1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Flying Camera Mode in 1.52?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by DementedAvenger, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    It looks fantastic, but could someone list the mouse/keyboard commands to operate in this mode? I was flying blind. :blush:
     
  2. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Rendering wouldn't be a problem if it's just a skybox -- then again I imagine they didn't anticipate any need for that. Mostly useful for ingame cutscenes which Civ IV has none of :)

    What bugs me more (even in normal view) is that the edge of the map just drops off if you're on a regional map without wrapping. It would have been nice if it faded out to unpassable tiles of permanent fog of war, then to black, giving the impression that there's more out there.
     
  3. xonixs

    xonixs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    do not press space-f. I repeat: Do NOT press space-f!!
     
  4. DementedAvenger

    DementedAvenger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    What's space-f do?
     
  5. PDXJoe

    PDXJoe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Personally, I would much rather have a stable game running before checking out the flying camera.
     
  6. DementedAvenger

    DementedAvenger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Yeah, it can take a while to load if you point it too close to the horizon.
     
  7. Sub

    Sub in omnia paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    Why wasn't this on by default?
     
  8. mutax2003

    mutax2003 Rider of China, 4-3-3

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Canada
    I tried the flying camera mode, but find the zooming and panning feature on the camera hard to control. Anyone has some tips for flying camera mode?
     
  9. DementedAvenger

    DementedAvenger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    I just zoom a little past where I want to go and then turn the camera around. All I use is the mouse to point and the mouse wheel to "move" (actually zooming, but I just think of it as moving in the direction the camera is facing).
     
  10. A Silly Goose

    A Silly Goose Goose of Silliness

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    Flying way out and then looking down at the world:


    It's also possible to actually fly under the map, as shown here:
     
  11. Ultima Dragoon

    Ultima Dragoon FIRE! FIRE! FIRE!

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Behind the east wind
    This is extremely cool.

    One question, though.... What's an INI file?
     
  12. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,175
    Gender:
    Male
    INI file is often used by programs to store program settings. It's a plain text file with .ini extension.
     
  13. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    It really does look like a gameboard from that far out. Can't get that effect in global view -- it transitions everything to 2D :)
     
  14. J_RocKeT76

    J_RocKeT76 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Great Southern Land,AU
    I have two files, listed as

    CivilizationIV
    Configurations Settings (Edit this file):goodjob:
    5kb



    CivilizationIV.ini
    BAK File
    5kb

    Going by instructions I changed line in the .ini file and it didn't change anything also changed alias name. Went into Config settings and changed it there and it worked. Flying camera and alias name.
     
  15. romelus

    romelus NUCULAR!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,075
    Location:
    taking chicken milk bath
    you had windows hide file extensions. your plain civilizationiv file was actually the civilizationiv.ini file, your civilizationiv.ini file was actually the backup file the game created, its full name is civilizationiv.ini.bak
     
  16. FullyCompletely

    FullyCompletely Cheftain. i just cook.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I get stuck at an angle where the camera is basically on the ground looking slightly up at the units and I can't seem to get it out of this position and I've tried a lot. Pressing alt+f as someone earlier suggested simply toggles satellite view.
     
  17. MetHimPikeHoses

    MetHimPikeHoses Unarmed Insurgent

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    When looking down on the map from high in the air, I've noticed that the map "repeats" itself sometimes, like in the screenshot of Silly Goose. Notice there are two Aztecas. I guess this is because of flattening out the globe, but it is still strange...:crazyeye:
     
  18. DementedAvenger

    DementedAvenger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    There is no flattening that goes on (they're all square tiles). The map actually is flat, it juts appears to be round as you zoom out - it's just a graphical effect.
     
  19. Lord GS-41

    Lord GS-41 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    THX D00DS!

    Btw, what DOES space-f do?
     
  20. FullyCompletely

    FullyCompletely Cheftain. i just cook.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Something appears beneath your bed. Be careful.
     

Share This Page