1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Improved Graphics for CIV

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Chuggi, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Can anyone tell me if it's possible to merge this mod with something like Thomas's War?
     
  2. IgorS

    IgorS Your ad could be here!

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rishon
    The way you install this MOD affects the entire game, so it is possible to merge it with anything you want.
     
  3. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Okay, I installed it as a custom asset last night but it only affects vanilla BTS, is there a guide for merging it with a mod? Thanks.
     
  4. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Well, putting them in a similar folder structure in your mod should do.
    At least, my version of the Cultural Citystyles mod shows it.
     
  5. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Oh, I'm not a mod creator, I just wanted to know how to merge it with something like Thomas's War or similar large mods so I can get the benefit of the better textures.
     
  6. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    Do it the exact same way you did it with vanilla, except in the mod's assets folder
     
  7. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    So I drag IG's 'Custom Assets' folder into a mod's 'Assets' folder? If so, it doesn't seem to be working for me.
     
  8. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    Not exactly. Put the folders that are inside IG's custom assets/art folder in to the mods assets/art folder.
     
  9. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    I tried copying it into Quot Capita but the game crashes when I load a previous saved game. I thought it would be okay because it has Varietas Delectat in it. Any ideas? Thank you.
     
  10. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    I have no idea then. I guess something in IG is clashing with Quote capita's terrain art.
     
  11. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Yeah, I also noticed a problem with Legends of Revolutions, at least in Hotseat. It works fine in single player but when I start a hotseat game and put a city down, all these circles with the number '138' appear near my city and I get 'founded religion' dialog boxes.
     
  12. IgorS

    IgorS Your ad could be here!

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rishon
    I really don't know what you people are talking about. I installed it exactly the way it says in the instruction and it affects everything in my game- Vanilla, Warlords, BTS, mods, everything.
     
  13. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    ...unless a mod turns off the custom assets. Then you need to put the relevant files into the mod folder - and then you need to check for conflicts.

    Cheers, LT.
     
  14. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Yeah, still having no luck with QC. I'll keep an eye out for answers.
     
  15. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    Like Lord Tirian just said, the custom assets needs to be turned on to work with a mod. Which could be your problem with LoR since custom assets is off by default, not sure though because what youve described sounds screwy as all hell. If you can wait till the next version of LoR (not the version that will come out today but in 1-2 weeks), I will have merged in all the IG graphics with the Blue Marble add-on.
     
  16. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    I can surely wait, but which version comes out today? Thanks.
     
  17. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    Um, honestly not quite sure. 0.96a was to see if anyone could find bugs since all art was rebuilt from ground up to reorganize and weed out stuff and eliminate bad artdefines, so probably this will be 0.96b or 0.97. And it might be tommorow depending on how fast phungus finishes.

    To be honest, I would have merged in Improved Graphics2.0 long ago. BM is so much more well known, that I never mentioned IG. Though after seeing the stuff in game I can no longer hold out, and have to merge this stuff in. Hopefully oneday this modcomp will be "undead", or someone else will pick up the cause.
     
  18. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    What kind of help do you need? I am willing to be taught.
     
  19. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Well... you could always do that, no? :p

    Yeah, hoping the same here, because it's a really nice modcomp. There's also something pretty interesting out there - Walter Hawkwood's TR mod seems to have some updated terrain graphics, also partially based on this (I remember some screenshots he made) - and they looked pretty cool as well. So anybody who wants to revive this may want to get in touch with him, he might help or share his stuff...

    Also, the world map thread in the main forum by kevinman seems to have a rather nice water texture (also unreleased, so far), because the water is a bit of a weak spot in IG, IMHO (it just looks too much like recoloured noise/cloud effects).

    Cheers, LT.
     
  20. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey everyone,

    Sorry I've haven't been around for a while. My computer was crashing a bit at the time I disappeared and then after I fixed it I could never find the time for modding. I'm pretty sure most of the work I've done is out there somewhere, but if anyone knows something that I haven't released I can look on my harddrive and upload it.

    Also, try to keep the technical questions to a minimum - I've forgotten most of the unit making tricks I learnt. :( I'll try and update this mod a bit.
     

Share This Page