Fixing blurry buttons without Photoshop easy

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by Arian, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    When playing on low quality graphics setting (for big MODS) some buttons appear small and blurry. It just doesn't look good. Because I don't have Photoshop I had to find another solution. I did find info on the forum but fixing the buttons required Photoshop :(

    But I found a simple (and free) solution:

    1. Download and install NVIDIA Texture Tools and select DDS Utilities:

    Here: http://developer.nvidia.com/object/nv_texture_tools.html

    2. Run nvDXT

    3. Use these commandline parameters:

    nvDXT -file my_blurry_button.dds -nomipmap -dxt3 -fadeamount 0

    The fixed buttons can then be found in the DDS Utilities map (they have an underscore attached). Wildcards are allowed so you can fix a whole bunch at once.

    Maybe someone has figured this out before but I couldn't find it on the forum so I decided post it. :)
     
  2. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Thank you very much for this information. It came at the perfect time and worked like a charm. :)

    You don't happen to know of a handy utility that will strip the trailing underscore from the filenames after processing, do you?
     
  3. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nope, didn't figure that out but when I convert png to dds there are no trailing underscores. Probably an extension issue.

    BTW I use these batch file for rapid conversion:

    makebutton.bat

    Code:
    nvdxt -file d:\games\*.png -nomipmap -dxt3 -fadeamount 0
    nvdxt -file d:\games\*.dds -nomipmap -dxt3 -fadeamount 0
    del d:\games\*.png
    del d:\games\*.dds
    Place this batch file in the "DDS Utilities"-folder and your png/dds buttons/atlas files in d:\games (or whatever directory you choose, just change the path)

    It eats your blurry buttons and spits out nice sharp non-blurry buttons :lol:
     
  4. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    It's possible that I only get the trailing underscore because I'm processing the DDS files in-place. It cannot use the same name, so it adds the underscore. I'll try pulling them from a different directory. And it's nice to see that it will convert the PNGs as well.
     
  5. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually it reads also tga, gif, bmp, jpg, ppm, tif, cel, psd, rgb, bw and rgba!
    To convert them too, add them in the batch-file.
     
  6. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    I still get the trailing underscores, even when I have everything converted in two different directories.
     
  7. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Me too. You have to remove them manually (for dds-files). I can't help you with that ;)
     
  8. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Well, is there a batch file command to remove a trailing underscore that could be used?
     
  9. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Man, you're talking DOS from 15 years ago :old:

    Try this IIRC:

    Code:
    ren *_.dds *.dds
    or more general:

    Code:
    ren *_.* *.*
    Be sure to backup first!
     
  10. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
  11. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Graag gedaan. Geen dank. ;)
     
  12. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
  13. ZeroOne

    ZeroOne Hitchhiker

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Finland
    Try Rename Master! It does simple things like that with just a couple of clicks, but it also does some more advanced stuff if you need to rename .jpg or .mp3 files according to their meta data.
     
  14. yamunatri

    yamunatri Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Hi all, I have an Inkjet printer Canon MP500 which paper gets stuck. The paper is getting stuck in my printer, whether it comes from the tray or the top-feeder. Nothing seems to be broken or jammed, and it was working fine up until now. I've tried a few different types of paper. Should I take it apart and put it back together? I wouldn't buy this printer again; it uses a lot of ink. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
     
  15. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You should post this on the Canon site, not here!
     
  16. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    Thanks. I've been having trouble with this and I've never had trouble before. Did someone say something about graphics settings causing this?
     
  17. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If you play Civ4 in low graphics, you might get blurry, small buttons, if they are not in the correct format :)
     
  18. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    What's the correct format? I use dds dxt3.
     
  19. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's the correct format.
     
  20. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    I still have trouble though. They all come out 32x32.
     

Share This Page