1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Create a Civilization in BTS

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by CaptainLepidus, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    The mod.
    Look at it and see what's wrong, there's no problem, just start the game and give the Civilopedia a look, please :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    ...er...you noticed the bunch of error messages which you get when you load your mod :D? these which say "Failed loading file"? -> that means the text is not loaded out of these files.

    1) CIV4GameText_Civilopedia_BTS.xml, TXT_KEY_CIV_FINLAND_PEDIA is missing the /english end tag

    2) CIV4GameText_Objects_BTS.xml,
    PHP:
        <TEXT>TXT_KEY_CIV_FINLAND_ADJECTIVE</Tag>
    3) CIV4GameText_Cities_BTS.xml, you forgot all the
    PHP:
    <TEXT>
    tags around your cities.
     
  3. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    I tired, there's one error.
    Failed Loading XML file cities.xml (the city file)
    File : (file mentioned, xml\text\civ4gametext_cites_bts_xml
    Reason: End tag TEXT does not match the start tag Spanish.
    I'll snoop around and see whats wrong, though.
    Everything else works fine.
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    That means the end tag
    PHP:
    </Spanish>
    is missing somewhere.

    Short check:
    PHP:
    <Spanish>Aanekoski/Spanish>
     
  5. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    Figured that one out, did a few more edits to that file...
    AND IT WORKS :D:D:D
    Now for all the civilopedia entrances.
     
  6. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    Okay, I did what you said. But I'm still getting the same error:
    Failed Loading XML file xml\text\gametextinfos_yourciv.xml
    Reason: End tag 'TEXT' does not match the start tag 'English'.
    Line: 382,4
    Source: </TEXT>:sad::sad:
     
  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    You saw the last discussion above your post :D?
     
  8. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    Okay, I'm pretty sure I fixed that. Thanks! However, now it says Beyond the Sword has stopped working without giving me an error. Could you maybe find all of whatever is wrong with it?:(:(:(:(:(:(:(
     

    Attached Files:

  9. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    a) INFOS PLEASE! I can't read your mind, i don't know what you did, and if you don't give me any infos, then looking at the stuff will even take longer. And that's not fun.

    b) When civ crashes without any error message, then the cause is nearly always, that you defined in some file an ART_DEF_XYZ entry which is not in the corresponding ArtDefines_XY.xml.
    Short check, the ART_DEF_UNIT_ZIM_LOYAL_FIGHTER from unit infos is not in the ArtDefines_units.xml, but there's a second entry for the marine at the end. I guess you forgot to edit the tag there ;).
     
  10. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    I did what you said in part b. Same errors. I have no idea what you mean by 'INFOS'. Anyway, please help!:please:
     
  11. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    ...you should tell me what you did.
    What you do here is like going to the doctor, and tell him "I'm ill, give me some medicaments."


    And nope, with that change it loads for me, but you should correct the 2 errors, else it will probably crash if you try to play your civ.
     
  12. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    Listen, I'm really confused. I went through my files and I didn't see anything wrong! PLEASE find the problem!
     

    Attached Files:

  13. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    First error message: TECH_LIBERTY in info class was incorrect. I guess you meant TECH_LIBERALISM there, right?

    Second: Copy the ART_DEF tags over, or search for them if you are unsure if you got the right one. Even if you are sure, and when you closely looked at them.
    Because in UnitInfos:
    ART_DEF_UNIT_ZIM_LOYAL_FIGHTER
    In ArtDefines_Units:
    ART_DEF_UNIT_ZIMBABWEAN_ZIM_LOYAL_FIGHTER
     
  14. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    Ok... I fixed that, still crashes with no error. I'm almost ready to give up!:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    Do you have a UB?
     
  16. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    no i don't
     
  17. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    Try getting one, this is for BtS.
     
  18. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    :huh: in the attached files you still have the error i mentioned above. It's there still
    UnitInfos: ART_DEF_UNIT_ZIM_LOYAL_FIGHTER
    ArtDefines_Units: ART_DEF_UNIT_ZIMBABWEAN_ZIM_LOYAL_FIGHTER
     
  19. civlearner99

    civlearner99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MA, USA
    THANK YOU SO MUCH! MY MOD WORKS!!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    I just have one last question: How can I have my Niger civ with my Zimbabwe civ in the same mod? In other words how can I have two new civilizations in one mod easily?
     
  20. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,849
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    You would have to merge all the files.
    Means you put all the civ entries into just one CivilizationInfos.xml, all leaderheads into 1 leaderheadInfos.xml, etc.
     

Share This Page