1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Imperialism 3 - Now with 100% more Lua!

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Scenario League' started by CurtSibling, Mar 18, 2021.

  1. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    I always design my unit stats with the Muskateer/Knight slot problem in mind, so it's more likely the AI is passing up on building barracks, which unlock many infantry units.
    I think I might have to tweak the CanBuildSettings file to allow all civs to have at least one ground unit that can always be trained...Perhaps Cavalry.
     
  2. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    We shall see! :)
     
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,985
    Gender:
    Male
    May be another part of the puzzle about the very high amount of ships in this scenario is, that I haven´t found a building like Capitalization in the original game. This means, when there are no more buildings (or the few wonders) to build, every civ in this scenario must build units and build and build... and now if some cities only can build ships or the AI thinks that ships are more preferable to another unit that is offered in the game, this could result in the masses of ships that TooTall has noticed in his testgame. I like ships a lot, but they need enough room to move.

    I have tons of ships in my testgame, too - but not such an invasion of ships covering nearly every tile in the game. On the other side, I´m only playing at General level and I´m only in 1876.
     
  4. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    To be honest, this sort of thing is classic CIV2 AI behaviour, which I recall in earlier scenarios I made, long, long before I even touched Imperialism.

    One way to stop the infernal nautical assembly line is to use Lua, which I am pretty sure can stop certain units being produced at a set amount.
    The independents seem to be a major offender, so I could simple remove their ability to build war ships when they are AI, also with Lua, maybe.
    I am wondering if @JPetroski or @Prof. Garfield could perhaps shine some light on any possibilities here?

    A time-tested way to clear the sea lanes is pay that sneaky gold and get a war started between civs...That always removes a lot of ships!
     
  5. Prof. Garfield

    Prof. Garfield Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,417
    Location:
    Ontario
    If we want to limit each Civ to, say, 100 ships, but don't really care if they actually have a few more, then there is a relatively simple way.

    For each tribe, have a flag "CanBuildShipsTribei", and during each after production phase, count the number of ships that tribe has, and set the flag accordingly. The canBuildSettings have a setting to let you build or not build on the basis of the state of flags.

    However, in this case, the situation is the result of over 150 turns of production, so it might make more sense to 'help' the AI a bit instead. You could count the ships each AI tribe has, and if they have 'too many', you can delete some of the more obsolete ones and give them some modern equivalents, or some improvements to build more modern stuff, or the tech, or whatever.

    You might also change this COSMIC2 parameter:
    - AICapitalizationLimit: Number of units after which the AI switches to Capitalization. Default is 512.
     
  6. tootall_2012

    tootall_2012 King

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    For my part, I would rather complete a full scenario before making any final recommendations.

    For one thing, I noticed that the latter naval units are much more expensive than the earlier versions and this should help thin out the numbers in the latter part of the game.

    Also, I'm currently on July 1885 and for perhaps the last 6 to 8 turns there is basically a world war going on between all the major powers that has gradually been thinning out the fleets of all combatants: France is at war with Germany, Russia and Japan; Japan is at war with the British and Independents; the Independents are at war with the Americans, Japan and British, etc.
     
  7. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Playing as Bismarck - I have a similar situation, I assumed all was good, once I had humbled France and conquered 70% of Africa...(A fun campaign in itself.)

    The wars began to erupt...I think it might be due to the fact the Imperialism (Civ2 Commie) government is now available to most players. It makes them aggressive.
    In 1887, out of the blue, USA attacked me, triggering my alliances with Russia (at war with Britain and Japan) and the Independents (previously in a rare peace with the US).
    The British dived in too. Victoria has Armored Cruisers and Battleships. The naval massacre on the US East Coast has been severe...Luckily, I am at peace with the Brits.

    Those fast destroyers are great for sweeping in, sinking a target, and pulling away safely. My fleet is mostly these, with Battleships for the big jobs.

    Basically, whoever gets to Battleships and Dreadnoughts first will wipe the floor with all rivals...
     
  8. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    UPDATE!
    New version uploaded on the first post!

    Some funky fresh graphics...Minor tweaks to events, rules and Lua. Nothing major or game changing at this stage.
    Added an interim solution for the barbs on Crete and Cyprus, transport ships will appear regularly to take them on adventures...Hopefully!

    Also some advice for those with dark a gloomy looking unit colour shields - :)
    Go to the menu indicated below and enter "30" for both settings.
    Options1.png
    Say goodbye to the depressing old-style ToT team colours.

    Difficulty level "Prince" is now the recommended level, but real men should go a level higher a play as "King".
    The AI might surprise you!

    For the new content, please head to the 1st post on the thread and DL the new file.
    Sounds are now included in the main zip.
     
    voltar likes this.
  9. tootall_2012

    tootall_2012 King

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Hi Curt,

    Just another brief update. I’ve reached April 1887 and the half way point of the game (turn 208 of 400). Phew, I knew this was going to be a long one, but loving every bit of it! :crazyeye::goodjob:

    I’ve been running under Imperialism perhaps for the last two years so I could pursue my expansionist campaigns against Germany and Russia.

    As I’ve built a number of Factory/Steel Mill combinations in a few of my cities in Europe, I’ve been able to produce a growing assortment of advanced weaponry such as Armoured Cruisers and Battleships, along with Machine Gun, Infanterie II and Rifled Gun units to fight my European wars. Other parts of my Empire still have to make due with older technologies.

    Therefore, besides continuing to control Spain, Italy, Denmark and central Europe, I'd been waging a huge battle for control of eastern Europe against the Russian along the Polish and Ukrainian borders. It took me more than a year to break into Warsaw but since then have made slow but steady progress to the point were I just recently captured Moscow and now St-Petersburg with the Russian fighting every inch of the way (no spoilers on that last battle). To date, I’ve been unable to break their resistance around Kiev and have suffered my fair share of casualties in their valiant defense of that city.

    I've also captured all of Scandinavia and Finland from both the Germans and Russians. The Germans are down to just possessing Iceland and a few holdings in South Africa and China.

    In addition to my previous African conquests, France has now extended its Empire to cities both north and south of the Sahara desert (save the British coastal cities in West Africa). I’ve moved on from the Nile river to capture Ethiopia, Somalia and from Madagascar have extend my reach into Mozambique.

    From South East Asia I’ve moved into southern China and been waging a pitiless war against the Japanese Empire in this area and to date have captured Kunming, Nanning and Canton.

    I’ve been running my tax rate at 40% tax, 50% science and 10% luxury to keep up with the British research. This allows me to maintain a 1 tech per 8 turn’s rate but nets me a small deficit of 150 gold per turn. But given that I still maintain a healthy trade exchange primarily with the British and Americans my treasury stands at over 49,000 gold (compared to 35,000 for my nearest competitor the US) and thus running a deficit is not a major concern. Besides I could easily raise my tax rate to 50% and automatically have a 350 gold per turn surplus.

    I currently possess 69 technologies, with most of my latest advances acquired through research and some trading with Britain. I’m currently researching Militarism. By contrast the other powers own: America 54, Britain 67, Germany 34, Independents 36, Japan 37, Russia 35 (to date my two partial playthroughs seem to indicate these last three powers appear to have more difficulty keeping up in the science race).

    As such, my current city tally stands at 121 just a few more than the British Empire whose borders we share more and more of. To be honest, I'm surprised they haven't declared war on me in all this time given our very close race for world dominance.

    As I mentioned previously, and suspected might happen, the combined world wars have definitely had their toll on the combatants fleet sizes. As you can see from the casualties report below roughly 2700 naval vessels now litter the bottom of the ocean floor and as the more modern vessels are not only more expensive to produce but have more stringent building prerequisites (Internatioanl Ports and Steel Mills) there are fewer of them around, at least at this stage of the game:

    upload_2021-4-17_11-6-19.png

    The large fleets that use to obstruct my ports are for the most part largely gone, though there are still a few smaller sized groupings here and there:

    upload_2021-4-17_11-10-53.png

    Finally, since I'm not certain how consequential the latest changes you've made are and because I've past the half way point of the scenario I think it might be best if I keep playing with the version I have now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2021
    CurtSibling likes this.
  10. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Nice report, sir! All praise Napoleon III, his illustrious uncle would be proud! I think the new update should not affect anything mechanical in your game,
    as it really just makes some changes to graphics and tweaks the Russian elite regt. I notice in your screen shot that the civ colours are not showing
    on your units? I think Civinator worked out why some people were getting the colours and some were not. I can assure you the version I have does work.
    Bit if it doesn't bother you, then we can leave things as they are.
     
  11. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,985
    Gender:
    Male
    Curt, if this post is meant: https://forums.civfanatics.com/thre...with-100-more-lua.668479/page-7#post-16067419 here I only worked out, why animated sprites of the original game can appear during a game with this scenario, despite the fact that animated units in this scenario are grayed out. I posted nothing about colours (especially nothing about mask colours of animated units).

    In my current game I´m now entering 1878. :eek:
     
  12. tootall_2012

    tootall_2012 King

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Hi Curt,

    Here is the latest update. I’ve reached June 1892 (turn #270).

    I continue to operate under Imperialism and currently possess 183 cities around the world.

    Back in February 1891, I took the plunge and finally declared war on my greatest rival, Queen Victoria’s Britain, and invaded that island nation. It was a tough nut to crack, but I just completed the conquest of her home island last turn when I captured Glasgow. It was made somewhat easier by the fact that the island had primarily only defensive units (mainly Maxim Guns) and very little offensive type units to repel me.

    All the same, Britain remains a powerful nation as it continues to hold sway over most of the Middle East to Burma, along with Canada and Australia and a few isolated possessions here and there.

    In Europe proper, I control all of the continent west of the Ural Mountains to the shores of Portugal. The only remaining hold outs are Ireland, Gibraltar/Malta and the Southern Balkans.

    I control almost all of Africa save the few British controlled areas in West Africa, South Africa and the Horn of Africa (which I’m currently conducting operations to capture). It’s a slower process to conduct operations in my outlying regions as I need to gradually feed my campaigns with fresh and more modern troops from my more advanced European cities (especially against English territories which also has possess modern units).

    I like that part of the scenario very much, i.e. it’s not like you can capture a remote city in Africa, for example, and immediately start building tanks and heavy artillery in it on the next turn, not at all! To build these types of units you need to have the prerequisite productive improvements in place and that takes a lot of time to do. Hence, it becomes vitally important to set up a naval transportation system, with corresponding ports along the way, to ferry your troops from one trouble spot to another around the world. It thus becomes critical to have a navy sufficiently strong enough to protect those vital shipping lanes or to contest other powers lanes. There’s a lot of strategic thinking and planning that goes into this scenario. :):goodjob:

    In the Far East my land battle against Japan in China is a very slow grind, as they have a very large army and are able to produce score more. To date I’ve only managed to capture Amoy (along with Hong Kong from the British) since my conquests of Nanning and Canton. On the other hand, I was able to launch successful invasions of the island cities of Taipei, Naha and Shinsho. I need to bring more troops over from Europe to augment my strength but that takes times as gathering troop convoys in the Italian port of Taranto and escorting them safely to Saigon can take around 6 months.

    I currently possess 85 technologies and currently am researching Carrier Operations. My research rate is 1 advance per 5 turns (4 if I run a deficit).

    That leaves me 4 other advances to research in game, as there are only a total of 89 researchable techs in the scenario, which I should be able to complete in roughly 20 turns or so. After which only ‘The 20th Century’ (aka Future Tech) will be available to research for the remaining 100 game turns.

    By contrast the other powers own: America 64, Britain 84, Germany 55, Independents 39, Japan 40, Russia 37. For Germany and Russia, in this play through at least, it makes sense since they’ve both lost 50% and more of their cities.

    But for the Independents, Japan and America who still control large numbers of cities I would expect them to be more advanced. As such, I continue to wonder whether in a single human vs AI scenario if most of the other powers can keep up in the arms race. This is important as a technological edge in most games will give the player a definite advantage over their opponents, particularly if that player is human.

    Case in point, up till very recently, Japan was only able to primarily build Gunboats and Steam Frigates and I have gradually been sending more and more sophisticated warships (Battleships, Dreadnought and lastly Battlecruisers) to the area to the point that I now largely control the South and East China Seas and have made it a graveyard for Russian and Japanese vessels. You expect some kind of discrepancy in the technological progress of different civilizations during a game but the fact that I was able to research, buy, or trade 54 advances (I started with 31) in 270 turns to Japan’s 13 (they started with 27) may suggest some kind of aid may be required for the AI?

    In the naval arms race, as I expected, most of the other powers, are still unable to produce the more advanced ships and as such the seas are no longer as cluttered as previously.

    upload_2021-4-28_13-17-25.png

    Finally, I noticed that the ‘Tank Design’ advance obsoletes both the Rifled Gun and Artillery units, which are both supposed to be superseded by the Heavy Artillery unit. As you know both the latter units require the much more expensive and difficult to build Factory and Steel Mill improvement in a city to be able to produce them, whereas the Rifled Gun only requires the cheaper Local Industry and Barracks improvements. So when I researched the ‘Tank Design’, the majority of my cities which could still build Rifled Guns, and not the more expensive Heavy Artillery, ceased to be able to build any artillery units at all. Was that by design?

    Otherwise, I continue to thoroughly enjoy the playing experience, even though I've been playing it for a few weeks now. There's always a new challenge to overcome or new strategy to devise.:thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2021
  13. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Great report, @tootall_2012 - I think your conquest will end in glorious victory that will avenge 1815, many times over! :)

    Really pleased to hear you found the challenge to be fun! Moving units from the homelands to the battlefronts out in the empire was one of the things I aimed for. I'm so glad I
    listened to the advice of @JPetroski on this matter. It adds a whole new layer of play to the game. Like my experience with moving fast some destroyers down to Durban and
    playing havoc with the less-advanced naval forces of my enemies down there...My advanced units made a long journey, and ended up being pivotal to victory for my colony.

    I had a look at the artillery situation, and yes, there must always be some kind of gun buildable for distant colonies or second line defence areas.
    Code:
    Rifled Gun,      nil, 0,  1.,0, 10a,1d,  2h,2f,  6,0,  0, Mat, 000000000000000
    Artillery,       nil, 0,  1.,0, 12a,1d,  3h,2f,  8,0,  0, Met, 000000001000000
    
    Please go to your rules file and paste this line over the Artillery line, or just add "nil" to the obsolete tech...

    I'll have an update maybe this weekend, with a few unit art tweaks and the artillery changes, etc.

    Looking forward to seeing how your final campaign for domination goes...Vive la France! :)
     
  14. tootall_2012

    tootall_2012 King

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Hi Curt,

    Thank you for the confirmation on the artillery units. I made the change to rules file.

    I have a follow up question that I should have asked sometime ago. When I captured the cities of Warsaw and Krakow, I believe they were each in the process of building Polish Lancers, so I kept producing them.
    I later realized that when I looked in the Production build queue for these 2 cities that the unit was not in the available builds list:

    upload_2021-4-28_16-25-19.png


    But when I check the canBuildSettings.lua file the code seems to stipulate that I only need to control the city and have a Barracks in it to build them.

    Code:
    --Control of the Polish home cities will enable an  empire to recruit Polish Lancers
    unitTypeBuild[object.uPolishLancers.id] = {location=PoleHomeCities,allImprovements={object.iBarracks}}
    
    If that is the case, shouldn't I see them in the builds list?
     
  15. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    @tootall_2012
    I think there was a little error with the Lancer's obsolete tech, it should have been the final tank tech (Mob), like all the cav units.
    Code:
    Polish Lancers,  Mob, 0,  2.,0,  9a,2d,  2h,2f,  8,0,  0, Hor, 000000000000011
    Check that the Polish Lancer line in Rules.txt matches the code above...If not, you can copy the code here...

    Or better yet, DL the latest update (on page 1) which from your screenshot, I can see you are not using...;)
     
  16. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,985
    Gender:
    Male
    My current testgame now has reached the end of 1878 - and it is still fun. :) As anounced, in this year some Zulu warrior raised up in the African part of my empire. My Boers were prepared - but to my surprise until now they were not needed. Many Zulu warriors wanted to become members of my army and they were cheap - in my eyes much to cheap. One Impi for 62 gold, this is a good deal and my Impi armies not only eliminmated the Zulu units that were not reached by my agent, but also conquered some oriental African cities, too. Now in December 1878 some of them are on the way to free Windhoek, followed by the not needed Boers.

    Can it be, that bribing these oriental warriors is much to cheap ??

    Zulu War.jpg
     
  17. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Aha...:) I'll look into the bribe amount for the barbs for this update, nice find!
    If I may ask, civinator, what version are you using? The terrain is outdated looking.
     
  18. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,985
    Gender:
    Male
    Curt, I use the version Imperialism3 v3 and, as far as I remember, made no updates. About the bribed barbs: May be the best could be to set them not bribeable.
     
  19. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    There is a new zip on the first page. Nothing in it should mess up your save.
     
  20. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,985
    Gender:
    Male
    O.k. I installed the last version and started an old save file with the Zulu rebellion. Now the bribe cost is 70 gold for a Zulu warrior. Considering, that I have more than 6.000 gold per turn (without gains from caravans) this is still absolutely nothing. When having this much overpowered French wonder that allows Fundamentalism nearly from the start of the game in combination with agents it even could be considered, if that civ still needs any production of new land units at all. May be it could be sufficient to send recruiting agents all over the world to recruit all kinds of barbs for nearly no gold.

    Zulubribe-new.jpg
     

Share This Page