1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Maps & Scenarios

Discussion in 'Maps & Scenarios' started by DRJ, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,518
    Location:
    Poland
    Guys, its possible to create 360x180 Earth map? Its 64800 tiles (max is 65k or something).
    I think with viewports size map doesn't have noticeable hit on memory used.
    It could have 7 civilizations on start (to reduce CPU usage).
    Since there is 7 "main" cultures, divided by continents starting civs would be for example:

    America (North America)
    Brasilia (South America)
    Germany (Europe)
    Zululand (Africa)
    China (Asia)
    Arabia (Middle East)
    Australia (Oceania)
    Or there could be prehistoric equivalent.
    BTW they could be located with historical accuracy.
     
  2. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Who was the one who wanted to make HUGE maps???
     
  3. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    I wanted to make ONE HUGE map.

    Wide(East-West): 210 Plots
    Hight(North-South): 240-300 plots (The more the better)
     
  4. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK, i am working on a mapscript that you will be able to make a 512X512 if you wanted to.
     
  5. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    Is this possible? I think ls16 stated that the maxiumum amount of plots is 63500 or something like that.

    And I'd only need the dimension i asked for. I edited my mapscript but it crashed all the time while making the map.
     
  6. civfan613

    civfan613 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    There's only ONE problem with GINORMOUS maps:
    No matter how good your computer actually IS, Civ4 still lives in the last millennium... :(
     
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,518
    Location:
    Poland
    What about 360x180 (round equator x North pole to South pole) map size? So each square represents one degree x one degree.
    That would be 64800 tiles, just bit below 65k limit.
     
  8. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    My "modified" script for SO:
     
  9. Osk21

    Osk21 Barbarian Killer and Beast Trainer & Solar System!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    I always want to build the biggest maps available, especially now thanks to better memory allocation without viewports. What is the best map type for maximum plains and forest for Pangaea maps. I have been using perfectMongoose. I don't want to use an Earth map.
     
  10. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    The smartmap script should be very flexible (see post above yours).

    Extract it to desktop (it's a py-file), then copy it to C2C/Privat Maps.
    When you load the game, you can select it when making a new game (like you can with PerfectMongoose).
    It should (in theory) allow you to do anything you want with the map. I haven't tested it because my game crashes when I make a map (it works fine for StrategyOnly though).
     
  11. Osk21

    Osk21 Barbarian Killer and Beast Trainer & Solar System!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    I look forward to being able to use it! I am currently working on a game I've been on since Valentines day, and I don't currently have WinRAR. Thanks:D
     
  12. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    Is it even possible to have a map that is wider than high? Whenever I try that (even with very small maps) my game crashes while making the map
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Why not put your request in the map scrpit area, never know someone who knows more might help??
     
  14. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    Where is the map script area?
     
  15. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
  16. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    Thanks!

    Here is the modified Mapscript (and don't tell me I haven't changed anything ;) )
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    UK
    Added a new version of SEM - includes a new Custom_Civs folder, adding back a few of the ones removed for memory optimization. I have created a new thread.
     
  18. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    UK
    I have now increased the size of the SEM map by about 10%. - It is not now standard size but is a lot smaller than the next - large size (which is at least 1/3 larger approx.).

    The new thread in "Maps & Scenarios" is called "New 'Updated' Standard Earth Map".

    Enjoy.:)
     
  19. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    By the way, is there anyone here that knows where the "you have been defeated" bug from the Desert Planet map or a GEM comes from? can this be fixed before the release?
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    On the GEM map yes, and only if they do what Harrier did and include the Custom Map, but they will NO longer be in normal C2C, sorry.
     

Share This Page