1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help improve the expansion pack!

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by Thalassicus, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. ilshur

    ilshur Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    A couple of things:

    1) Temple of Artemis doesn't exist, despite being 'unlocked'?
    2) Faith doesn't really spread fast enough. If there is an internal mechanic that can turn down the number of turns per pressure to convert 1 population, i would like to turn that down userside but it should also be turned down a bit within the mod.
    3) Nobody expands! I don't know what it is, but a ton of civ's have their 1 city and never build a second, despite plenty of space and valuable resources literally 1 or 2 tiles away (beyond the tile maximum). Why not? i used IGE to check their unhappiness and most are well into +10 or +20, which is fine for 'flavor happiness' but it really hurts them in the game, science wise.
    4) Using IGE with the "restart map" settings causes some collision of code that results in IGE not working until you exit to menu and restart. Not a big deal, but certainly sub optimal when fishing for a cool map to play on.
    5) I really do love the random 'tile/unit improvement event', it adds excellent flavor and really good reason to sit on 500-1000 gold instead of constantly spending it all down.

    6) More world wonders would be cool, and a mod that allowed all of the natural wonders to be placed when playing a large or huge mod.
     
  2. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    1) Do you own the DLC that includes the Temple of Artemis? We are currently looking for a suitable replacement for the Honor opener and have so far not found one.
    Solution: Get the DLC that has that wonder, or avoid the Honor policy, or don't worry about it too much.:mischief:

    2) Much debating about the spread of :c5faith: has gone into this mod. After a lot of discussion this is the position at which it sits.

    3) This has often been discussed, though we seem to have fixed most of the bugs, the AI has a lot of decisions to make regarding expansion and 99% of them are handled correctly. For the most part this is not an issue and has been solved, which version do you have?

    4) CEP uses a lot of lua code that is loaded in phases to be able to function correctly. Part of the reason why the "Load Game" option is removed.
    Solution: Don't refresh to get that "sweet" map, use Communitas Map instead.

    5) Thalassicus will be pleased as it is mostly his code.:D

    6) Yes, more would be nice.
     
  3. ilshur

    ilshur Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Could you link to which specific DLC this "Wonders of the Ancient World" is?

    Also: It was mentioned earlier in this thread (recently, on alst page) about turning up the ResearchPercentage effect within assets/expansion2 - gameinfo for Marathon to allow for 'longer times to research,' - i remember doing this on a mod a year or two ago, but the same process is not working when i try to edit the actual game XML. Does it need to be within the body of the Mod code so that it 'updates' when loading the mod? i just want to increase the marathon research 300% to 500% or 600% or so, to allow for longer eras.

    Lastly, i do use the commutas map - is there a specific toolfunction that allows for you to peak or reload? as best i can tell, there aren't any tools in the toolbar, but maybe IGE collides with these features.
     
  4. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    The DLC packs are retail products from Firaxis, try searching the Steam Store or some other retail market.

    It is NEVER a good habit to modify the game files directly. Always edit either the modded files or produce your own files that do the task you want.
    If you modify the core game files and then load a mod that does the same thing with different values ALL your edits are removed.

    Regarding reloading or otherwise generating new maps on the fly, looking for just the right one, see point 4).
     
  5. stackpointer

    stackpointer King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    809
    Check the CEP_Options.sql file.
     
  6. ilshur

    ilshur Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Thankyou for this, this answers most of my concerns. And thankyou reign for that bit about changing the core files.

    In the CEP_Options.sql i changed research% from 300 to 500, but is there a way to make wonders cost more, too? are wonders lumped together with construction of builders, or is there a way to partition them?
     
  7. ilshur

    ilshur Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Are these three items being considered for the omnibus update?

    The great people separation of points in particular is a pet peeve of mine, but all of these ideas would make terrific additions to the game.


    Furthermore, would it be possible to have some kind of new unique tile for the map, a "Tidal Estaury" that is navigable by boats but is still essentially a land tile. It would have three different 'types' - Coastal Floodplain, Coast Wetland, and Seabluffs. Coastal floodplain would have identical stats to plains, Coastal Wetlands would be like a marsh, and Seabluff's would be a single Malus (like tundra hill) with an added defensive bonus from Sea-To-Land bombardment for units there.

    Not that there needs a tremendous amount of explanation, but the vast majority of cities were not build right along the coast and a river, but upriver at the highest navigable point (the fallline), and this would be a little more realistic from that sense. it would also help differentiate between cities that are indeed coastal (i.e. NY, Miami, Venice, Shanghai) and those that are upstream. Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Baltimore, London, and others from the world i cannot distinctly recall at the moment are more inland, but still fundamentally a port city.
     
  8. zeemeerman2

    zeemeerman2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    There is something a bit of a small issue/question to me.
    Is it possible to add advanced tooltips to the leader selection panel before the start of the game when hovering over unique units, buildings and improvements?
    At the loading screens, hovering on those bubbles gives the full explanation of the units; but then the game already started.
    At the leader selection, only the name is shown.

    It would be a quality of life improvement if you could see what an unique unit does before the start instead of when starting the game.

    Anyway, I updated the Communitas wiki with Social policies and Civilizations. If anyone can reread to make sure everything is correct, and give feedback about the layout, that would be helpful.
     
  9. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    It is possible to have tooltips display on the leader selection screen. We may get around to adding this in the future but as for now I suggest you look at EUI.

    bc1 has put together an excellent UI modification that also ties in nicely with Communitas. He and the Communitas team are working together to make them work even closer together so that the end result is an almost flawless experience.
     
  10. Spheniscine

    Spheniscine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Couple of oddities I've noticed:
    1. Liburna (Roman unique Trireme) uses the exact same graphics and unit flag as the Bireme, which makes the two naval classes difficult to tell apart (you must hover over each unit)
    2. Ecology, an Atomic Era tech, can be researched after researching only one Modern Era tech (Refrigeration). I don't know what this does to game balance, but I must admit I feel strange slingshotting past an entire era so quickly, then going back to finish the other half of Industrial Age techs.
     
  11. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    You know, when it is said like that, it does sort of stand out as weird design.:D
    This mod has removed Penicillin and also the prereqTech of Plastics from Ecology so, yeah it is VERY EASY to get into a new era.

    I'll do a bit of research and see where this change was made and why.
     
  12. Spheniscine

    Spheniscine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    AI seems to build too many Triremes and not enough Biremes (or their upgraded equivalents; I often see entire fleets of frigates and not a galleon in sight). Once I was Japan and invaded Mongolia's coastal capital by land. They had a huge fleet of triremes in an inland sea, but they couldn't do anything to my units and I ignored them. They then all disappeared when I conquered the capital, as that was their only city.
     
  13. Dunkah

    Dunkah Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Just north of Boston
    That seems like tough luck. The AI can't recognize inland seas like it should. Next time perhaps you could try to modify the map to release them...

    I have noticed a disproportionate amount of ships being built lately.
     
  14. Spheniscine

    Spheniscine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Oh... it's a *navigable* inland sea (the Communitas map script makes sure of that; also avoids frustration of *you* building ships only to realize a sea is non-navigable after exploration); I guess "bay" might be a better term. The AI's error isn't in building many ships, but in building too many triremes, which was useless against my land force. I myself prefer to build about 2-3 biremes per trireme. Biremes are generally more useful for city defense, land bombardment, and sieges. Triremes are only to explore/recon (higher move speed, especially in later eras), protect biremes from other ships, and to capture cities (which is a nice thing about the mod, that you could capture a port city with a purely naval force before landing your troops)
     
  15. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Playing a game today that i reloaded from last nite. I had about 33 happiness last nite. When i reloaded it today i had a negative 184 in happiness. Any ideas?
     
  16. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Some more information like lua logs etc. might be more helpful.
    Versions you are using, any other mods you have active, that sort of thing also is good.
    Perhaps even the saved game in question.
    On a minor note posting in either the 'Bug Reporting' or the main section would been a better place to put this, but that's just a minor point.
     
  17. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Er Lua logs? is that some kind of exotic dance? I dont suppose that is any way related to XML, C++ or Python that i learned for civ 4 is it? Not using any other mods except those from here. i have the save game still
     
  18. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Ahh! okay, have a look here for how to enable logs in the game.
     
  19. Psionyx

    Psionyx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Otogakure
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but I don't feel it's important enough to make a whole topic out of so forgive me if this is wrong.

    Does activating AI and Tools to utilize the Interface mod make any changes to the AI or do you need Ceg to make any changes to the game. I really like the promotions showing above the unit flags, but I don't want any gameplay changes.

    It sounds like it does from the description on the wiki but when playing I kept feeling that I may have been experiencing a placebo effect.
     
  20. 59saintdane

    59saintdane Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    The promotions above the unit flags don't seem to appear in strategic view unless the unit is garrisoned.
    Also, is there any chance at all of the newest versions being uploaded to the Steam Workshop?
    One more thing: I'm playing with the Steam Workshop version, so not sure if this has been fixed yet, but all my cities seem to be getting a 4 food per turn penalty. Any idea why this is?
     

Share This Page