1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[mod] TOTAL REALISM 2.0

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Houman, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    Its very strange. Somtimes there will be continuous wars, one after the other. But in other games there are periods of peace stretching a thousand years. Every civ should be modified at the game start to truly despise at least one other civ. Typically one that is close. Good examples include China & Japan, France & England, Spain & Aztecs and Arabia & all of Christendom. :lol:

    @Ronin228 is the ninja still not working? I was disappointed when it didnt work in 2.0. Thought they would have corrected it.
     
  2. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice
    this happen when you move assassin/ninja into enemy city and save/load game - then you must move assassin outside city and back in
     
  3. Ronin228

    Ronin228 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    This happens to me no matter what I do with the ninja. Even if I move him out and back into the city.
     
  4. Donkey Puncher

    Donkey Puncher Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Texas
    Yeah I have the same glitchJapan is one of my fav civs to play but I dont play them that much because of the ninja/asssian does not work . I have also tried the moving it in and out of a city(s)to try and get it to work but no avail.
     
  5. Ronin228

    Ronin228 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    I like the Japanese units the best, and I love playing Japan, but It's annoying that the Ninja doesn't work. Let me try another civ out...
     
  6. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    Well lets hope they correct it. Heres something amusing, continuous wars with many civs. Mansa Musa sent the largest army of swordsmen i have ever seen against the flank of my advancing forces. Almost captured a newly acquired city, but a valiant force with a fifth of their number held them off in a deadly jungle battle. They retreated to a good spot. The shadow of the army that remains has been surrounded by one of my three armies, broken down to prevent them fleeing. No one is moving. Can see mercenary conquistadors in the top right, mercenary minutemen bottom right. Will hold off until reinforcements arrive. Its great that i can have spanish conquistadors leading my french musketeer armies. :hatsoff:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Spartan117

    Spartan117 Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Chicago
    which patch is the newest one?...2.0.1?,2.0.2?, or 2.0a?
     
  8. jaynus

    jaynus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    The highest number ;)

    1. Install 2.0a (this is the latest full version)
    2. Then Install 2.0.2 Patch
     
  9. LunarMongoose

    LunarMongoose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    Of course, as we now know thanks to the Metal Gear series, Gulf War Syndrome was actually caused by genetic experimentation involving Big Boss's "soldier genes" and the troops...

    <ahem> Actually I was going to say depleted uranium, specifically U-238, was made famous as a Terran Marine upgrade in Starcraft. I imagine that's where 90% of ppl find out about it from. :)
     
  10. Therapist

    Therapist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    @Lunar

    I believe I was in college before the game came out, but that's cool. I was unaware that there were games out there with DU in it. Most of my "useless knowledge" comes from computer games......I for example have a vast array of knowledge of firearms from such games as JA and CS. Oh yeah, I also a gun nut too.

    :mischief:
     
  11. Amazing Game

    Amazing Game Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    @ any Total Realism Team Member:

    Could someone help explain why it appears that the "CITY RAIDER" promotion does not provide the strength which in comparison under the exact conditions, the "ATTACK PROMOTION" does when attacking the enemy city.
    As we all know the strengths for attacking a city are only separated by 5% after three promotions. This fact would make one believe that having the city raider promotion, when attacking an enemy city, would improve ones chances of victory slighty more than having the "ATTACK STRENGTH" promotion. But as the attached screenshots show, this does not appear to be the case.

    PRETTY PLEASE HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHY THE CITY RAIDER PROMOTION APPEARS TO FALL SHORT OF ITS INTENDED DESIGN.

    Please find attached to this post three screenshots which illustrat how it appears a waste of time to invest in the "CITY RAIDER" promotion, wnen the "ATTACK PROMOTION" appears to give more power when attacking a city than the CITY RAIDER promotion does under the exact situation.

    To demonstrate this I saved a game I was playing, then for the purposes of this demonstration, announced war against Germany.

    Please pay attention to a small stack of 2 Macemen and 1 Crusader. Next, pay attention to the lower left portion of the screen, in order to view the attack probabilites of each of the two Macemen.

    When attacking the enemy city, the Maceman with the "ATTACK PROMOTION" gets 6.8 percent, while the Maceman with the "CITY RAIDER" promotion under the same conditions gets only 1.8 percent.

    Is this a bug ?- or is there something I am missing.:(

    This City Attack problem is not limited to Macemen; as I have noted it in other battles with other units.

    Awesome Mod- Keep up da great work.:goodjob:

    i hope the screenshots have been attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Zaphod77

    Zaphod77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Hey. I'm not sure if this has been mentioned before, but I appear to have run into a small graphical problem mid-game.

    It was not like this early game and only occured sometime during the middle ages. Basically one save everything was normal, and then when I loaded up again, My fuscha unit flags (Rome) went to that of Catherine (orange - russia) with no symbol on the flag -- just a solid orange color. And the flags of catherine and almost every other country simply went to straight black with no symbol.


    I am running the latest version of this mod - 2.02, and am also running the "Yet Another Unaltered Gameplay" mod. Latest version. See the attached images for before/after from the same game.

    The second pic shows Cyrus (persia - normally white i believe) in the upper left and catherine (russia) in the upper right. My units are on the bottom.

    I have saves that go back to before the graphical error, so I will try and repeat it.

    EDIT: Oh my ... Therapist caught this one a few pages back... sorry to have missed it! I have the whiteflag patch installed, but am using a Radeon 9800XT 256mb card with the latest drivers, so i don't think it's out of date.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Zaphod77

    Zaphod77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Sorry to be double-posting here, but I had one other gameplay issue. :)

    In my current game, where I am the only one who can produce early riflemen - revolutionary war era, forgot the name :blush: , and zepplins, etc. the mercenaries for hire are far in advance of my technology.

    So I have enemies that are able to purchase riflemen and early tanks when no civilization can even produce them yet! Are the mercenaries conditional on the time-period or on the techs researched by the most advanced civilization?

    Either way I think this could unbalance the game, because although the tanks are expensive, the riflemen are not too expensive... their cost seems relative to the cost of other units up for sale (tanks, bazookas, etc.)

    So I have civilizations with macemen purchasing riflemen as mercs. Is there any way to fix this, or is it intended? It is not so bad in SP, but if someone can purchase a 24 Strength tank when most units (in the world) are in the 8-10 str range, this is overpowering.

    Just wanted some input, thanks. :)
     
  14. bigmeat

    bigmeat The weapon of choice

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    San Diego
    gladly
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tercio
     
  15. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    Ahah, i have heard of these units. They definately deserve to be included, exceptional soldiers that they were. "Tercios, consisting largely of professional soldiers with superior discipline and fighting spirit, were well known on the European battlefield for their nigh-invincibility in combat during the 16th and 17th centuries". Now thats a claim that couldnt be made without evidence! :trophy2:

    Easy to make too, just blend pikemen and musketeer models. I would suggest they replace pikemen, since the change to full musketmen units occured later. What attributes would you suggest bigmeat? Since it was your idea originally.
     
  16. THARN

    THARN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    U.S.A. -Ohio
    @Amazing Game-
    Hello- I am not part of the mod team and have only played the mod for a few days now- but I think I can help:
    I believe the attack promotion- while giving you a great amount of attack bonus- also takes away a good amount of defense bonus/ I think its +15% attack and is it -5 or -10% on defense in plains/jungle/forest/hils..and so on,,,?
    this would definately make it a tougher choice at city raider vs attack bonus- because I believe the city raider will still get his normal defense- while only getting the attack bonus when attacking a city- where as the attack promo kind of forces you to use these units purely offensively.
     
  17. bigmeat

    bigmeat The weapon of choice

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    San Diego
    maybe a +25 vs pikemen, and some kind of -50 versus gunpowder units to represents them going obsolete
     
  18. Sovietof17

    Sovietof17 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Check this out, Mongolians are getting pwned by Persians...

    Persia launched a full campaign to eradicate them from the earth because earlier the Mongolians conquered about 98% of China
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    Sounds good, but perhaps not such a penalty against gunpowder units. -25 at most. Because you dont want them getting thrashed with ease. Make them fight for it, and have the potential to win if you use terrain well. Still being superb against melee units (includes pikemen) and cavalry (renowned for resisting charges) and we might have the tercios.

    But someone still has to make it...
     
  20. Houman

    Houman TR Team Leader

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,083
    @Donkey Puncher, Ronin,
    I will have a look into the assassin/Ninja.

    @Amazing Game,
    As Tharn already mentioned correctly, the Attack promotion gives negative bonus to defense. So its a sacrifice. While City Raider doesn't get any nerfs but the attack bonus is limited to cities. However according to your screenshots, this doesn;t make sense either. The City Raider 3 must have given you more than 15% attack rate. May you please send me the Save game to houmie1975@users.sourceforge.net ?

    @Zaphod77 and Sovietof17,
    Please download this attachment (flags.zip) and extract it into your Total Realism Folder and let me know about the result.

    @Bigmeat, Los Toranos
    Tercio sounds interesting and will be implemented in the next release. A mixture of Pikeman and Musketmans is no problem. They will have bonus vs Mounted units and probably Melee. I have to research about them a bit more. But one is for sure, Muskets were in 1500 still no match against Archers. Muskets were inaccurate. A good historical reference to this is the book of five rings by Miyamoto Musashi.

    @Zaphod77
    The mercs are bound to time rather than the highest developed technology. It has its advantages and disadvantages. Some love it to buy expensive mercs to save their empire in a last minute saving attempt. Others find it unrealistic. We need to do some more research about it and see if we can finetune it a bit more.
     

Share This Page