1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

IndieStone - Visual Tech Tree Editor

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Utility Programs' started by lemmy101, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. Decimatus

    Decimatus King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    853
    Just had an exception that is prohibiting me from exporting.

    This happened when I tried to export after modifying a few buildings and adding 1 new building.


    System.Collections.Generic.KeyNotFoundException: The given key was not present in the dictionary.
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2.get_Item(TKey key)
    at IndieStoneTools.Forms.Export.SaveISMod()
    at IndieStoneTools.Forms.Export.button2_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
     
  2. Decimatus

    Decimatus King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    853
    Edit: Nevermind, I can just manually add new ID numbers.
     
  3. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    "Things like yield per pop" That's because they're in a separate table, the building row doesn't reference them at all. May add something that compiles all rows that reference something together though.
     
  4. Decimatus

    Decimatus King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    853
    I suppose if you do keep going in that route you will have to change the name of this from "Tech Editor" to "Civ5 Editor". :p
     
  5. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Ha, yeah I think that ship has already sailed. ;D I'm sure that name change will happen at some point. :D
     
  6. blazekid87

    blazekid87 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    NYC
    I keep getting this error when trying to load up my .modinfo file.

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Collections.Generic.KeyNotFoundException: The given key was not present in the dictionary.
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2.get_Item(TKey key)
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechEditorGlobals.LoadNewRow(Civ5XmlGameDataRow row)
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechEditorGlobals.DB_LoadedDatabase(Civ5XmlDatabase db)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.OnLoadedDatabase()
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.SetExternalLoad(Boolean bLoading)
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.DoLoad(String[] FileNames)
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.LoadMod()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.Form1.modmodinfoIntoCurrentToolStripMenuItem_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTechEditor
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Blaze/Desktop/TechEditor/IndieStoneTechEditor.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTools
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Blaze/Desktop/TechEditor/IndieStoneTools.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    DevIL.NET2
    Assembly Version: 1.1.2619.31671
    Win32 Version:
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Blaze/Desktop/TechEditor/DevIL.NET2.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    msvcm80
    Assembly Version: 8.0.50727.4927
    Win32 Version: 8.00.50727.4927
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/WinSxS/x86_microsoft.vc80.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.4927_none_d08a205e442db5b5/msvcm80.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.


    My guess is that maybe its because Im using custom created eras. Is this supported yet?
     
  7. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Should be.

    If you're ok with doing so, send me your mod via lemmy101 at gmail.com and I'll be able to fix the problem / upload pretty sharpish. Otherwise it's going to be difficult for me to figure out the cause I'm afraid.
     
  8. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    All I can think, from looking at the error, is you've got some Technology_Prereq in your XML for which the PrereqTech doesn't exist.
     
  9. blazekid87

    blazekid87 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    NYC
    Ok so i went through the prereq techs and took out the NULLs I had and made sure all techs are referenced correctly. Still having the same issue.

     
  10. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
  11. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    One feature I'd like to suggest: Integrate this into ModBuddy. I know it is possible to create extensions for modbuddy, so an extension that would A)Launch the editor, B)Automatically load whatever project you were working on, and C)Output the xml files into the project directory, and automatically add them to the modbuddy project, would be excellent. ;)
     
  12. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
  13. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Great to here. Will make the final step of actually building the mod that much simpler for those using this. :goodjob:

    While I'm here: For a few versions now, I've been unable to use the editor. :lol: I get the following error:

    Spoiler :
    "The 'Text' start tag on line 37 position 88 does not match the end tag of 'Row', Line 38, position 7."

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Xml.XmlException: The 'Text' start tag on line 37 position 88 does not match the end tag of 'Row'. Line 38, position 7.
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.Throw(Exception e)
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.Throw(String res, String[] args)
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ThrowTagMismatch(NodeData startTag)
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ParseEndElement()
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ParseElementContent()
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.Read()
    at System.Xml.XmlLoader.LoadNode(Boolean skipOverWhitespace)
    at System.Xml.XmlLoader.LoadDocSequence(XmlDocument parentDoc)
    at System.Xml.XmlLoader.Load(XmlDocument doc, XmlReader reader, Boolean preserveWhitespace)
    at System.Xml.XmlDocument.Load(XmlReader reader)
    at System.Xml.XmlDocument.Load(String filename)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.LoadTables(String file)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.Load()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.FirstUpdate()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.panel1_Paint(Object sender, PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTechEditor
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Valkrionn/Downloads/IndieStoneTechTreeEditor0_9/IndieStoneTechEditor.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTools
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Valkrionn/Downloads/IndieStoneTechTreeEditor0_9/IndieStoneTools.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.


    At first I assumed it was because I had loaded Civ V Beta, rather than Civ V (I'm a tester); Figured there was an issue with the latest build. Deleted the cache, loaded the release exe, tried again; Same error.

    Uninstalled/Reinstalled Civ5 to make sure I hadn't made an edit somewhere and forgot, deleted cache, launched the game to recreate it; Same error. :lol:
     
  14. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Hmm that's odd, it seems to be failing to load and XML file from the Civ 5 directory. Someone else has had that same error, I figured it must have been an edited base XML file but who knows. :S will look into it. You 100% positive there's been no unintentional edits to core XML files? (I've done it loads when I've had core find results open in modbuddy)

    EDIT: Uninstalled/Reinstalled Civ5 to make sure I hadn't made an edit somewhere and forgot, deleted cache, launched the game to recreate it; Same error)

    I'm such a skim reader. ;)
     
  15. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Absolutely sure the base game is not edited, as I completely uninstalled/reinstalled it.

    After I get out of this next class (Cinema. Awesome. Sit in the back, watch movies, drink, joke with the professor. I love this class.) I'll double check my nexus pathing; It may well be that I used the path for the test build, rather than released version, which could cause issues. :lol:

    If that's the case, of course, I'll make sure Firaxis knows they have an xml error somewhere in their latest build... Probably fixed already though. :lol:
     
  16. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Hang on here's a thought, check out these registry key settings:

    HKCU\Software\Firaxis\Tools\ToolAssetPath

    32bit: HKLM\Software\Firaxis\Civilization5\InstallPath
    64bit: HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\Firaxis\Civilization5\InstallPath

    see if any of those are pointing at your beta?

    I changed the registry keys a while back because some people didn't have nexus paths set up properly, so now it checks these ones first, but I think that may be causing more problems than it solves.

    EDIT: Haha beat me to it. ;D
     
  17. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
  18. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Just to make sure you see this I'm posting in the new thread as well, but yes, my registry was pointing at the Civ V Beta folder, not the Civ V folder. Changing it removed the issue entirely. :goodjob:
     
  19. magzhi

    magzhi Warlord

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    hi lemmy thanks for so good job in making this tech tree editor but I have problem with latest version of it. After I installed lattest version I got this mistake:
    Spoiler :
    Could not find a part of the path "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Assets\Gameplay\"

    I found mistake that it writes two times Assets in this path
    And here is more detailed mistake:
    Spoiler :
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Assets\Gameplay\'.
    at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
    at System.IO.FileSystemEnumerableIterator`1.CommonInit()
    at System.IO.FileSystemEnumerableIterator`1..ctor(String path, String originalUserPath, String searchPattern, SearchOption searchOption, SearchResultHandler`1 resultHandler)
    at System.IO.Directory.InternalGetFileDirectoryNames(String path, String userPathOriginal, String searchPattern, Boolean includeFiles, Boolean includeDirs, SearchOption searchOption)
    at System.IO.Directory.GetFiles(String path)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.LoadDir(String s)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.Load()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.FirstUpdate()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.panel1_Paint(Object sender, PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTechEditor
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Magzhi/Documents/Firaxis%20ModBuddy/Tech%20Tree%20Editor/IndieStoneTechEditor.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTools
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Magzhi/Documents/Firaxis%20ModBuddy/Tech%20Tree%20Editor/IndieStoneTools.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.

     
  20. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064

Share This Page