1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with early research rate on IMM

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by gavenkoa, Nov 22, 2019.

  1. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    Finland
    Moving to the forest is one turn, chopping itself is 3, thus making the cost of chopping 4 worker turns.

    Well, you can get them via whip.
    Yes, "overflow" is mentioned very often on this forum for some reason. Whipping is not good because of overflow, whipping is good because it transforms :food: to :hammers: at a good rate with a granary. However, as already pointed out, if :)-cap doesn't allow, don't whip. If you don't whip, don't build a granary.

    Well, despite you get unhappy at size 5, double food allows you to grow quickly even with one unhappy citizen. Another possibility is putting a chop into the library and 2-pop whipping. If you are planning to run scientists, it's likely that you should skip the granary, too, as you won't be growing anyway.
     
    gavenkoa likes this.
  2. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    Finland
    Played quickly to T50
    Spoiler :
    Hunting-mining-BW-pottery-(writing). Grew to size 3, started settler. Settled 2nd T36 (chopped under it to settle 1T quicker, but maybe a mistake and should have insta-chopped axe). Didn't know at all what to expect from imm raging barbs.

    Civ4ScreenShot0110.JPG

    T50 3rd settler on the way and producing 3rd worker. Barbs giving trouble as I didn't keep the axe on the hill in the west... Economy is +15:science: -4:gold: before settling 3rd. Haven't even started on the cottages yet, but their time is soon. As you can see, every city is insta-connected when founded due to river. You need zero roads for a long time on this map. Improve food, chop.

    Civ4ScreenShot0111.JPG

    I'm not sure why you are giving yourself extra trouble with these settings. Flat world wrap makes cities more expensive. Raging barbs adds randomness and makes learning harder.
     
    krikav and gavenkoa like this.
  3. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks all for your effort to point for weaknesses!

    If forgot about this. If both X & Y wrap cost is increased two times. With only one coordinate it is near 50% more expensive (exact value depends on X/Y ratio).

    3rd Worker is unusual pattern in my gameplay. Looking to your screenshot provided I see the reason (one is chopping for the capitol, and 2 other cities need at least one to provide improvements while cities grow). I should pay more attention to this.
     
    ManUnited4Ever likes this.
  4. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    Finland
    Of course you can also steal workers, but you don't need to. I think you could benefit a lot from learning how to set up a solid 4 city empire and then expanding via construction war.
     
  5. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    I took advice in my 3rd attempt, I haven't build army yet but 12T off the Steel.

    I failed Wonders for 2000 Gold (rotating Wonders between cities), won Liberalism & Economy (with Trade Mission of 900G - I don't know how to maximize it), ran one Golden Age and just got another with Taj Mahal.

    upload_2019-11-24_21-17-26.png

    upload_2019-11-24_21-19-54.png

    upload_2019-11-24_21-16-51.png

    upload_2019-11-24_21-20-54.png

    upload_2019-11-24_21-15-0.png
     

    Attached Files:

    ManUnited4Ever likes this.
  6. Gumbolt

    Gumbolt Phoenix Rising

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,353
    Location:
    UK
    Cuirs? Why steel? 1mp units are a pain. Steel takes too long.
     
  7. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis Prince

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    593
    Gender:
    Male
    The money that trade missions give, IIRC, is based on the value of a theoretical trade route from the city you conduct the trade mission in to your capitol. Anything that increases the value of a city's trade routes (high pop, Temple of Artemis, Harbor, being on another continent, etc.) will boost the money you get from a Great Merchant trade mission. In my (admittedly limited) experience, however, it's not a very large difference either way. Sending your GM to the nearest, biggest capitol/coastal city with a Harbor will generally yield enough money to make sending him to the other side of the world for the Temple of Artemis not worth it.

    There's a way to check how much money you can get from a trade mission without committing the GM's turn, though. If I remember right hold Shift, click on the "Go To" command and left-click on the city you want to inspect. The game will cue the move order and wait for you to cue another command, which includes the option to conduct a trade mission in that city. Keep holding shift the entire time, and simply hover the mouse over the trade mission button to see how much it's worth. If you don't want to commit the cued move order hit the cancel button to cancel it, then let go of shift. Otherwise, let go of shift before hitting cancel, and the GM will proceed with the move order.
     
    gavenkoa likes this.
  8. krikav

    krikav Theorycrafter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,825
    Location:
    Sweden
    There is absolutely nothing wrong with going steel. Cannons are incredibly powerful if you get them fast enough. And even if you don't, they still serve you well for a looong time.
    I agree that if you want to attack Gandhi or some culture spammer, it's really painfull to swim through like 7 turns of culture, but in practice, 1m units have access to roads alot of the time in between wars and reaching vunerable boarder cities is doable not on T0, but often T1 of the war.
     
    gavenkoa likes this.
  9. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    Probably you revealed another my problem. I forgot about rivals and haven't explored territory. I don't have Horses and probably need to trade for them... I've never bought resources, just sell surplus if price is acceptable...
     
    ManUnited4Ever likes this.
  10. gavenkoa

    gavenkoa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    I searched for these magical steps earlier )) Found here: https://forums.civfanatics.com/thre...willem-van-oranje.374832/page-11#post-9576182

    They work only if city is visible. It can save some backside steps. Nonetheless you need to uncover cities (with extra helper or mountains?).

    It was hard to find the way as for the rally point ))
     
    ManUnited4Ever likes this.

Share This Page