1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

General A New Dawn discussion

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by Rezca, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. Noyyau

    Noyyau Privateer Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm running Slavery (+1:mad: in all cities), that should be the +1 :mad: "We hate our government!", and Caste (+1:mad: in 6 largest cities), which should be +1 :mad: "Large cities are oppressive!"
     
  2. Noyyau

    Noyyau Privateer Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Italy
    Founded a new city, unhappiness from cities has gone to 3.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,852
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    I don't know why your text is missing but I have it.
     
  4. dbkblk

    dbkblk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    @IPEX: After some thoughts, the barbarians razing all other AI is probably due to the current bug where AI units won't heal. That is a serious problem to me but I don't know how to fix that. I hope Afforess knows.
     
  5. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I do know, it's just not a straightforward fix.
     
  6. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    It definitely looks like you have corrupted game files. You are clearly missing the new XML changes to WorldInfos and the Text files, but do have the new DLL. How you managed to pull that off, I am not sure. I'd clean install the mod. I can promise you it's not a problem with my revision, as the SVN clearly shows I included all the XML changes and new text.
     
  7. dbkblk

    dbkblk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    I will release the april build wednesday or thursday if you want to reinstall.

    Ok. I wonder what can have caused this.
     
  8. Noyyau

    Noyyau Privateer Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Italy
    Ok, time to DL and replace some files then.
    Thanks for the help. :)
     
  9. oldnooob

    oldnooob Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Aberdeen Washington
    Fighting Barbarians, land or sea give NO GG points. Is that a correct statement?
     
  10. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,852
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    I actually don't recall if they don't give points at all or if they're simply reduced
     
  11. Rezca

    Rezca The Greatest Jaggi

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,986
    Location:
    United States
    Unless something's changed recently, you need the Barbarian Generals option enabled. Fighting barbarians won't contribute to the Great General pool in any way if it's disabled. At least, that's how I've understood it.
     
  12. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    You understood correct!
     
  13. Noyyau

    Noyyau Privateer Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Italy
    Also a unit can reach at most 40 xp when fighting barbarians (meaning that if a unit with XP >= 40 kills a barbarian, it gets no xp from the battle).

    This number is modifiable in the xml (global defines I think)
     
  14. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Something I noticed in my game, buildings seem slightly too fast to be built. The game I've been playing on and off for around 7 months, (I had to restart it twice coz I died). Its deity and I am currently year AD 1599. You might want to have a look at it if you want feedback/playtesting kinda thing. It's a pretty tough game.. I was at war with Egypt & Holy Romans for most of the early/renaissance eras and finally conquered the Continent. Mayans are way ahead of me in techs now though and they about to invade.

    Anyway, my point was, I have nearly every building in every city as you can see, and I think this is too easy to do. This was probably my biggest pet hate of c2c. You would just shift-queue up ALL the building! It removes the strategy. You should be forced to choose between alternatives. Have to make decisions such as whether to concentrate on science or military buildings or whatever. Not simply be able to build everything everywhere. Obviously I have done this at the expense of my military a little bit. But even still, all buildings at this point only take 2-6 turns.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Sgtslick I have played a few games lately and have thought the same thing.

    45* I am of the opinion that tech research and production costs could both be raised for the entire game by 20% or so safely.
     
  16. dbkblk

    dbkblk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    That should be related to the early tech problem I've reported lately. Maybe it's a collateral effect of Vokarya's improvements?
     
  17. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,852
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    I agree about production cost for buildings. I'm not sure I agree for tech cost. Try some game with autoplay, but try it to the last turn. You'll see that AI almost never reach Transhuman era. Starting industrial, tech costs are probably twice of what they should be. That's why I was interested in trying dbkblk's game where he saw matchlock in 250 BC. I've been never able to reproduce that, no matter what options I've tried and I've autoplayed dozens of games. On the contrary, I can provide plenty of saves showing that after renaissance teching pace is way too slow.
     
  18. oldnooob

    oldnooob Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Aberdeen Washington
    I notice that the Ai does not play the "land grab game" any more. This strategy defeats the domination game because there is no competition for vacant land.
    I have abandoned my last two games of 1500+ turns because simply occupying vacant lands becomes to boring. I am about to give up my current game at 1200 turns for the same reason.
    I like to play war game not political game so I always play domination/ conquest games.
    Is there any concern about AI expansion at this time?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,852
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Then why don't you use revolution if you like war?
     
  20. oldnooob

    oldnooob Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Aberdeen Washington
    Thank you for responding to my post. I take from your response to my question that there is NO concern about AI expansion at this time. Is that so?
     

Share This Page