the mod in a way that you would have no cultural borders on the sea, but that cities can just take what they want from the sea ?

    Please also explain briefly what have you modified to make your mod.
     
  17. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    If this were implemented how could I determine to which city a tile belongs, if it is equally distant from 2 enemy cities?

    1) I added a_lot_of_culture to all the tiles a player owns once he has the necessary civics. Culture spreading from the cities works the same, but amount of that culture can never exceed the one that fixed borders provide. Effectively, all the tiles you owned at the moment of becoming a nation (the moment you switched to specific civics) will become yours permanently.

    2) Units have new order, which when executed simply adds a_lot_of_culture to the tile they are on and, if necessary, remove a_lot_of_culture from the current owner of the tile.

    3) When capturing cities, I give the occupator all the tiles which are closest to this city and belong to the defeated nation (this is done only if the occupator has fixed borders). Giving of the tiles is done again by adding a_lot_of_culture in those tiles to the occupator and, if necessary, removing a_lot_of_culture from the defeated guy. The algorithm for this closeness determination is not so simple as it sounds, it takes care of the previous owners and real culture, plus a_lot_of_culture that can be added by previous occupations.

    In the text above: a_lot_of_culture = 10000000.
     
  18. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I am playing RoM 2.52. When can my units claim enemy territory? Is it only after I get one of the fixed boarder civics? So far I have not been able to claim any territory this way. Also both times I have played with this mod I have had a CTD in the Renassiance Era.
     
  19. dexy

    dexy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Greece
    Yes. But watch out for the version of this mod. 2.0b has a bug in GUI that shows different icon for this order (like a spy with a deadly mask), but the order still works normally. In ver 2.0b2 this is fixed; the icon looks like pillage and the descriptive text is corrected.

    Could you please post a save game or two, just prior to CTD? I'll try to fix it as soon as I find the problem, but so far I haven't got the CTD myself (and I played 10-15 games with ai autoplay).
     
  20. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Since I am not getting any new icon I must have installed it incorrectly which may also explain the CTD.
     

Share This Page