1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Improved Graphics for CIV

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Chuggi, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Any news on the next version, Chuggi? :)

    Cheers, LT.
     
  2. ecc

    ecc Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    I'm having the same problem. I uninstalled blue marble, cleared the cache, copied all files into the directory with overwrite but still no difference. I'm hoping that maybe someone will create an INSTALLER for this please and some in-game notification to verify it's running.:)
     
  3. ten_yen

    ten_yen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I found another leaderhead bug: If you refuse Washington anything, his figure freezes but his face does not. It's actually pretty funny... he makes a lot of weird faces and rolls his eyes, but I'm assuming you didn't mean to make him frozen when when he does that.
     
  4. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    Nice work, but it seams a littlen bit too dark ?

    And it always miss a texture like "savanna" or dry plain, between Plain & Desert.
    That will be really more realistic !

    Snow-> Tundra-> Grassland-> Plain-> Savanna-> Desert.

    white - brown - deep green - light green - light brown - sand yellow.

    Savanna trees or bush will be extra (!).

    With python adding savanna to the right place between Plaine and Desert.

    No more plains an then Desert.
     
  5. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    North east China, central Asia, Middle east, Africa and Central america need savanna plains & deserts to be really realistic.

    The Savanna Terrain, features, resources .XML could be balanced too.
     
  6. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    For My Civ 4 I'v add a terrain feature in the XML Art => Civ4Artdefines_Terrain.XML,

    terrain grass= GrassBlend.dds

    terrain plain= PlainsBlend.dds

    * terrain savanna= Light/PlainsBlend.dds *

    terrain desert= DesertBlend.dds

    That very simple modification add very realistic graphics to a heart map.

    (need to add change XML, folder terrain, terrain.XML and add savanna)
     
  7. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
  8. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    I'm looking for ,a very long time, when a "goodguy" will add some new relief graphics, like plato, small hills, depression (land below sea level), sandy coast, rocky coast etc...

    Don't you think it could be the next stepp ?
    :drool:

    that new relief graphics could add strategic effects :

    rocky coast-> impassable To amphibious Units,

    land below sea level-> defense bonus -10, etc.
     
  9. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I actually think Chuggis is on hiatus for now, so I'm not sure any of this is going to be finished or worked on anytime soon.
     
  10. Chiyochan

    Chiyochan King

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Chiyochan's Country
    i like the water but the terrain is very muted and boring and hard to look at, makes everything look like its under a big rain cloud,
     
  11. SpaceCowboy_MA

    SpaceCowboy_MA Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    It can easily be merged with mods like Varietas Delectat if you like, or you can place it in your custom assets making it available for all of your games.

    Have IG and VD both installed and working loaded as mods. How does one merge them?
     
  12. NubianMercenary

    NubianMercenary Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Earth
    *Waiting for an update*
     
  13. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Well, according to his profile, Chuggi wasn't online since November... :(

    Cheers, LT.
     
  14. NubianMercenary

    NubianMercenary Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Earth
    Holziz!

    Awh man, that sucks big time.
     
  15. PTM

    PTM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Darn shame Chuggi's gone. I take it the latest updates he posted simply aren't available? I'd love to mess with some map scripts and his graphics to produce maps with dusty desert/savannah, white sands, etc.
     
  16. Magma

    Magma Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark


    By looking at this I can't help but thinking: "ET phone hooooome!"

    Very cool work though :)
     
  17. -Perceval-

    -Perceval- Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Can't download, can you put in in filefront?
     
  18. -Perceval-

    -Perceval- Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Fine, the download works!
    Is the mod compatible with 3.19?
     
  19. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    It should be, its just a graphics mod.
     
  20. Daryl95

    Daryl95 Templar

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    America
    Try downloading this Button Creator. I know I intended it for buttons but you can use dxtbmp to convert the dds textures to bmp, then use the image resizer to shrink them, finally
    you convert then back to dds. You will then have some lowres graphics that should play on your computer. Hopefully nothing turns out to be a different filetype than I expect. There might be some stuff you can't edit with this.
     

Share This Page