1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FULL] Putmalk's Ancient World Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Putmalk, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. El Caballerion

    El Caballerion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    New York
    Great work Putmalk! I've found myself frequently getting bored with Civ 5 shortly after the Medieval times, and I think the game functions best in the earliest stage. Your modpack breathes a fresh air of replayability. Sumeria is my favorite!

    Some questions/suggestions:

    1. Any way to scale down the size of the units? Perhaps to the same size as in the RED modpacks?

    2. Any way to add the Israelites and Nubians as two more civs? Also, maybe adding Sparta as a separate civ from Greece?

    3. Any way to incorporate more unique unit art (again, perhaps from the RED modpack, which I think was taken from several other modpacks)?

    4. It seems like there is a ton of copper that becomes obsolete in the mid game (I have over 25 coppers now). Maybe instead of using iron for some weapons, 5 coppers equals one iron. So, if I want to build a ship that requires 1 iron, but I don't have 1 iron, I can use 5 coppers instead?

    4a. On that note....can you also get rid of more copper sources? There's too many! lol

    5. Finally, what if the game went on and included the dark ages, where basically you still research technologies, but they don't grant anything really new in the game (to symbolize the 'lack' of technology in the dark ages). Then, after researching 5 or 6 place holder techs, you eventually discover a MEDIEVAL tech that enables heavily armored units (longswordsmen/knights/trebuchets), as well as one super-culture wonder? It would enable the player to have a longer time to play with the classical units and focus on warfare right until the medieval tech (the final tech in the game) is discovered.
    Of course... it wouldn't really be an ancient themed game anymore, but the thought is there lol...
     
  2. Putmalk

    Putmalk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    Just caught wind of the new expansion pack.

    It's adding some stuff that I could use in Ancient World. Like religion, and maybe some more ancient units?

    This is great news for me.

    My guess is that when the expansion comes out it'll take a bit to get it to work correctly.

    I'm reading all the feedback and I'm so glad you guys like it. :) Adding Assyria has been particularly hard for me due to art issues. So I've held off on making them yet. My culture changes are done but pending a playtest. I haven't really worked on the mod that much lately, mostly because I'm struggling to find things to really change for the better and college has started up again, and I may, or may not be, working on a another scenario-mod....

    So that's why I haven't posted in a while. I now leave you with a question:

    Should I post the newest patch without Assyria or any additional changes (after it's been playtested?), or wait until I get some more stuff in?


    Also, really excited for Gods and Kings.
     
  3. mlund

    mlund Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Sorry I haven't popped by sooner.

    I'd really like to see the Version 9 patch released. I really appreciate the Culture balance pass and want to try it out. I'm likewise excited to see Gods and Kings coming and I can't wait to see how it can be used for an enhanced Ancient Worlds Mod experience.
     
  4. Putmalk

    Putmalk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    I can't release it until my playtester becomes available. O_O So far, that has not been the case.
     
  5. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    I'm glad someone is taking up the ancient world for CIV5. Just what I have been waiting for (since I never started The Ancient Mediterranean for CIV5). :)

    I'm downloading it now and giving it a try.
     
  6. Mantinel

    Mantinel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I've downloaded your mod yesterday and was shocked by the depth and complexity I've never seen in any mod before. You have my respect sir!

    Some stuff I've noticed:

    Firstly I think that Babylonian Bowmen are too powerful. It's basically a starting tech and ranged strengh 8 is far too much for that era. Also it's too cheap, costing just 200 gold. I would suggest tuning him down to ranged 7 and combat 5. The main problem is that AI is so stupid when dealing with ranged units and 5-6 archers can repell armies of thrice the size with no problem, composed of advanced units (I was fighting vultures and catapults).

    Secondly there is some problem with Barbarians with Bowmen (haven't tried with regular Archer). I went exploring the southeastern desert with my Bowmen and barbs were ignoring them so I could run freely among 3+ barbarian units and pick anyone I wanted. There were barbarian Axemen, Warriors and Spearman and all ignored me. Archers attacked me but others were just passively running around. At some point some Spearmen attacked me later, but only after provoked. I don't know if this is just issue of the mod. Difficulty was King.

    Lastly, did you consider contacting 2kGames for cooperation? I think your mod could easily get into the game as it's outweights any DLC scenario made. I would give it a try if I were you ;-)
     
  7. wlievens

    wlievens Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    My arch-nemesis built his very last city on a single-tile island. Are there any amphibious units in this map that can take such a city?
     
  8. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,704
    If you need playtesters I'm available :lol:
     
  9. Crimefighter

    Crimefighter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Firstly thanks for creating the mod, Ive been looking for something like this!

    Secondly, I d/l'd the non-DLC version and I am experiencing the odd game crash - seems to happen every 100 turns or so. Not a huge deal as I dont mind reloading every now and then but I thought Id report it.

    The AI seems a lot more aggressive than the standard game, have there been any changes in that respect?
     
  10. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    I can't make the mod work properly. It seems it won't load traits. They don't show up on character selection and don't work ingame. I tried both downloading from civfanatics and ingame mod browser. I also checked the mod files and it seems all right. Any ideas?

    @crimefighter yeah I think I saw somewhere in the files changes for aggressiveness.
     
  11. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,704
    Well there is no science victory/diplomatic victory and there could be a culture victory but is olmost impossible so ony way to win in this mod through time and domination so yeah AI is more agressive
     
  12. euskeron

    euskeron Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    New here, hope I've posted to the right place. I installed (from the mod browser) ancient world and the civ pack. I'd also like to add the IGE, unbroken buildings, the, er, brothel and a few wonders; but mostly the IGE. Is there some incompatibility?

    Unfortunately, none of it seems to work (even just the Putmalk stuff alone). When I go to game setup, only a couple of civs are listed: Neb, Dar, Alex, Aug, maybe one more. If I try to actually load the game, it crashes almost instantly. I have ancient world v8 and civ pack v3 (ige v21).

    I tried clearing cache, will also delete and re-download (after clearing cache). Is there something else I should be doing? Have to say, I seem to have a fairly buggy end ratio with mods (lots of "picnic tablecloth" terrain and long (set_key_txt_Idunnowhatever_) names in downloaded civs.

    Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

    edit: re downloading did not help...

    Thanks.
     
  13. imperiumiv

    imperiumiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Margaritaville
    if you haven't added Israel, would you please do so?
     
  14. Cosign

    Cosign Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi does anyone know where I can find a list of all the different civilizations inherent traits?

    I can't find this out ingame because the newest update made it so I can't scroll down in the selection window...
     
  15. Cosign

    Cosign Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    wait nevermind. had too many mods on
     
  16. m9x

    m9x Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    I've modded "The European Landmass"-map (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=385112) a bit and included (to my knowledge and Google's) historically accurate start locations for the civs and states in this mod.

    Would anyone like to help me? I'm not really good at balancing a map or placing resources.

    Screenshot:
    Spoiler :


    It has 34 civs including CS on it. I played about 4 hours on Prince difficult as Persia and totally dominated until around Phoenicia, with a score of 1100+ and the closest neighbour was 500. So I'm not sure if it was just the difficulty being too low or not enough balance in the map.

    Download map: http://www.datafilehost.com/download-f228d0c1.html

    Also: this mod is superb :)
     
  17. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,863
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    :bump:
    What is being done to make a version of this thread for Gods & Kings?
     
  18. haplo888

    haplo888 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Are there default starting positions with these maps? I'd want to start in Italy as Rome, ect. If so, how do I get them to work in Civ5?
     
  19. Putmalk

    Putmalk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    I haven't updated this mod in a very long time, and IIRC I cannot remember giving default starting positions for any of the maps. :(

    This mod won't work in G&K and I doubt it would work with the later vanilla patches.
     
  20. haplo888

    haplo888 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Working fine in 1.0.1.511. Can't speak for G&K. It may not be as much work to keep it updated for vanilla and I know there's always big demand for an Ancient period mod.

    The Ancient Mediterranean mod is still a favorite for Civ4.
     

Share This Page