1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Master of Orion 2 unofficial patch

Discussion in 'Other Civ-Related Games' started by Rocco.40, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    Some quick initial feedbacks:

    4. I don't like that orion2.cfg is used by the tool, since that way it breaks MOO2 Launcher compatibility. Why not use an own orion2.cfg, for example 'O2M.CFG' and load that instead. That way, both launchers can be used.
    (do: ORION150.EXE /c=O2M.CFG)
    5. If you create a new mod with 'From a Predefined Template' "Core", such mod will create error and not run because it creates following line:
    "format mod_name = 1 r 546 419;"
    that line by default is written as:
    "format mod_name = "Mod: $MOD$" 1 r 546 419;"
    can also be written for example as:
    "format mod_name = - 1 r 546 419;"

    and question: are 'user settings' not editable from the tool?

    edit: small thing: food and money are shown doubled in races editor, eg -1, 2, 4 food instead of -1/2, 1, 2
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2019
  2. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    I've uploaded a saved game with a problem. Attack Mecklon V. The planet does not have a radiation shield, so why aren't the interceptors doing any damage to the planet?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    planet has Class III ship shield as can be observed when scanning the planet, the fighters only have mass drivers, so can't harm planet.
     
  4. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    1. don't really see why such option is needed, but by enabling overwrite by default you are basically reintroducing the problem of incompatibility for the average user.
    2. ok, nice addition

    I like the race (and race variant) and tech tree editing that your tool can do. The interface for the tech tree makes that tech tree can be sucessfully modded without the need of a supporting excel sheet.
    Hopefully in future the tool can handle 150i and ice mods properly. So I might add your tool to the website at some point when I am reasonably sure there are no significant bugs, but not when its breaking MOO2 Launcher compatibility by default.
     
  5. Ponkyo

    Ponkyo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    The option is needed so the game can be started directly through orion150.exe without parameters. Not sure what compatibility it breaks anyway, the files are literally the same.

    I would have expected more enthusiasm from your side, yet I only sense indifference and hostility. I've put lots of effort into making this and the value should be somewhere around $5000 which I pretty much donated to your project, but I suppose you simply don't need it. I guess our collaboration is over then, have a nice day.
     
  6. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    Files are not literally the same since O2M removes the following lines:
    include ?150\lbx\$LANG$\$LANG$.CFG; # language specific lbxs. (< this loads the help files plus the important file estrings.lbx)
    include ?150\ENABLE.CFG; # marks enabled mods.

    Also O2M writes mod lines in that file, for example if you played GM3 map via O2M, ORION2.CFG is adjusted with:
    enable MAP5_GM3; # load mod "GoodMap3"
    Thus, next time a new game is started with MOO2 Launcher, no matter the map you choose there it will be overridden with that GM3.

    This is very unexpected. First of all, can you point me to the text that you find 'hostile' here, since I really don't know what you mean?

    About 'indifference', Alex has made quite a few substantial code changes to accomodate / enable your tool. I have answered all your tech tree questions and have taken a look at all 3 of your releases 1.0, 1.1 and 1.2 and happily provided some feedback for it. We have taken you very seriously so far!

    Your tool has cool features and it shows many hours of work went into it. I do consider O2M to be in beta still, wanted to do more testings with it, and I don't want O2M and MOO2 Launcher to get in each others way, that's why I carefully wrote that I might add it to the website at some point. I don't understand the upset honestly and really do not see why our collaboration should so hastily come to an end.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
  7. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Hey Rocco.40 Great work as always!
    I just downloaded the .14 version.
    It's been a while since I've downloaded this. I've completely forgotten where to extract them to, or move them once they've been extracted.
    I checked post #1, but I didn't see a set of instructions.
    Can you reenlighten me?
    Do we copy some of the files to the 1.50 folder, and some to the launcher folder,
    or is there an installer that does this for us that I missed?
    It wants to create a new MOO2-1.50.14 folder
     
  8. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    Hey!. Great you're about to play latest MOO2 1.50 again!
    Can you try following instructions as set out in the readme file section "HOW TO UPDATE TO 1.50":
    http://moo2mod.com/patch/README_150.TXT
     
  9. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    602

Share This Page