1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fixing blurry buttons without Photoshop easy

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by Arian, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    When playing on low quality graphics setting (for big MODS) some buttons appear small and blurry. It just doesn't look good. Because I don't have Photoshop I had to find another solution. I did find info on the forum but fixing the buttons required Photoshop :(

    But I found a simple (and free) solution:

    1. Download and install NVIDIA Texture Tools and select DDS Utilities:

    Here: http://developer.nvidia.com/object/nv_texture_tools.html

    2. Run nvDXT

    3. Use these commandline parameters:

    nvDXT -file my_blurry_button.dds -nomipmap -dxt3 -fadeamount 0

    The fixed buttons can then be found in the DDS Utilities map (they have an underscore attached). Wildcards are allowed so you can fix a whole bunch at once.

    Maybe someone has figured this out before but I couldn't find it on the forum so I decided post it. :)
     
  2. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Thank you very much for this information. It came at the perfect time and worked like a charm. :)

    You don't happen to know of a handy utility that will strip the trailing underscore from the filenames after processing, do you?
     
  3. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nope, didn't figure that out but when I convert png to dds there are no trailing underscores. Probably an extension issue.

    BTW I use these batch file for rapid conversion:

    makebutton.bat

    Code:
    nvdxt -file d:\games\*.png -nomipmap -dxt3 -fadeamount 0
    nvdxt -file d:\games\*.dds -nomipmap -dxt3 -fadeamount 0
    del d:\games\*.png
    del d:\games\*.dds
    Place this batch file in the "DDS Utilities"-folder and your png/dds buttons/atlas files in d:\games (or whatever directory you choose, just change the path)

    It eats your blurry buttons and spits out nice sharp non-blurry buttons :lol:
     
  4. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    It's possible that I only get the trailing underscore because I'm processing the DDS files in-place. It cannot use the same name, so it adds the underscore. I'll try pulling them from a different directory. And it's nice to see that it will convert the PNGs as well.
     
  5. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually it reads also tga, gif, bmp, jpg, ppm, tif, cel, psd, rgb, bw and rgba!
    To convert them too, add them in the batch-file.
     
  6. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    I still get the trailing underscores, even when I have everything converted in two different directories.
     
  7. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Me too. You have to remove them manually (for dds-files). I can't help you with that ;)
     
  8. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Well, is there a batch file command to remove a trailing underscore that could be used?
     
  9. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Man, you're talking DOS from 15 years ago :old:

    Try this IIRC:

    Code:
    ren *_.dds *.dds
    or more general:

    Code:
    ren *_.* *.*
    Be sure to backup first!
     
  10. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
  11. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Graag gedaan. Geen dank. ;)
     
  12. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
  13. ZeroOne

    ZeroOne Hitchhiker

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Finland
    Try Rename Master! It does simple things like that with just a couple of clicks, but it also does some more advanced stuff if you need to rename .jpg or .mp3 files according to their meta data.
     
  14. yamunatri

    yamunatri Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Hi all, I have an Inkjet printer Canon MP500 which paper gets stuck. The paper is getting stuck in my printer, whether it comes from the tray or the top-feeder. Nothing seems to be broken or jammed, and it was working fine up until now. I've tried a few different types of paper. Should I take it apart and put it back together? I wouldn't buy this printer again; it uses a lot of ink. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
     
  15. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You should post this on the Canon site, not here!
     
  16. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    Thanks. I've been having trouble with this and I've never had trouble before. Did someone say something about graphics settings causing this?
     
  17. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If you play Civ4 in low graphics, you might get blurry, small buttons, if they are not in the correct format :)
     
  18. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    What's the correct format? I use dds dxt3.
     
  19. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's the correct format.
     
  20. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    I still have trouble though. They all come out 32x32.
     

Share This Page