1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by EmperorFool, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,956
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    BAT is mainly BUG + BULL plus a lot of Lemon Merchant goodness. What is VD?
     
  2. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    A set of diseases and infections usually contracted by intimate contact with another person.

    Oh! Oops! He means for BAT. It's the Varietas Delectat graphics pack that is the basis of most of the stunning unit graphics.
     
  3. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,975
    To be fair there is some overlap between the two. Both tend to infect everything they touch permanently yet in both cases you do not regret catching them. :mischief:
     
  4. nci

    nci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Is there a BULL version with 77 or more civilizations? Stock Civ modded to allow 77 civilizations on a map runs painfully slow. )'=
     
  5. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I'm afraid that if you are having a slowdown of BTS using 77 civs in stock Civ, there will be no difference using BULL. It would be just as slow.

    There is no 77 civ DLL for BULL, probably because no one has compiled it, or seen the need to. It would be prohibitively slow. However, if you like playing with lots of civs, the BAT Mod and Better BAT AI both have a 50 civ DLL available for them. The BAT Mod does not change any standard BTS mechanics, but includes BUG and BULL, plus some graphical upgrades. Better BAT AI is an attempt to improve the basic AI of Civ4 while retaining all of the flavor of BAT, so it does change game mechanics. I invite you to try both with the 50 civ DLLs. The links are in my sig.
     
  6. icarusbug1994

    icarusbug1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    hellow ! I'm player who is playing civilzation 4 bts for long time in korea!

    recently i've seen the civ 4 video made by chris! in youtube

    He has used the bug mod

    so I Trying to use the bug mod

    but it is fault;;

    If I run bug mode, after loading is complete, one technical table is seen to me.

    but this technical table is not complete because only 6 tec can be shown to me

    mysticism meditation, polytheism pristhood,monotheism monarchy!(I don't know how to upload the photo without useing link)

    I even learned to do mysticism all the time any civilization. (korea~japen~ america etc;; but I did't learn that)

    I've been trying any method , resetup after all delete. Getting Started with Administrator , set up the as mod ,
    change the administrator name only english , Install BAT mode instead of bug mode ......

    if i setup the BAT than There will be no bugs in the technical table before the game starts.

    but if the game starts, all icon is gone;; if i can upload the photo than i can seeyou the my situation

    but i cannot TTT....

    now I don't have any method ;;

    Plz help me



    oh i can load the photo!! 1,2 is bug mod photo!
    3,4,5 is bat! bat mod's tec table is ok but no image great gener~ great person
    my civilization 4 version 3.19!
    i have set up the all patch!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      901.4 KB
      Views:
      20
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      1.9 MB
      Views:
      21
    • 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      142.4 KB
      Views:
      19
    • 4.JPG
      4.JPG
      File size:
      144.1 KB
      Views:
      22
    • 5.JPG
      5.JPG
      File size:
      176.8 KB
      Views:
      23
  7. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I saw your other post and this one and I'm having a real hard time figuring out what your issue is.

    It seems to me that you are missing a BUG icon file, or an XML file, or some art files, but I can't really make sense of things the way that you've written them.

    What version of BUG and BAT are you using? And what does TTT mean?
     
  8. icarusbug1994

    icarusbug1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    all the new version bug is 4.4 bat is 4.1

    ttt means noting



    ++++++++

    and I have one question

    I give up to install the bug mod

    so I have been trying to install the BAT mod

    then When i install the bat plz look the 6 photo

    but my civ4 version is already 3.19 plz look the 7 photo

    whay should i do?

    so i try to install bts 3.19

    plz look the 8 photo

    I don't what is mean;;

    plz help me
     

    Attached Files:

    • 6.png
      6.png
      File size:
      117 KB
      Views:
      20
    • 7.JPG
      7.JPG
      File size:
      141 KB
      Views:
      21
    • 8.png
      8.png
      File size:
      141 KB
      Views:
      20
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2017
  9. icarusbug1994

    icarusbug1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Hellow!

    I'm using a laptop, not a computer. Does it matter?
    When Im using the rfcd mod it is same
     
  10. nci

    nci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Thank you. I tried BAT, and it simply crashes with the custom Civs I'm used to.
     
  11. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    The custom civs you want have to be modified to work with BAT. You can't just plug civs in. They have to be added in modular fashion.
     
  12. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,956
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    wow ... Lemon Merchant ... the ... MODERATOR! When did that happen?
     
  13. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    About a week ago. :)
     
  14. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Human Being Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    424
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Japan
    Cheers! I still play BAT! I love it. Any plans on new release?
     
  15. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I'm slowly working on one with a few enhancements. I'm not sure when I will get to release it though.
     
  16. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Human Being Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    424
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Japan
    Sounds good :thumbsup:
     
  17. catalin72

    catalin72 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    462
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    I have 2 questions about graphics and techs three,about techs tree Lemon Merchant explained me in 2017,is a feature of BULL.I don't like to have a new graphics,I want to keep old graphics having BUG and BULL installed.Now I use just BUG,uninstalled BAT Mod.I had some years ago BULL with normally graphics.
    1.Is possible to use BAT Mod,but with old graphics,is this option in setup?
    2.I am interested from BULL(BAT) by 'tech X speeds up tech Y'.Is in CFC a thread with all connections between technologies('speeds up'),maybe is not necessary to install BULL for this?
     
  18. Pangaea

    Pangaea Rock N Roller

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,776
    I see that sometimes but not always, so not sure what's going on there. Thankfully this is pretty easy to know without a mod, however. If there is an arrow/line to a tech, that tech is sped up by the preceding one, by 20% for each one. This means that for instance Writing is sped up by Pottery and Animal Husbandry. If you have both, you get a 40% :science: boost towards Writing.

    Conversely, there are some techs without any such line or arrow connection. Lack of a "sped up by" bonus applies to all the techs in the first column of the tech tree, like Mining and Fishing (obviously you start with two of these for free), and Astronomy (plus Divine Right, but nobody cares about that :p ). Incidentally, this makes bulbing Astronomy with Great Scientists rather effective, as bulbs don't get the bonus anyway.

    You can check out some of this by having a tech with a bonus selected, and then see the "gold" in the demographics screen. Select a tech without a bonus, like Fishing and such, and the "gold" research rate will be lower in the demographics screen (click on the demographics screen again for the values to update).
     
    catalin72 likes this.
  19. catalin72

    catalin72 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    462
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    OK,thank you much.Exactly for Writing I started question,because I remember that using BULL just for AH I saw 'speeds up' Writing,for Pottery not.Sure I saw wrong.
    Divine Right,'who cares about that'...I don't play like you standard maps without huts and events:),most games huge maps,Spiral Minaret is a strong wonder,if I have a great engineer 'surplus' Versailles is not a bad wonder and I use DR not Philosophy for Nationalism.For useless Divine Right after I obtain gold,maps and techs from AI,sometimes completing a tech or 2 offer to AI with this useless tech.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
  20. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,283
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Just use an earlier version of BAT, such as something from the 3.X series. They are available at SourceForge.
     

Share This Page