1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Larger Worlds 2.31

Larger World Sizes and adjusted map scripts & starting positions

  1. ITcore

    ITcore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    The game will load and all that but the logs return the following errors:

    Database log:
    [2407326.547] [Configuration] ERROR: UNIQUE constraint failed: MapSizes.Domain, MapSizes.MapSizeType
    [2407326.547] [Configuration]: While executing - 'insert into MapSizes('MapSizeType', 'Name', 'Description', 'MinPlayers', 'MaxPlayers', 'DefaultPlayers', 'MinCityStates', 'MaxCityStates', 'DefaultCityStates', 'SortIndex') values (?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?);'
    [2407326.567] [Configuration]: In XMLSerializer while inserting row into table insert into MapSizes('MapSizeType', 'Name', 'Description', 'MinPlayers', 'MaxPlayers', 'DefaultPlayers', 'MinCityStates', 'MaxCityStates', 'DefaultCityStates', 'SortIndex') with values (MAPSIZE_ENORMOUS, Enormous, Enormous map for 16 players, 2, 24, 16, 0, 30, 24, 80, ).
    [2407326.567] [Configuration]: In XMLSerializer while updating table MapSizes from file MapSizes.xml.
    [2407326.567] [Configuration] ERROR: UNIQUE constraint failed: MapSizes.Domain, MapSizes.MapSizeType

    Modding log:
    [2407326.547] Status: ModdingUpdateConfigurationDatabase - Loading Configuration/MapSizes.xml
    [2407326.567] Warning: ModdingUpdateConfigurationDatabase - Error Loading XML.
     
  2. BrokenSky

    BrokenSky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Another question about fertility; is it possible for the fertility of a site to be dependent on the civ?
    Egypt, for example, benefits more than average for desert and floodplane tiles, so might recieve increased fertility for tiles close to floodplane tiles, while australia might recieve a higher fertility bonus to coast tiles and to tile close to sheep, cattle and horses.
     
  3. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2,798
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    This is actually handled by Start Bias. Egypt has a higher chance to start near flood plains, England has a higher chance to start near coast, etc.
     
  4. BrokenSky

    BrokenSky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    True, but it might be better to do it like this instead or as well. There are several civs (most of whom have unique improvements) who benefit from certain starting conditions in a way other civs don't, so using start bias won't find them a great position for their special bonuses. Again Australia springs to mind, mostly because their bonuses mean that they have a very different idea of a perfect start to most civs; for example their bonuses from high appeal mean they benefit more from woods and coast and less from mine-able or quarried resources, their coast bonus to housing also means they get a lot of value from starting on coast, even though it's normally not very good if there are arn't sea resources, and their improvement makes desert ok and flat plains/grassland good, but can't be built on hills (except desert hills).

    Basically I feel like combining fetility and start bias might be worth it, since if the current method first works our fertile locations, then asigns them via start bias, civs with specialist criteria get penalised.
     
  5. Regul

    Regul Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Europe
    Actually I can't get to map generation, as by hitting start I'm back in lobby. Other mods active (no YnAEM, as it doesn't work).
     
  6. skodkim

    skodkim Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,119
    Location:
    Denmark
    Your description says that the scrips modify the starting locations but does this also affect the distribution of Civ/minor civs on the maps? I hate how most of the time everybody's cramped up in one part while other parts seem to have large areas with only a few players.

    \Skodkim
     
  7. ctudor

    ctudor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    is this compatible with the new persia and macedonia update?
     
  8. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2,798
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I've been running it without problem, so most likely yes.

    Also don't see any reason why it shouldn't work, but I'm not an expert on modding so I might every well miss something.

    Should mention though that at least Detailed Worlds and maybe also this one break the Outback Tycoon scenario in at least some cases, causing no gold to spawn.
     
  9. Regul

    Regul Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Europe
    Best map mod so far. Can't wait to see it on Steam Workshop.
     
  10. DanaLea

    DanaLea Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    291
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    CAn anyone tell me the difference between this mod (and it's companion Detailed Worlds) and the YnAMP mod (and it's add-ons)? I am wanting more interesting random maps and not maps of our planet.
     
  11. ITcore

    ITcore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    YNAMP is strictly a collection of Earth maps. It contains its own larger map code so don't use YNAMP with Larger/Detailed Worlds.
     
  12. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    under the weather
    I wouldn't quite put it that way... there several nice features in YNAMP that apply equally (or specifically) to random maps. The larger sizes; the 2:1 aspect ratio option for small through enormous sizes; ice and land separation toggle; relative cultural start positions; adjusted start positions. I use it primarily for these features, without touching the earth maps.

    Larger Worlds does do distance scaling by #of players, which I think was unique. But YnAMP has been updated continuously and covers a lot of ground as far as start plot functions. Definitely do not use these together... they both replace ASP functions.

    Detailed Worlds had a number of customized vanilla map scripts and utilities, which I think ITcore has updated in the other thread. You might be able to use those alongside YnAMP.
     

Share This Page