1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

IndieStone - Visual Tech Tree Editor

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Utility Programs' started by lemmy101, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Er you can. :p
     
  2. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Huh. So you can. It wasn't working when I added my mod's buildings to a tech, for one reason or another. Works now, at least.

    Love that you can load just the modinfo file, btw. ;)
     
  3. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Yeah there may be cases when it gets confused. It'll improve with time, as I say this is a really early alpha I'm sure there are plenty of bugs, we just got sick of waiting to release. ;D
     
  4. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Now you just need to do the same for unit/building/civ/etc creation. :goodjob:
     
  5. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    * Fixed a bug stopping drag drop working when scrolled vertically down in the tech tree.
     
  6. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Ah. That would certainly explain my issue. :lol:
     
  7. Fariic

    Fariic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    When I try to run the .exe it tells me that my VS10 license is invalid and I need to reinstall.

    Edit: Nevermind.
    Ran the IndieStoneTechEditor App. instead.
    I'm a little full of stupid lately.
     
  8. Le Sage

    Le Sage Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,522
    Location:
    Digging up your garden
    Yay! I've been waiting for this. What an excellent way to begin my day. A cup of coffee, five cigs and the latest version of the Indiestone Visual Tech Tree Editor.

    Edit: Do I need to install it to somewhere special, because nothing happens when I click the IndiestoneTechEditor.exe?
     
  9. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    How many files were in the zip? I just tried reuploading and the one up there was only 900 k which is way too small. I've done a few updates since I posted the first version a few hours back, so will have likely not put all the files in the zip on the last upload like a big silly.

    Try DLing again now? there should be a bunch of files in there.
     
  10. Le Sage

    Le Sage Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,522
    Location:
    Digging up your garden
    OK. That works a lot better. Thanks, man! :goodjob:

    Holy Mother of God. It even looks impressive!
     
  11. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Thanks :D remember it's a really experimental build so be careful with your data and expect bugs. ;)
     
  12. Le Sage

    Le Sage Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,522
    Location:
    Digging up your garden
    I did some small stuff for my mod using the Indiestone Editor. I had no errors at all. Just one, and I can suit myself for that one. The program crashed when I tried to use an Icon Atlas that did not exist.

    The files it spat out were excellent. My whole mod is updated with this great stuff now. I did some simple edits. I added some techs and moved World Wonders off into disabled techs since I don't want the World Wonders to be buildable. I reassigned buildings and units to suitable techs really easily, I disabled and enabled techs and expanded the Medieval Era. All the stuff I did worked on the first try and the mod plays like a charm!

    I bet you will be going on to make an Idiestone Visual Editor for the whole game; editing unis and buildings and perhaps other stuff in there as well. The Indiestone Tech Editor is really recommended and a must-have for all modders out there. It does save you a lot of trouble and time. Thanks again, Lemmy, for the Tech Editor. You're doing good and very much appreciated stuff and you're making Civ5 modding into what it really should be.
     
  13. nudden

    nudden Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    whooo...many thanks for your hard work. it'll make my work hopefully much easier and comfortable.

    i had a problem when loading my mod file. please see the error message below. any idea?

    Spoiler :
    System.Collections.Generic.KeyNotFoundException: Der angegebene Schlüssel war nicht im Wörterbuch angegeben.
    bei System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2.get_Item(TKey key)
    bei IndieStoneTools.AtlasManager.GetAtlasRowForEditor(String atlas)
    bei IndieStoneTechEditor.TechUnlock..ctor(Civ5XmlGameDataRow Row, UnlockType cat)
    bei IndieStoneTechEditor.TechEditorGlobals.LoadNewRow(Civ5XmlGameDataRow row)
    bei IndieStoneTechEditor.TechEditorGlobals.DB_LoadedDatabase(Civ5XmlDatabase db)
    bei IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.OnLoadedDatabase()
    bei IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.SetExternalLoad(Boolean bLoading)
    bei IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.DoLoad(String[] FileNames)
    bei IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.LoadMod()
    bei IndieStoneTechEditor.Form1.modmodinfoIntoCurrentToolStripMenuItem_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    bei System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    keep up your awesome work:goodjob:
     
  14. Decimatus

    Decimatus King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    853
    The newest version is not working for me. When I try to run the application it gives me an error about the file path. It looks like it is using an incorrect path:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Assets\Gameplay

    Should be:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay


    So it seems to be missing the sid meier's civilization v part.

    I can continue on into the program, but loading mods and such does nothing.
     
  15. Garett20

    Garett20 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Toronto,Canada
    What happened to the Blank tree function? I can't seem to find it.
     
  16. Decimatus

    Decimatus King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    853
    Here is the exception text:

    Spoiler :
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Assets\Gameplay\'.
    at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
    at System.IO.FileSystemEnumerableIterator`1.CommonInit()
    at System.IO.FileSystemEnumerableIterator`1..ctor(String path, String originalUserPath, String searchPattern, SearchOption searchOption, SearchResultHandler`1 resultHandler)
    at System.IO.Directory.InternalGetFileDirectoryNames(String path, String userPathOriginal, String searchPattern, Boolean includeFiles, Boolean includeDirs, SearchOption searchOption)
    at System.IO.Directory.GetFiles(String path)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.LoadDir(String s)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.Load()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.FirstUpdate()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.panel1_Paint(Object sender, PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

     
  17. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    I get exactly the same thing as this... and when I go to the 'load' option, it's looking for files with the extension 'ismod' which doesn't exist... and no xml files can be selected.
     
  18. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    I'm such a wally. Ok, try this one people... :)

    Also:

    It's not in there at the moment, if you want a blank tree just load in XML like;

    <Technologies>
    <Delete/>
    </Technologies>
     
  19. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    That's cause you're trying to load an indie stone tech editor project that's saved when you export.

    You need to 'Mod' your editor database with the 'Mod' menu.
     
  20. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Got it... was expecting it under 'load'... cool.

    But, get an error starting the editor... here's the info;

    Spoiler :
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Xml.XmlException: The 'HandicapInfo_Goodies' start tag on line 558 position 3 does not match the end tag of 'Row'. Line 751, position 5.
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.Throw(Exception e)
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.Throw(String res, String[] args)
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ThrowTagMismatch(NodeData startTag)
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ParseEndElement()
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ParseElementContent()
    at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.Read()
    at System.Xml.XmlLoader.LoadNode(Boolean skipOverWhitespace)
    at System.Xml.XmlLoader.LoadDocSequence(XmlDocument parentDoc)
    at System.Xml.XmlLoader.Load(XmlDocument doc, XmlReader reader, Boolean preserveWhitespace)
    at System.Xml.XmlDocument.Load(XmlReader reader)
    at System.Xml.XmlDocument.Load(String filename)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.LoadTables(String file)
    at IndieStoneCiv5XMLTools.Civ5XmlDatabase.Load()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.FirstUpdate()
    at IndieStoneTechEditor.TechTree.panel1_Paint(Object sender, PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTechEditor
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Need%20to%20Sort/Civ5%20Stuff/IndieStoneTechEditor/IndieStoneTechEditor.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    IndieStoneTools
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Need%20to%20Sort/Civ5%20Stuff/IndieStoneTechEditor/IndieStoneTools.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.

     

Share This Page