1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by kill fire, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,017
    Gender:
    Male
    :lol:
     
  2. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Workers? What for?
    Recycling Centers? What for?



    And yes, Hiawatha is able to build both Motorized Workers (double speed and 2 MP) and Recycling Centers (I sold him Recycling!).
     
  3. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,163
    why , it's so easy . If the AI can't beat you , it uses Global Warming to mess with your food production .
     
  4. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    No screenshot as I do not know how to picture that in one. Sorry!

    I enabled the Military Academy (and therefore Armies) to be build without existing Armies. And the KI loves them both.

    And I have observed that KI-controlled Armies allways went pillaging through enemy land.

    Today I discovered that they also pillage in neutral land.

    The Iroquois had build under great difficulties a railroad over a mountainrange to one of their cities. A large part of that railroad lied in the uncleamed mountains.

    And then they sent an Army to that city to be loaded into a ship.

    The Army demolished the complete road and railroad on its trip! :eek::lol:
     
  5. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,123
    Location:
    Taiwan
    I like that idea. Armies are way OP for the human player... this makes the AI build and use them more??
     
  6. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    Do you mean AI, with KI? Or, what does KI mean?
     
  7. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
  8. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,990
    Location:
    Honolulu
    The question is, does it use them well, or does the AI do things like only use Armies for defense or fill them with 3 units from two eras ago or forget they can attack more than once per turn?
     
  9. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,163
    it's an excellent thing of AI . You start coalition warfare against a major AI , start capturing its cities and your allies slow down your Blitzkrieg with pillaging roads .
     
  10. Kyriakos

    Kyriakos Alien spiral maker

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    55,219
    Location:
    Thessalonike, The Byzantine Empire
    AI will use armies, but afaik only loads one unit in them (?). It is why in some mods it is set so that the human can also just load one unit, with the bonus hp :)
    AI also will use catapults/similar if it has them, but i am not sure if it will actually load them onto ships.

    Btw, Kirejara, nice to see those old cities of mine used :D
     
  11. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    The KI (= AI) has a very offensive use of Armies, IF they managed to fill them completly.

    Unfortunatly they do often fall into the problem, that they put only units in an Army, that has at least equal movement points as the Army, but they do not take the 1+ movement point of the Army itself into accoun.

    So if they put in a Cavalry first, the Army has 4 movement points and because the KI is unable to find another unit with 4 movement points, the Army remains only partly filled and incomplete.

    The Iroqouis in my current game managed to fill three Armies complete and used them with devastating effect on the Portuguese (no longer in game!), but they have also one incomplete Army in their MA city with a single Cavalry unit in it (the screenshot above is from the previous game on a different map). .

    Regarding artilery units I have very good expirience made the captured units, as the KI will use artillery units outside of their cities if they have a foreign nationality.
    PS: Kyriakos, I like those cities, but I miss matching industrial and modern sets. ;)
     
  12. Nathiri

    Nathiri Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia, US
    Who said arrows were not anti-mech weapons?

    1.jpg
     
    Spoonwood and tjs282 like this.
  13. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Again no screenshot, sorry!

    On my current map (Inselwelt) I discovered that the Iroquois have the one and only uranium.

    So I decided to lure them into a war by the classic "Submarine and Privateer in harbour" trick.

    As expected a roman and a dutch destroyer show up first, but did not attack because they could see the submarine in the harbour.

    I did not expected, that the Iroquois then simply nuked the Privateer (and my submarine and the roman destroyer and the dutch destroyer and the city of Aachen)! :eek:
     
  14. WeirdoJoker

    WeirdoJoker Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hillsdale, Portland, Oregon
    I don't know that trick. How does it work?
     
  15. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,990
    Location:
    Honolulu
    You know how sometimes the AI will accidentally declare war on you when it runs into your submarines because it doesn't know they're there? It's like that, but you stick a Privateer on top of the Submarine to lure the AI to the square. They attack the Submarine/Privateer stack, which means running into your submarine, which means declaring war on you.

    (I assume that's how it works, at least, I'm not totally sure about all that)
     
  16. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,017
    Gender:
    Male
    The "Privateer-Bug" works different:

    Build a privateer and park it in a city. Don´t cover that privateer with a landunit. You don´t need a covering naval unit. There is a good chance, that AI ships will attack it in the city, declaring war on you in the process, as this attack is an attack on your city, too. Even ships of friendly AI's will perform such an attack. If you cover the privateer in the city with a landunit, the AI ships cannot see the privateer any longer and stop attacking it.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=6751536&postcount=87
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=6754580&postcount=90

    New is, that the AI also used nukes for such an attack.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2018
  17. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    You can also use landbased units with hidden nationality as bait.

    In my case I had a submarine together with the privateer in Aachen, since there were several roman and dutch destroyers(see invisible) nearby, who I wanted as allies (and I have got them as allies!). The trap was intended for the lone iroqouis Armored Cruiser that was nearby, who is unable to see the submarine.

    The good news are:

    - the Netherlands stopped for obvious reasons their delivery of aluminum to the Iroquois (so no more nukes and cruise missiles),
    - the dutch fleet soaked most of the iroquois cruise missiles (can no longer produced),
    - a second nuke hit Utrecht and non of my cities (ok, Willem has a different view on that),
    - the iroqouis air defence is poor at best, because they do not have oil (so only biplane fighters),
    - the Luftwaffe took out the road to the uranium.

    Of course, Hiawatha could still have more nukes under production...

    And now, Ladies and Gentlemen, we are at war!:trouble:
     
  18. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    I decided to continue an allready won game (Space Race).

    Spain and her main rival England are at war once more.

    And on order of her most catholic majesty Queen Esmeralda I started a invasion of the english homeland. After our landing at Canterbury we took Coventry too and repelled an english counterstrike mainly composed of Churchill and Crusader Tanks (and some air strikes).

    I was waiting for Elisabeth to waste her remaining forces in a second wave, then instead a huge stack of totally antiquated egyptian units arrived at Coventry.



    As this is a typical KI move for a snake attack, I offered Ramses to join the war against Elisabeth, knowing that he would attack me anyway.



    And my assumption was right.



    And I really do not know, how he expected to win this fight.This is only a quarter of my unit list in Canterbury (and more are at my homeland and in the chinese, french and persian provinces of the Spanish Empire).



    The Egypts have only two cities, who are half embedded into England.

    So I am not sure if I have to take Thebae and Heliopolis from Ramses or from Elisabeth. :trouble:

    Ramses, it was nice, knowing you!
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2018
  19. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,123
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Which leaderhead is that for Egypt?
     
  20. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    I miss ShiroKobbure. After Rob, he did some of the best all-era leaderheads.
     

Share This Page