1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by kill fire, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. ThinkTank

    ThinkTank RL Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    An inaccessible possible world
    4000 BC and no tech selected yet?
     
  2. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    Yes, if you're already aware of the use of negatives in image processing in the AA, you should really be a bit more positive about it! :lol:
     
  3. Zefyrinus

    Zefyrinus Regent

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Heh, it would be so like them.
     
  4. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Responding to Zefyrinus' Picture:

    Is the ocean next to that city a fresh water lake? That seems to be the only way that there could be fresh water in the city...

    Other than that, I'm stumped. Maybe its just a glitch.
     
  5. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,934
    Location:
    Honolulu
    It's not a fresh water lake, it's too big.
     
  6. CKS

    CKS Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,488
    In a game of the month, ages ago, there was a situation where a river ran between a land tile and a coastal tile. It was invisible, but the land tile gave extra commerce and the city nearby could build Hoover Dam. I don't know if the inclusion of this river was intentional or accidental.
     
  7. Daeron

    Daeron The Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    GMT +1
    It gains two food from water tiles, without a harbor, so it has to be fresh water. I've played a pangea map before where the one continent was one big circle with a large inland sea in the middle.
     
  8. da3dalus

    da3dalus Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Canada
    Really? I've never seen that, I didn't know it was possible to get that on Pangea...you wouldn't happen to have that world seed# would you??? :)
     
  9. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    Sweet water is a water body < 20 tiles,
    Salt water is a water body > 20 tiles, and what 20 tiles exactly is I don't know.
    The water in Zefyrinus picture is salt water. Also the city has a harbour, which it couldn't have when it was on sweet water.

    I don't know why it can build a nuclear plant, though. It's hard to see every landscape feature without turning on clean map; there could be a river starting on one of those mountains, but from the screenshot it's hard to make out what's going on.
     
  10. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,397
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Fresh water is 20 tiles and less. Salt water is 21 tiles and up.
     
  11. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    I have hit that a couple of time too, but I am not sure if I still have the saves, as that was several years ago, when I played on Pangea maps. The main advantage there was that I could send units a lot faster by ships, before railroads, from one side of the inland sea to the other. I have had a couple of continents maps where is I edited them by adding about 4 or 5 land tiles, I would have the same effect. I would have to take a look to see if I still have those, and then put that world seed into a Pangea map and see what happens.
     
  12. eldar

    eldar ChiefTank

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    The city in the screenshot does have a harbor, so that's not the answer. Besides you can easily count >20 contiguous water tiles.
     
  13. Daeron

    Daeron The Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    GMT +1
    For some reason I always have trouble spotting those harbor signs. A shame food is maxed at 5.
    Unfortunately no. I actually gave up on the game because it was one of my few tries at Pangea and I wanted to play a more conventional map.
     
  14. shadowdefender

    shadowdefender Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Yeah it is interesting ,,,,particularly the land is barren, no trees no mountains, forests etc,,,,
    Or it could probably be, someone went to the CIV3xedit and edied it......
     
  15. Bowsling

    Bowsling Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I believe an aqueduct suffices for a nuclear power plant in a city with no lake or river. I'm not certain, though.
     
  16. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    I just checked the editor, but the requirement for a nuclear plant is 'must be near water', so it doesn't need to be sweet water.
    If you compare that with the Hoover dam, that one has 'must be near a river' as a requirement, so that's different. We probably just mixed up the requirements.
     
  17. Sweetchuck

    Sweetchuck King

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    I dunno - I'm pretty sure nuke plants need to be near fresh water.

    Coastal salt water cities are SOL.

    And I'm also pretty sure aquaducts don't count as fresh water, so they're SOL also.
     
  18. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    A city must have fresh water within its radius to build a Nuclear Plant. So if it is near a river(within 2 tiles), it can still build one.
     
  19. Sweetchuck

    Sweetchuck King

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Or a freshwater lake, if I am not mistaken.
     
  20. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    I seem to get this "no Water" effect fairly often. I'm just posting another example to prove I am not making it up. (this is a tiny/tiny map)

    water.jpg


    For this one... I was just wondering how they knew what I was up to :lol:

    know.jpg
     

Share This Page