1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] GreatPersonMod with RenamerMod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Patricius, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    Hi guys.

    Glad you like the mod.
    Cybershy,
    If you copy the folder Great People into MyGames/civ4/customassets/art and then you place all the python files in the corresponding places in Custom Assets, it will load with the game. However, if you have other mods that already load, I cannot guarentee that it will work with them.Two mods that I know of that don't work with it automatically loaded are Autolog, Simple Remender(both by eotinb) and the better Score Graph.

    Underhill, I am totally new at this so if there is a better server that you can suggest, I will put it up there so yo don't have to sign in. It wouldn't fit on this website. Thanks for the compliment too.

    Walter Hawkwood said:
    I am pretty sure that the photos are correct. Here are some websites I used.

    http://www.famousmuslims.com/MOHAMMAD%20IBN%20ZAKARIYA%20AL-RAZI.htm

    http://maratray.chez-alice.fr/marieag/islam/islam3.htm (Its in French)

    I agree that there are many Scientists that could have been listed as Great People. But You would have to edit a XML file and I didn't want this to be a game changing mod. Theoretically we could add as many new Scientists as we want.


    For all the problems with The Screen Resolution... I made this mod at the resolution that I play at...there probably is a way to center it always, but I am not very good at the Python Scripting that controls that...So if anyone could fix that problem and then post the new File, I will put it at the top of the thread as the new File. :confused:

    Also I do not belive that the 1.52 update is required for this mod.

    Originally by Tableist
    I am not sure how to fix that(Once Again):blush: ...If Snoopy were still around he probably could...but if anyone else knopws how, that would be great if they told me and I will implement it.

    Thanks again for all you compliments, but remember to thank Snoopy too. He did most of the Python stuff and I mostly updated the Graphics and changed a few things in Python because of the update.

    Anyway, sorry I was so long in responding, and thanks for all the input.:)

    Sincerely,
    Patricius
     
  2. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,385
    Location:
    London, UK
    I checked, looks like you're right about Abu Bakr stuff - my apologies.

    Adding more great scientists also has only cosmetic effect on the game, but if you're against XML changes, I guess I could do it myself as an add-on to your mod. Then all I'm asking is the scroll template you used for GP popup art.
     
  3. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    View attachment 112099

    Here it is...I change the font to New Times Roman and the size is 31 for the Header Name and 18 for all the rest.

    Patricius
     
  4. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,385
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks. I'll be on it.
     
  5. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    Hi Guys,

    I belive I have finally fixed the problem with lower resolution centering and all...I will be posting the whole file at the beggining of the thread but for those who don't want to download the whole file again, here is the Python file that was changed.

    View attachment 112568

    Put this file in \My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\MODS\GreatPersonMod v1.2\Assets\Python\Screens
    and click yes when it asks you if you want to overwrite the file.

    I also finally got the file on the Civ Fantatics server, but that is only v1.1 so i will have to get v1.2 on the website now.

    Hope you enjoy!

    Patricius
     
  6. RobO

    RobO King

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Slangerup, Denmark
    Patricius, your mod is great, but you should get rid of your CvGreatPersonEventManager.py and incorporate the stuff into CvCustomEventManager.py to make life easier for everybody. This will also remove the need to edit CvEventInterface.py in your mod.

    Check this post.
     
  7. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California

    RobO,

    Thanks for telling me this. I was having trouble merging it with other mods, but I couldn't figure out how to merge it with one that changes CvEventInterface.

    Could you explain what the two corrections are that you changed to make it work? Since this is a much better streamlined version of the mod, I will probably release an update.

    Sincerely,
    Patricius
     
  8. RobO

    RobO King

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Slangerup, Denmark
    Well, some of this was trial and error.
    First, CvCustomEventManager.py is obviously the place to add your own events in a modular fashion. It is meant to be there, and other mods use it. That's why I decided to move your event there, rather than move events from other mods to your event manager.

    Secondly, I wanted to get rid of those two lines in __init__self of CvCustomEventManager. They loked out of place, made it difficult to merge the mod with others and other mods didn't seem to need them. They obviously referred to the last line where you call interfaceScreen(pUnit, pCity). I tried several combinations (turning debug messages and logs on in the ini file to get feedback) but none of them were able to pass the proper self object to interfaceScreen. I then looked up Jon Schafer's Python guide and found on page 4 something that made me add () to the test - I think it was his use of gc = CyGlobalContext(). It occurred to me that using CvGreatPersonScreen.CvGreatPersonScreen().interfaceScreen might pass the proper self object, and it did.

    So, it is a mix of programming experience (though not with Python) and trial and error.

    And you can get the details in Alerum's thread here and here.
     
  9. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    V1.5 Ready for download...
    I will have it on the CivFanatics server as soon as I can.

    Enjoy,
    Patricius
     
  10. Zuul

    Zuul Mod lister!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sweden
    What does that mean?
     
  11. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    I added five new pop-ups called "Great Scientist", "Great Engineer", ect. I playtested a whole game, and at the end, when all the names are used up, a pink screen came up when a great scientist is born. So this should fix the problem with those five generic names.

    Patricius
     
  12. NeverMind

    NeverMind Proud to be Russian

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
  13. grazwell

    grazwell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I would *love* to use this mod, but I'm stuck on Alerum's unaltered gameplay mod......I really hope you guys can figure it out.
    (just letting you both know your efforts are appreciated)
     
  14. RobO

    RobO King

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Slangerup, Denmark
    Grazwell, are you talking about the issue that I fixed from this post and onwards to post 78 or thereabouts? It can be done, but you need to do some event manager editing yourself.
     
  15. OblivionOdyssey

    OblivionOdyssey Master

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Your great person mod looks awesome, but it won't work for me. Nothing seems to change- no pop-ups, no errors. Can you help me?
     
  16. grazwell

    grazwell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    RobO, yes that's the one. I've just re-read that thread and I *think* I follow hat it is saying. I have no qualms about editing the python files, just so long as I don't have to actually think up code myself :)

    I'll download this mod now and try it out tomorrow.
    Thanks for the reply - I do read the thread before I post, but I hadn't realised you'd fixed it before.
     
  17. RobO

    RobO King

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Slangerup, Denmark
    I don't use Alerums mod, but I have instead incorporated most of the stuff he uses and some other stuff into my own prefererred setup. I used v1.2 of this GreatPerson mod when I did the changes, but as far as I can see it has become easier with v1.5 than it was with v1.2.
     
  18. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,385
    Location:
    London, UK
    Not very quickly, but I've still finished the expansion for the mod. It is based on observation that AIs tend to generate more Great Scientists than any other GPs, and as such they run out of names much more frequently than all others.

    To prevent this, I've added 15 new Great Scientists along with the art, and one new GP of each other category as an added bonus. Just extract these into the original mod directory. It doesn't overwrite any of the original mod files.

    Be wary though, that it contains XML changes, and as such is not immediately compatible with any mod that alters Civ4UnitInfos.xml. It might still be easy to remedy this, as the only changes it contains is the expanded name list for GPs. Just copy/paste those to target xml, and the job is done.

    I would very much appreciate comments and feedback on this, as well as any bugs you might encounter (I hope there are none, as the modification itself is very simple).

    Download it here
     
  19. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    Sorry Guys,
    I shouldn't have taken out CvEventInterface in v1.5

    I have placed the file at the beggining of this thread and right
    Here: View attachment 114984

    If you downloaded v1.5 you will need this file placed in assets/python/entrypoints

    That was your problem Oblivion, sorry about that.

    Patricius
     
  20. Patricius

    Patricius Dominus de Bellum

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    California
    Hey Walter, the Mod looks Great...I have already added it. and when I come out with the next version(which will include cveventinterface) I will include it if you will let me.

    I have one question...some of the names in the art files are not capitilized while the text in UnitInfos is...do youknow if this makes a difference? Will they still recognize the art file?

    Patricius
     

Share This Page